Customer Reviews for

Sula

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    To fakes who don't know good literature when they read one.

    If you're going to criticize someone's work. Do it without spelling errors. It's THEN not THAN. This book is a bit confusing since each chapter changes from the story of one person, to someone else's story. But all the characters resided in one town Bottom. Nobody in the Bottom understood Sula. She was neither shown nor given any love, nor was she taught how to express love. She was a very realistic character whom you could relate to. Confused, her inner innocence was pitying as well as sympathizing. Toni Morrison's Sula is a very realistic and powerful novel, with plenty of imagery and details for readers with a vivid imagination and true understanding of literature. I definately recomend it. :}

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Good book

    Excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Story of young friendship

    Story-telling flow feels like Fried Green Tomatoes. Although told as an early African American tale, Sula is truly a story of friendship during early American culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    A heartfelt story

    Toni Morrison's Sula took place in an all black city in the south around the 1900s. The main characters in the story were best friends, Sula Peace and Nel Wright. Sula and Nel were the totally opposite, yet they fitted hand in hand. Nel was the more responsible on that others counted on, and felt comforted by. She rarely ever showed her emotions when she was hurt and never kept grudges. Sula on the other hand couldn't hide her anger for more than a split second. Even though her and Nel were the same age, it seemed as if she was always less mature than her friend. The one time she wanted to comfort or defend Nel she ended up making the situation worse than what it was. It seemed as if they would stay the best of friends, until the day Nel got married and Sula left Bottom for 10 years. When Sula arrived everything in Bottom changed for the worse. People weren't the least bit excited upon her return. People believed her wayward acts brought the plague of dead robins over the town. The only person that was somewhat glad was Nel. When the first saw each other after ten years it wasn't one of a big reunion. They spoke as if there wasn't a ten-year gap that they didn't have to catch up on. It was because every woman in Bottom, except Nel, believed Sula would snatch their husbands from them.
    Unfortunately for Nel, Sula had done what other women feared to her, her only best friend. Nel didn't know whether or not she should live or die. The pain she experienced from the betrayal of her own "best friend" was unbelievable. The only thing that kept her moving on was her children. Sula later went on with her life being lonely, or as she put it, independent. At a point she felt as if she met the man she would possibly spend forever with. Only fate knew if she would spend her life with him and if Nel would ever have the heart to forgive Sula for causing so much pain in her life. The book Sula was a great read for me. It had such a strong message to say that people can always change at anytime. I had many likes on how the author, Toni Morrison, told the story. The way the author portrayed the message clearly throughout the whole story gave me the urge to keep reading. Even though there was some use of adult language, it showed me the anger and frustration each character was going through. I also liked how she would start on a concept and flashback to show how it came to be. It left me wondering and wanting to know what will happen next. I didn't like how the author took a long time to get to the climax of the novel, which was when Sula stole Nel's husband from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    A literary review of "Sula", by Toni Morrison

    This is, to put it simply, an unforgettable novel. The two main characters are Sula and Nel. Nel lives a middle class existence, domineered by her proper Creole mother, Helene. Sula grows up poor,
    in an enormous house with her scandalous mother, scheming grandmother, and various boarders. The two girls begin an unlikely friendship, though ultimately, they take different paths. Sula is a complx character. She is a sexual creature, an educated woman, a daring rebel. Nel is the exact opposite. She stays in Bottom, raises her children alone, and does what she is expected to do. I loved this novel because of its sensitivity, and its raw, unabashedly souful portrayal of not just the African-American experience, but what it means to be an African-American woman. Toni Morrison's characters are brought to life with lyrical prose. The reader feels as though the characters are real, breathing, feeling people. I recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys excellent literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Not what I expected

    This book caught my eye because Toni Morrison is a very popular author. I was assigned for a college class to pick a book that was writen by an author that has a different background than I. I did not pick the book very enthusiastically but after reading it I couldnt put it down. I wanted to read it from cover to cover from the very beginning. The way Morrison captivates the stories in it, makes you feel like you really know the characters. You can realate fully and by the end of the story you will know that each of them have a little craziness to them. We're all a little mad in more ways than one sometimes. I suggest this book to anyone with an open mind and is eager for some excitement. You wont want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Toni Morrison's novel ''Sula''

    In the novel Sula Toni Morrison's style is fresh and unique. She writes to make her audience feel like a part of the storyline. The book has a very interesting line of characters. Each character has its own story, which she describes thoroughly. The novels quality is rich. My group and I believe this is so because Morrison gives it a twist, a different type of feeling. With her selection of grotesque words and images, which she overlays with poetic terms, she makes a horrible event seem almost natural. She is a very talented author with a distinctive way of writing. We believe that the novel Sula is very appropriate for High School students. High school students can be mature enough to handle a novel like this one. We as students are told that once in High School, we become young adults. So reading a novel such as this one can prove to our school staff that we can be mature enough to handle it. With its sex related parts and tough situations occuring in the novel. We all enjoyed reading the text. Morrison's purpose in the novel was to express women's struggle and depict real life situations. It is an interesting novel that is easy to read, and also entertaining. It helps students understand more of how times have changed from the 1920s to the day and age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Sula, and Toni Morrison

    Toni Morrison is defintiely a literary genius. Sula, was my first Morrison read. I am about to begin Beloved. I am happy i have read Sula, however. It was a short, yet heavy story of two black woman living in a place called Medallion. It is the tale of there lives and how they crash in the end. The strange events lie in front of your face for pages, and then, it all makes sense. Sula is very recommended, in my opinion. Toni Morrison is capable of making a light book filled with deep material. She is the only writer who can (figuratively) kill one of her characters, and have you smiling. She is definitely a recomended author, and Sula is a suggested book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    A True Classic

    Toni is one of the Greats!! Wonderful reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    A great book

    This book was very enjoyable to read it was as enjoyable as the others I have read by this same author. If you enjoy Toni Morrison,s books you will definitely enjoy this one.I enjoyed this book because it truely explains the trials and tribulations of the african american female.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    Powerful, Worthy of it's Noble Prize

    I read Toni Morrison's Sula during my Christmas break and I found it very powerful and engrossing. This book brings attention to a woman, that's bent on destroying the lives of her family and one friend. While I do believe that Sula's actions are a reflection of her childhood, I couldn't help being disappointed and heartbroken for her. I was left wondering if the people in the story truly learned from her mistakes and evils. How could she be so cold and uncaring? The story tells of two childhood friends and the different paths they take as women. Nel Wright, a wife and mother who never leaves home and Sula Peace, the rebel who returns home to their small Ohio town. This women come to life, in this richly woven story, you won't soon forget. It will also have you thinking about what a true friend means to you. I don't always have a easy time reading Ms.Morrison works but, I do enjoy her flavor and style. Thanks again Toni.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Stunning and wonderful

    Morrison uses this tale of people in extreme situations to show how the African-American community shook off its complacency in the first half of the twentieth century. Her images are so shocking in their violence that I don't want to spoil the book by telling any details. Suffice it to say that Sula's family is the perfect disfunctional counterpart of Nell's desperately respectable family. Buy it, read it, give it a chance. You'll find something a little more structurally daring than the popular best-sellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2000

    A book worth reading

    The novel, Sula by Toni Morrison was in my eyes a book worth reading. I had to read the book for my AP English class in the summer and I must say that I enjoyed what I read. Toni Morrison is the knid of author that is very graphic in her writing and I think that is what made me want to read the book even more. Now, we are reading The Bluest Eye and I am looking forward to it because if it is anything like Sula, I know that I will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2