Customer Reviews for

Sula

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    To fakes who don't know good literature when they read one.

    If you're going to criticize someone's work. Do it without spelling errors. It's THEN not THAN. This book is a bit confusing since each chapter changes from the story of one person, to someone else's story. But all the characters resided in one town Bottom. Nobody in the Bottom understood Sula. She was neither shown nor given any love, nor was she taught how to express love. She was a very realistic character whom you could relate to. Confused, her inner innocence was pitying as well as sympathizing. Toni Morrison's Sula is a very realistic and powerful novel, with plenty of imagery and details for readers with a vivid imagination and true understanding of literature. I definately recomend it. :}

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Sula

    The novel Sula was very interesting and a pleasure to read. I was given the novel to read by my English teacher in the start of november. My teacher explained the concept of the novel and my first thought was that the novel would be another boring and drawn out book that the teachers love to give us. My teacher went on and on about how it would be a great read, little did I know how she was so wrong; the book was not a great read it was a new experience. Toni Morrison, the author of Sula, grabbed my attention with the first sentence in which she explained the reason behind ¿the bottom¿. Morrison unique style and characters kept me glued to the book. Morrison¿s ability to create a world of both beauty and corruption was amazing. She accomplishes what most authors, I believe, can not. She makes everything real; she shows that the world isn¿t as black and white as people portray it to be. Her characters have realistic qualities; they show that a person is never truly evil or good. Morrison¿s language is another great factor to this masterpiece of a novel. Morrison has a way of making a horrible event or action into beautiful poetic writing. This novel is not only interesting to read but a great tool for teaching. The novel introduces students to different styles of writing. It is also a great story to analyze; almost everything Morrison writes can be dissected and pulled apart to find a true meaning or idea. The novel maybe a little raunchy and surreal but it is a great book for high school students. This Novel deserves nothing less than five star rating on my scale.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Role of color in Sula

    When I began reading Sula, Morrison's seemingly overuse of color adjectives caught my eye. At first I thought she was merely a 'colorful' and descriptive writer by nature, but as the novel progressed, I realized it was done by intention. The following are examples of Morrison¿s ¿overuse¿ of color adjectives. - '...the purity and the whiteness of his own birth' (3) - '¿the lumpy whiteness of rice, the quivering blood tomatoes, the grayish-brown meat' (8) - '...that the white, the red and the brown would stay' (8) -'he was frightened of the voice in the apple-green suit¿' (9) -'he was standing by a low red building¿' (11) -'he saw a grave black face¿' (13) -'¿his eyes travel over the pale yellow woman' (20) -'...in the city where the red shutters glowed' (20) -'...soldiers still in their ****-colored uniforms' (21) -'...and turned for compassion to the gray eyes' (21) -'...at the salmon-colored face of the conductor' (21) -'¿her eyes fastened on the thick velvet collar' (23) -¿¿on the door hung a black crepe wreath with a purple ribbon' (24) -'¿a woman in a yellow dress...' (25) -'...and a canary-yellow dress¿' (25) All of these examples occur within the first twenty-five pages of the novel. Clearly, Morrison is making a point. She¿s emphasizing how significant color is in a minority's life. For me, a middle-class white male, color is not a day-to-day issue and therefore, I don't give much attention to it. When I look at objects, rarely do I concern myself with its color. This is why I enjoyed Morrison¿s novel. It exposes her readers to a sampling of what life is like in a minority's world where color is always an issue. Overall, Morrison¿s racial awareness is prevalent throughout Sula, making it a very solid and wholesome novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Readable

    The book talks about friendship,love,betrayal,and family. There is a place called the Bottom. African American lives there. It is a place where Two completely different girls called Sula and Nel become friends. Nel came from stable house where her mother Helen is strict on everything. She teach her daughter Nel always to be smart and have manners and to be neat which Mel finds it as a lot of pressure on her to be perfect. On the other hand, Sula comes from dysfunctional family. Her mom Hannah is know as a whore in the town Medallion. Her grandmother Eva is a determined woman who will do anything to survive. Sula grows up looking at her mom bring different men in to the house to have intimate with them. Sula and Nel are two little girls who try to run away from their family. They are two opposite maginats that attracts each other. They become best friends and start talking about boys and sexual desires . The incident that happens a little boy called Chicken Little shows their personalities. When they reach their teen years, Nel marries Jude. Sula attends the weeding and leaves the town after the wedding. She comes back after couple of years from what she calls it college. She is now an educated and classy woman. She thinks that she does not need to get marry or have children. It is emotional when SUla and Nel reunites. These two women feel incomplete without each other. The bottom people are not happy about sula's return because she is different than them. One thing SUla learns from her mother is sex is for pleasure and it should be done more frequently. therefore, Sula starts to sleep with anyone she desires(including married men) for pleasure. She later sleeps with Nel husband Jude which was the boiling point for their friendship. Sula does not do that in order to hurt her friend but to pleasure herself. These two friends use to share boyfriends when they were young so SUla thinks that it is ok to share Mel's husband too. When SUla tells Nel that she never even loves jude when Nel goes to Sula house after healing sula is sick, NEl becomes very angry and leave the house promising she will never see her again. After couple of weeks, Sula dies regretting what she does to her best friend from all the things she did. Toni Morrison challenge our imagination by telling us how Sula feels after death. Sula says dying does not hurt at all. She cannot wait to tell Nel how dying feels like.In the bottom, there is a holiday called national suicide day invented by SHadrack,town's mad man. I just reviewed the booking using the theme friendship. The book contains important theme such as love,hate,death, and friendship. I hope I did not tell you everything about the book :) enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Brilliant

    I am astonished by these negative reviews. This is the book that introduced me to Toni Morrison, decades ago, and I will be eternally grateful. Maybe these reviews are written by Oprah fans who are not use to thoughtful, challenging (although really, it's an easy read) great literature. This book is close to perfect - the characters are three dimensional, the story is original yet oddly familiar, and the ending is a revelation. I could not possibly pick a "favorite book," but if I were forced to, Sula would absolutely be a contender.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Awesome

    This book was without a doubt her best peice of work. I have read beloved, tar baby, jazz, and pardise but Sula captured my eye like the others could not. It is the type of book that maybe hard to understand in the start but the way she writes by the end of the story she has you thinking 'it all makes sense now' two thumbs way up to Miss.Toni Morrison

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Quick read.

    It was a good one day read. My only complaint is with the condition of the book. The front cover was bent right down the middle. I didn't get any cooperation from the foreigner (couldn't understand her part of the time so it was repeat, repeat) I talked to on the phone & finally hung up.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Good book

    Excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Story of young friendship

    Story-telling flow feels like Fried Green Tomatoes. Although told as an early African American tale, Sula is truly a story of friendship during early American culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Magical!

    So far, this is the best Toni Morrison book I have read. Others I have read are "Beloved" and "The Bluest Eyes". This book is a work of art. The writing is so musical it washes over you and through you and buoys you up on emotion. So beautiful it hurts. It is a rare book that can affect me so - to lift my mind from my body to leave me floating in it's lyrical beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Incredible novel

    Toni Morrison just cannot do wrong. This novel is outstanding. To be brief, the novel pivots around the two central characters, Nel Wright and Sula Peace. Without giving away any plot detail or anything, I believe the final question you will be left wondering in the end is who the "hero" or protagonist is. Morrison makes this a very difficult question to answer, and I believe she does this on purpose. The ending of the story does not offer the typical resolution one comes to expect with most literature today. I found myself asking if there was any resolution to any problem, and I really don't think there was. However, that is just one of the many things that is so fascinating about this book and Morrison's style in general. She refuses to conform to typical models of writing, and I am forever grateful for her ability to break away from the societal norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    A heartfelt story

    Toni Morrison's Sula took place in an all black city in the south around the 1900s. The main characters in the story were best friends, Sula Peace and Nel Wright. Sula and Nel were the totally opposite, yet they fitted hand in hand. Nel was the more responsible on that others counted on, and felt comforted by. She rarely ever showed her emotions when she was hurt and never kept grudges. Sula on the other hand couldn't hide her anger for more than a split second. Even though her and Nel were the same age, it seemed as if she was always less mature than her friend. The one time she wanted to comfort or defend Nel she ended up making the situation worse than what it was. It seemed as if they would stay the best of friends, until the day Nel got married and Sula left Bottom for 10 years. When Sula arrived everything in Bottom changed for the worse. People weren't the least bit excited upon her return. People believed her wayward acts brought the plague of dead robins over the town. The only person that was somewhat glad was Nel. When the first saw each other after ten years it wasn't one of a big reunion. They spoke as if there wasn't a ten-year gap that they didn't have to catch up on. It was because every woman in Bottom, except Nel, believed Sula would snatch their husbands from them.
    Unfortunately for Nel, Sula had done what other women feared to her, her only best friend. Nel didn't know whether or not she should live or die. The pain she experienced from the betrayal of her own "best friend" was unbelievable. The only thing that kept her moving on was her children. Sula later went on with her life being lonely, or as she put it, independent. At a point she felt as if she met the man she would possibly spend forever with. Only fate knew if she would spend her life with him and if Nel would ever have the heart to forgive Sula for causing so much pain in her life. The book Sula was a great read for me. It had such a strong message to say that people can always change at anytime. I had many likes on how the author, Toni Morrison, told the story. The way the author portrayed the message clearly throughout the whole story gave me the urge to keep reading. Even though there was some use of adult language, it showed me the anger and frustration each character was going through. I also liked how she would start on a concept and flashback to show how it came to be. It left me wondering and wanting to know what will happen next. I didn't like how the author took a long time to get to the climax of the novel, which was when Sula stole Nel's husband from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Toni Morrison's Sula

    Toni Morrison's controversial novel of the life of two paradoxical girls and their struggle through friendship, personality, stereotypes and life is dramatic, touching, and thrilling. Toni Morrison strategically uses symbols to tell the story.
    This story takes place in a small black "suburb-like" city called black bottom where all of the town's people are superstious. The story's two main characters, Sula Peace and Nel Wright, are best friends. The two girls are often called "two half's of one whole" and later in the book they are realized and confronted to be the same person by Sula's grandmother Eva saying to Nel "You. Sula. What's the difference?"" (pg.168). This is important because Sula and Nel are two totally different people with two totally different personalities and values. Nel is from a well brought up home. She was raised by her Creole mother who had great morels and was very religious her mother fit the regular house wife stereotype. On the other hand Sula was raised up by her mother and grandmother in a house that had no morals. Hannah, Sula's mother, was the women in the town who enjoyed being with many men. Toni Morrison uses these two characters as a way to express the message that the way you are raised is life altering. Sure enough she expressed it well because the two girls grew up to be what they were raised around. Through the story the girls struggle to fight stereotype through a series of unfortunate events and soul damaging lies, facts, and serious accusations.
    I felt this book was very interesting if you like drama. The main character Sula Peace and her family are the most dramatic people in this book. All of the peace women are known to be Manish "with exception of boy boy, those peace women loved all men." This brought a lot of drama to black bottom".
    Toni Morrison uses a lot of symbols and motifs to get her point across almost everything in the book is symbolic. This kind of lost me but when I searched the meaning to get an understanding of it, I then realized how brilliant the sentence was. Specifically, on major theme was change that she symbolized through the community, but it is only shown In the first chapter and in the last two chapters, this was very confusing because I felt as if the story was scattered away from the theme most of the time. At times it was hard to stay focused because she was so long winded while describing things but it was all for the good because it helped me visualized the scene in my head. Toni Morrison's descriptions were so good that at times her characters mad me so mad, sad and happy.
    Ex. Eva Peace was a very crazy. She felt that her son was being deteriorated by drugs so she took matters into her own hands. "Eva sat in plums room rocking him.he awoke and told her to got to bed..she poured kerosene on his body and lit a match."(pgs.47-49)
    I feel this is an over all great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    A literary review of "Sula", by Toni Morrison

    This is, to put it simply, an unforgettable novel. The two main characters are Sula and Nel. Nel lives a middle class existence, domineered by her proper Creole mother, Helene. Sula grows up poor,
    in an enormous house with her scandalous mother, scheming grandmother, and various boarders. The two girls begin an unlikely friendship, though ultimately, they take different paths. Sula is a complx character. She is a sexual creature, an educated woman, a daring rebel. Nel is the exact opposite. She stays in Bottom, raises her children alone, and does what she is expected to do. I loved this novel because of its sensitivity, and its raw, unabashedly souful portrayal of not just the African-American experience, but what it means to be an African-American woman. Toni Morrison's characters are brought to life with lyrical prose. The reader feels as though the characters are real, breathing, feeling people. I recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys excellent literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Now on the list of favorites for me! This was just one in several books Ive read in my fascination to know and understand black history and the differences in cultures in one nation. What a great journey its been,
    If anyone struggles to understand the reasons behind the characters actions I would suggest further reading and studies. Sulas lack of recieving and ability to Love is at the core of allot of her actions as the previous reviewer suggested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WORST OPRAH RECOMMENDATION EVER!

    Usually like Oprah's recommendations. This is the only one I can say that I really felt was trash. This is a story about a self aborbed, apathetic, amoral child who grows into adulthood. She returns to her poor beginnings to cheat with her best friend's husband, to disrespect her mother, and to never evolve into a contributing member of society. She is so unlikeable that the reader can never feel the empathy the writer wants to evoke at the end. I read the book through because it was so short, but left it in the hotel room because it was so bad, I wouldn't even give it to the library. What was Oprah thinking? If you want a book about a disfunctional family, and what they go through to overcome their situation (which was never the outcome in SULA) then read "The Corrections", also an Oprah recomendation.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    terrible.

    i was highly disappointed with this boook. i thought it was going to be wonderful with all the outstanding reviews, but it didnt have a plot and was hard to follow. i dont reccomend it to anyone.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    DON'T READ IT

    This book was a complete disappointment. It was completely morbid and pointless. People burn each other, jump out of windows, celebrate Suicide Day, and there is no plot. It was a horrible read that, even with only about 120 pages, will make you want to gauge your eyes out so that you won't have to finish it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A Great book!

    I read Sula for a book club/ reading group I participate in. When I read what it was about, didn't really sound too interesting to me. But I ended up loving it! This is the first book I have read by Toni Morrison so far.. I will be reading more from her! Definetely recommend this to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    listen up girlfriend

    My mother told me to designate a book to do report on in the summer of 2004. I didn't go wrong in picking my first Toni Morrison book, Sula. Nel and Sula are the best of friends through thick and thin--every trial and every good day. Then Sula leaves Medallion...ten years pass--and oh boy is she mean! She treats her grandmother like she is crazy (even though she is). She desecrates Nel's life and she becomes a bad luck symbol in the town. Gets love and loses it. And then what grabs me is the carefulness with which Toni Morrison takes to describe the family and why Sula and Nel take a liking to each other. Now I see why Toni Morrison is one of the gems of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6