Customer Reviews for

Sum It Up: A Thousand and Ninety-Eight Victories, a Couple of Irrelevant Losses, and a Life in Perspective

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Excellent nonfiction book, great for any sport lover. Pat Summi

Excellent nonfiction book, great for any sport lover. Pat Summitt is the most successful women's basketball coach in all of basketball history, a must have for hoops lovers! Very well researched, written in an easy to read-entertaingn manner. Sally Jenkins (co-author...
Excellent nonfiction book, great for any sport lover. Pat Summitt is the most successful women's basketball coach in all of basketball history, a must have for hoops lovers! Very well researched, written in an easy to read-entertaingn manner. Sally Jenkins (co-author) is the best sports writer alive on Earth today. Very good book, highly recommend, motivated me to instant action in my depressing-miserable life. Motivating, captivating, well written, a wonderful book.

posted by UCONNWOMEN on March 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I love this story and this lady, and you will too!

This is a courageous woman's life story of achievements, told with confidence and humility. Leading the Tennessee Lady Volunteers is Pat Summit's vocation, and makes for extremely interesting reading, evoking both laughter and tears. Thoroughly enjoyable and informati...
This is a courageous woman's life story of achievements, told with confidence and humility. Leading the Tennessee Lady Volunteers is Pat Summit's vocation, and makes for extremely interesting reading, evoking both laughter and tears. Thoroughly enjoyable and informative.

posted by Pattmusic on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Excellent nonfiction book, great for any sport lover. Pat Summi

    Excellent nonfiction book, great for any sport lover. Pat Summitt is the most successful women's basketball coach in all of basketball history, a must have for hoops lovers! Very well researched, written in an easy to read-entertaingn manner. Sally Jenkins (co-author) is the best sports writer alive on Earth today. Very good book, highly recommend, motivated me to instant action in my depressing-miserable life. Motivating, captivating, well written, a wonderful book.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Pat Summitt is an extraordinary coach, but most of all teacher o

    Pat Summitt is an extraordinary coach, but most of all teacher of the game and to young women. Her greatest accomplishments aren't her national championships, but of the players she has helped by being a mother figure to them and by pushing them to be the best player and person they could be. This book isn't just about her disease, but her about her life- how she was raised, her Tennessee program, and her son Tyler. How she was raised explains a lot about her, and how she coached her players. It is an important aspect to understand about Pat. This book will help you understand who Pat is, and make you appreciate the kind of woman she is. We are all extremely fortunate to have Pat on this Earth because she makes the world a better place. People might not like her and think she is mean as hell, but Pat is a woman we all should respect and this book will deepen your respect for her as it has for me.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Must buy for all sport coaches. Pat Summitt is the best womens

    Must buy for all sport coaches. Pat Summitt is the best womens coach in all of college history, she is the John Wooden (UCAL coach) of women's basketball. This book provides keen insight into her country youth, her parents were extremely tought-goal oriented people. She is a hard coach, but very successful in all areas of her life. A must buy for any coach of athletics, learned a lot about motivational tactic, goal achievement, what it takes to become a champion. AAA book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Sum It Up, by Pat Summitt (author) with Sally Jenkins (author) w

    Sum It Up, by Pat Summitt (author) with Sally Jenkins (author) was a very good book, uplifting biography of Pat Summitt. Learned a lot about goal-achievment, how to succeed in life. Great nonfiction book for the mind, body, spirit. Pat Summitt, the women's basketball coach for the University of Tennessee is the all time victory leader for a coach in all of women's sports.

    Brutally honest portrait of what life is like as a coach, a great read for any coach, prospective coach. Superb.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Sally Jenkins (co-author) is the best sports writer on Earth tod

    Sally Jenkins (co-author) is the best sports writer on Earth today, this book is further proof of that. Very good writing, excellent content, Pat Summitt is the most winning women's baskebtall coach in all of NCAA history, this book will show you how she did it. Great biography, very insightful-packed full of useful wisdom to apply in everday life when searching for success.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Sum It Up, by Pat Summitt (author), Sally Jenkins (author) is an

    Sum It Up, by Pat Summitt (author), Sally Jenkins (author) is an exceptional book, a complete masterpiece of a sport book!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Pat summit

    Great book funny and sad and very touching

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Pat Summitt is and always will be a champion and a class act. Gr

    Pat Summitt is and always will be a champion and a class act. Great read.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    MUST READ FOR ANY PAST, CURRENT, FUTURE BASKEBTALL PLAYER-COACH-

    MUST READ FOR ANY PAST, CURRENT, FUTURE BASKEBTALL PLAYER-COACH-FAN!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Fun book, like watching basketball.

    Fun book, like watching basketball.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Just loved this book, must read for anyone that enjoys womens ba

    Just loved this book, must read for anyone that enjoys womens baskteball.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I am a huge fan of all levels of basketball, so I was very inter

    I am a huge fan of all levels of basketball, so I was very interested to read this nonfiction book about basketball's all time winning coach, Pat Summitt from the University of Tennessee. It was a very good biography, motivating book, Pat Summitt is a very successful person in all areas of her life just not as a coach, so it was very interesting to read, apply that information to my own life as a motivational tool of wisdom for success. Very good book, highy recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Even though I am not an avid sports fan, I decided to purchase Sum It Up after seeing Pat do an interview. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and highly recommend it. This book is beautifully written and is a tribute to Pat, her family and the colleagues and players that became a part of her extended family. These women in particular made Women's College Basketball what it is today. This most certainly would not have been possible had Pat not been raised with such great responsibility, all the while knowing that she was truly loved. She can also be proud of her finest accomplishment, her son Tyler. I wish her much love and peace and would love to meet her someday!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Excellent read.

    Having watched Pat on the sidelines on TV for many years, it was fascinating to see what made her tick. Given Pat's Alzheimer's, Sally Jenkins did a superb job pulling memories out of her. Not really a "light" read, but certainly an "easy" read. Too bad more young people don't have the work ethic she had growing up.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    MASTERPIECE, SUPERB

    MASTERPIECE, SUPERB

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I love this story and this lady, and you will too!

    This is a courageous woman's life story of achievements, told with confidence and humility. Leading the Tennessee Lady Volunteers is Pat Summit's vocation, and makes for extremely interesting reading, evoking both laughter and tears. Thoroughly enjoyable and informative.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    This was a terrific book --- a great story. Pat Summitt is a le

    This was a terrific book --- a great story. Pat Summitt is a legend, and deservedly so. I was inspired when I learned of her roots and her work over the years with young women. I feel so dismayed to know that her illness has cut her career short. If you admire strong, heroic woman, you will see one here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Excellent insight to the art of achievment. Pat Summitt is one

    Excellent insight to the art of achievment.

    Pat Summitt is one great motivational speaker-coach!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    A Must Read

    As a former athlete and person battling a chronic disease, I was deeply moved by this book. I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great information on how to become an excellent coach in sports-

    Great information on how to become an excellent coach in sports-life.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5