Customer Reviews for

Sula

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Not what I expected

    This book caught my eye because Toni Morrison is a very popular author. I was assigned for a college class to pick a book that was writen by an author that has a different background than I. I did not pick the book very enthusiastically but after reading it I couldnt put it down. I wanted to read it from cover to cover from the very beginning. The way Morrison captivates the stories in it, makes you feel like you really know the characters. You can realate fully and by the end of the story you will know that each of them have a little craziness to them. We're all a little mad in more ways than one sometimes. I suggest this book to anyone with an open mind and is eager for some excitement. You wont want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Sula

    As a high school student in an honours English class, I was assigned to read the novel Sula, at first I read the Authors Summary in the back and thought it would be a 'chicks novel' but it turns out it wasn¿t. Sula is about a small Negro town called the Bottom and a character Sula who just turns it upside-down and inside out Sula¿s characters show how typical Negro society was and in some aspects still is and how African Americans were looked down on by Whites, Sula is probably the sun and centere of the town without her The Bottom falls apart and even vanishes. Morrison has a power to become part of the bottom and even see in your Mind the 'evil' Sula, it contains so much irony and symbolism that you don¿t feel time fly. I believe that this novel should be a permanent part of English classes, since it is a perfect example of what a novel should be and it may be the best example of all types of structures that lead to a perfect rhetoric essay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Sula

    Sula is a novel written by Toni Morrison which was one of the books that could have been chosen as reading material in my honors english class. This novel is about the paths and choices made by Sula, the main character in the story, and how she embarks on a journey to come back to Medallion and turn the resident's lives upside-down. Along the way,her best friend, Nel is stuck between Sula's decisions and her own path of finding her identity and where she stands as a friend and as a wife. Toni Morrison wrote this book in a very poetic and powerful manner, as if an incident of horror, is merely a simple nothing. I believe that this novel should be allowed to be read by high school students all around. It is a great example of the different stylistic elements there are in literature. Although there is much grotesque imagery found in this book, if handled maturely, one can find this book beautifully written, such as my group and I found it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Sula

    We are high school students and we just finished reading Sula. At the beginning we thought it was going to be like every other book they make you read in the English class, but it turns out it wasn¿t like that. The book has a very fascinating dilemma, it has real life problems, and not a well-defined meaning of who¿s good or bad, which make the story solid and more controversial. The novel takes place in a little town called The Bottom during 1920s through 1960s, describing African Americans¿ society while those times. Everything in this town is somehow related to Sula (the main character); she is the `head¿ of all the problems in town, that¿s why they used to say she has the evil inside, but at the same time Morrison emit an innocent imagery of her. The novel is based on symbolisms and irony, full of economical matters, racism, feminism and sexuality. We feel the novel is appropriated as a high school textbook, it reach the level in which we are. Is an accurate example of how a novel should be written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Toni Morrison's novel ''Sula''

    In the novel Sula Toni Morrison's style is fresh and unique. She writes to make her audience feel like a part of the storyline. The book has a very interesting line of characters. Each character has its own story, which she describes thoroughly. The novels quality is rich. My group and I believe this is so because Morrison gives it a twist, a different type of feeling. With her selection of grotesque words and images, which she overlays with poetic terms, she makes a horrible event seem almost natural. She is a very talented author with a distinctive way of writing. We believe that the novel Sula is very appropriate for High School students. High school students can be mature enough to handle a novel like this one. We as students are told that once in High School, we become young adults. So reading a novel such as this one can prove to our school staff that we can be mature enough to handle it. With its sex related parts and tough situations occuring in the novel. We all enjoyed reading the text. Morrison's purpose in the novel was to express women's struggle and depict real life situations. It is an interesting novel that is easy to read, and also entertaining. It helps students understand more of how times have changed from the 1920s to the day and age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Great Book

    I read this as part of a Lit. class at college and found that it is a wonderful book. I love Morrison's prose and use of imagery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    one of my favorites

    this book is one of my mothers favorites.she sent this book for my last birthday and i loved it! i couldn't put it down and it also has became one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Utter Nonsense

    If this is the type of work worthy of a Nobel Prize, than I would advise anyone who actually is trying to convey coherent thoughts not to try to become an author in the 21st century.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Not for the unimaginative or borderline IGNORANT!!

    this is truly a masterpiece. I read then bought the audiotape and cried my eyes out. Toni Morrison's writings make the story come to life, if only in the imagination. For those who like light-reads and predictable storylines. THIS IS NOT FOR YOU!!! Reading Toni Morrison requires attention and a thesaurus at times. For me, it was a lesson in historic enslavement and reconstruction as well as the lengths one will go to prevent turmoil and pain from overtaiing the lives of future generations. YOU MUST read this book if you want a glimpse into the artistry and mastery that is TOMI MORRISON.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Sula: A Teen's Point of View

    Sula is a story of true friendship and relationships in a black town called 'The Bottom'. Sula and her friend, Nel, experience hardships in their lives but manage to stay together through thick and thin. In their childhood, these girls go through a death, caused by their carelessness and in their adulthood manage betrayal and Sula ultimately ends up hurting Nel. Even though Sula disrespects Nel by sleeping with her husband, Nel still finds ways to care deeply for Sula and stays by her side even when the town goes against Sula and begins gossiping behind her back. The trust Nel puts into Sula and her spirit is amazing because Nel realizes she can't turn away from so much history the girls, now women, have experienced together. To me, this book served as an example of how to forgive a friend and be able to look past anyone's flaws. Every character in the story taught me a lesson. Nel served as a huge role model because her strength allowed her to be true to herself and to everyone else. Sula showed me how one mistake can cause an enormous amount of pain. One character who stood out to me was Eva, Sula's mother. She seemed to be the protagonist of the story and struggled so much, but at the same time was able to overcome the obstacles. She took great care of all of her children and did anything for them. At one time Eva was so poor she abandoned her children and tried to find a new life for all of them. Everyone thought she was crazy, but she came back with a missing leg and a lot of money. There were tons of theories as to how she lost her leg, but I believe she did it as a desperate attempt for money for her children. Eva always held her head high and her strength showed through out the whole story. I gave this book a three because I loved the morals in the story and how diverse the characters were and the lessons they taught, but the book was harsh at some points. The language and descriptions were meant to be powerful but at times I thought they went too far. The book jumped around a bit, which also made the book harder to follow and get in to. In general, the book had some great lessons in it and I enjoyed learning from all of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Am I Missing Something????

    What am I missing? I see all the rave reviews about this book; but to be honest, I don't think half of the people who have read it really understood it. In this day and age, when something leaves you pondering its very existence; it's considered 'absorbing' and 'mesmerizing'; people have to rave on and on about it in order to cover up the fact that they didn't know A1 in the first place. Well, that is how I feel about this book. While Toni Morrison is a great writer; she is simply not my cup of tea. I like things to be a little more direct; not so that the plot is spoon fed to me; however; I don't like to read something that jumps from one moment to the next without explaining what happened in the first place. Morrison's antics are just a little too skitterish for me; she tends to underly pretty much everything she writes about. I appreciate an author who underlies, but to the extent that the reader doesn't have to wonder what the hell just happened. I've heard people refer to Morrison's writing as 'deep'. I agree; I think Morrison writes whatever comes to her mind; but the problem is that she does not elaborate on certain factors of the characters in her novels. That just doesn't interest me. For instance, why did the grandmother, Eva, burn her son Plum? That was never explained. We all knew that Eva was mentally ill; but Morrison never elaborated as to why. Also, Sula was deemed to be evil, a wicked temptress. Again, the writer never explained how Sula came to be the way she was. The only thing that was very clear within the whole novel to me was Nel's strong love and devotion to Sula. It was never even explained why Sula would betray the one person who probably loved her the most. Like I said, too skitterish-jumping from one realm to the next. I never read Beloved, however, I did see the movie. It was confusing as hell; so I can just imagine how the book was. In this modern day and age, the mystic that was once becoming of Shakespeare is not becoming to this contemporary generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Awesome Book

    This book has everything, it will make you laugh, cry, and have you relate to this character like nothing else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    Insprirational for any woman, just learn to keep an open mind!

    I beg to differ with most reviewers. I loved this book because of the life lessons it taught, it's strong sense of feminism, economical outlooks and racism. By the end of the book I was dumfounded by one line: "Atleast that lonely is mine. Imagine that, you got a second hand lonely" -- Sula's character makes you believe that you can do anything with your life and come out on top. It's possible, and it can change your life if you get passed her permiscuity :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Chocked full of symbolism

    This book was so chocked full of symbolism (much of which I had a hard time deciphering) I had a hard time losing myself so that I could simply enjoy the story. The story is extremely interesting and though provoking and told through very simple language. However, it always left me feeling that there was something I was just missing. Also, I had a very hard time understanding what motivated the characters. Here I felt I would have liked a little more development for the periphery characters. This was a good book, but not a good one for those of us who want to be spoon fed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Sula, and Toni Morrison

    Toni Morrison is defintiely a literary genius. Sula, was my first Morrison read. I am about to begin Beloved. I am happy i have read Sula, however. It was a short, yet heavy story of two black woman living in a place called Medallion. It is the tale of there lives and how they crash in the end. The strange events lie in front of your face for pages, and then, it all makes sense. Sula is very recommended, in my opinion. Toni Morrison is capable of making a light book filled with deep material. She is the only writer who can (figuratively) kill one of her characters, and have you smiling. She is definitely a recomended author, and Sula is a suggested book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    A True Classic

    Toni is one of the Greats!! Wonderful reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Brilliant

    Precusor to Paradise, one of my all time favorite books...if you have trouble reading Paradise, read Sula first....it's excellent Morrisen at her best...then read the brilliant Paradise. Toni is by far one of the most imaginative, creative writers with a keen sense of understanding of 'things' and people...her writing is poetic, powerful and brave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Touchingly Mesmerizing

    Three times I read this book within 4 days on the beach. I am limited by language in my description of this work, but she is sensational. This work is a piece of literature that must be read by all that enjoy brilliant writing/storytelling. Read it once and then read it again and absorb the magic of Ms. Morrison. Outstanding with beautiful passages that flow steady, strong and with great rhythm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Awesome for those who can understand great literature...

    If you're only into reading books you don't really have to think about, then I don't recommend anything that Morrison writes. For those who appreciate great literature, however, definitely read Sula. Sure, at first it seems like a whole bunch of random events...But by the time you finish this novel, every word of it makes sense if you let yourself think about it. Yes, it's a real downer...But to me, any book that evokes real emotion has to be good on some level. It just so happens that Sula is at the top of the pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    friendship

    i read this book when i was in college 1997 and i thought it was a great book i couldnt put it down. its a story of two friends growing up in segregated town and one of the friend, sula comes from a disturbed family. and nel is somewhat of a good girl. sula mom ends of catching on fire and sula just watches her mother burn. sula moved out of ohio when she got older and nell got married and had kids. sula eventually moves back to town and reunites with her bestfriends; the two hides a secret that they think no one knows about eventually comes to light but sula ends up sleeping with her best friend husband. and everyones husband. but i cant tell you the rest. you have to read it. if they were to make a movie i would want to play sula not because she sleeps around but because i would love to play the mean role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6