Customer Reviews for

The Sum of All Fears

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Terrorist? Is that what I am?  I don¿t know how they got the mov

    Terrorist? Is that what I am? 
    I don’t know how they got the movie out of this story. I liked the movie, until I read the book. This book is fantastic. I haven’t read all of Clancy’s novels but this one almost surpassed “Rainbow Six” as my favorite.
    Fans of Clancy know that his books are well researched, authentic, and always a little bit scary. There’s a great sense of immediacy to this story, and even though it’s a huge book, I read it very fast. It’s compelling and moves at a brisk pace, despite it’s complexity.
    While I was reading this novel, Tom Clancy passed away. It was a weird and sad coincidence which I will always associate with this book. He was a master at writing epic stories and I will miss him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Shadepaw

    She purrs. "It's alright. Sorry I was gone. My brother took me out."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Fernshadow

    Ok. She goes to res 14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Hi

    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Autumnstar

    Autumnstar nodded and followed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Hard read

    I bought this book and it is a bit of a hard read. I dont have a military background and it is jumping around a lot. I will continue reading but its going to take a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I've recently decided to read the entire Jack Ryan series in chronological order, and just finished with Sum of All Fears. I have, of course, seen the movie and truly enjoyed it. I was surprised how different the two stories were. This made for an interesting experience, as I knew enough of the basic concept of the story to see where things were leading, but it still allowed me to be surprised as different characters, venues, and events came up. The technical jargon in this book was even more prevalent than in the other Jacky Ryan novels I've read, but it did play a major role in the development of the story, so it was worth it.
    This was the book I was reading when I heard the news that Mr. Tom Clancy passed away, and it was a truly enjoyable reading experience. I'm saddened to know that there will be no more of these wonderfully written books from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Well done thriller and far superior to the movie.

    Well done thriller and far superior to the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Master-baiter

    Confusing at first but on of clancys best behind ssn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    A riviting book almost aligned with todays times. You must check it out!

    Tom Clancy can do like no other by mentioning times, places and events that took place in the world. Now "The Sum Of All Fears" seems to be aligned with todays events and strategies, not purposfully, that makes you sit on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    One of Tom Clancy's best

    Not as good as Hunt for the Red October, but pretty far up there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Amazing

    this book is well written and grabs your attention from the start jack ryan is an amazing character. this story grabes your attention from beginning to end but lacks in the middle overall i enjoyed this book and will be looking forward to reading the rest of the jack ryan storys.

    another book that i recommend is the way to happyness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Good beginning, good ending, horrible middle

    It seems that many of Clancy's novels follow this pattern. A very interesting premise is set forth in the opening 200 pages. Then there is a very long, boring section, as various events unfold and are laboriously described. Then the last 200 pages are very exciting and suspenseful again, leaving you satisfied at the end.

    But I can only give this book three stars because the middle half was so long and drawn out. The premise for this book is the idea that terrorists have acquired the means to develop a nuclear bomb. Other points of the plot are laid out nicely in the opening chapters, with the reader wondering how all these different plot lines will tie together.

    Unfortunately, many of these different plot lines are resolved with very little impact on the main story. Some have no impact at all. There are allegations that Jack Ryan is having an affair, which the reader knows is false from the outset. This doesn't prevent Clancy from wasting many pages on this is affects his personal and professional life. In the end, this sub plot has no impact whatsoever on the rest of the story. I have no idea why it was included.

    Also among the list of things that could have been left out is the excruciating detail of the steps involved in the manufacture of the bomb. I did not read this for a lesson in physics, and the fact that Clancy reveals in the afterward that some of the details were changed means that I have read dozens of pages of dry nuclear physics only to find out that some wasn't even accurate. Another colossal waste of pages and my time.

    There are other examples, and many characters are introduced and detailed, only to have their role in the end crisis complete in a matter of minutes, where you find the details of their life that you've been learning are really irrelevant to the main story. Halfway through the book, I contemplated putting it down and abandoning this, but I carried on out of a sense of obligation to completing what I've started. I found that the end of the book was very suspenseful, although there was some problems with the plot that perplexed me. For some reason at the height of the crisis, the President is able to set up a conference call with the US military leaders all over the globe, but is unable to initiate a phone call to the leader of Russia. I know the book was written in 1990, but I'm pretty sure they had phone coverage in Moscow even back then.

    Overall, this book could have been greatly improved by a good editor and the subtraction of the middle 400 pages. There's no reason to waste time and energy on some much information that has no bearing on the story you're trying to tell. I'm hesitant to read much more Tom Clancy, because all the books are about this length and up until now have followed this pattern, so I fear there will be more long stretches of boring and meaningless text to pore over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Usual Clancy

    I bought this book knowing the plot and was hoping for an exciting read. 60% of this book was leading up to what was going to happen and this book was 912 pgs. paperback. The begining starts out good but by page 300 everthing is boring lead up till page 700, then you will be in for a ride only Clancy could come up with. Overall I was very dissapointed with the book and the only reason I gave it a four star was because of the last 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scary in view of Clancy's seeming prescience.

    This book underlines how important are the roles of our American security agencies and our need to understand and anticipate our adversaries on the world stage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    One of Clancy's best!

    The Sum of All Fears is a high-tech novel with a traditional flare. The story begins with the Yom Kippur War of 1973 between Israel and the opposing Arab states. In a state of confusion, Israel goes on nuke-alert and in the process, a nuclear-armed fighter jet explodes in the Golan Heights, losing the nuke in the process. About 20 years later, after the Persian Gulf War, DDCI Jack Ryan establishes a final peace plan for the Middle East which includes the official partition of Israel and Palestine. Meanwhile, Ismeal Qati, an Islamic fundamentalist, as well as his sidekick Ibrahim Ghosn, believe that the U.S. shouldn't interfere. At the same time, a Druse farmer finds the bomb and gives it to Qati to detonate. Qati, however, finds that it is a nuclear bomb and calls a German physicist to refabricate the bomb. Meanwhile, Günther Bock, a German radical, joins up with Qati, as well as Marvin Russell, a Native American fugitive. In America, Ryan is butting heads with the new president (J. Robert Fowler) as well as his National Security Advisor (Elizabeth Elliot). They want him out and find ways to fabricate a sex-scandal to possibly get him impeached. However, Ryan uses the press to proclaim his innocense and rekindles the love he felt for his wife so long ago... In Russia, a corrupt spy for the CIA (agent SPINNAKER) misinforms the CIA of a possible coup in the government to try to topple Secretary Narmonov. This leads the CIA to believe that three nukes are gone from the Russian's arsenal... which will unltimately lead to the greatest scandal yet... Just before halftime at the Super Bowl in Denver, a nuclear detonation is reported to have occurred very near the stadium where the game was being played. This begins a series of finger-pointing by the shaken heads-of-state of both the United States and Russia. However, just as both super-powers are about push the button to begin a devastating nuclear war, Clark and Chavez cameo to capture Qati and Ghosn as they land in Mexico City in an attempt to flee the U.S. Ryan contacts Narmonov over the hot-line in the NMCC and tells him of the developments. Narmonov puts everything on hold and suggests the U.S. do the same. The books final pages involve the public excecution of Qati and Ghosn in Saudi Arabia. This book, minus the first 200 pages, kept me intrigued until the final finger-biting moments when Ryan is awaiting the final hot-line reply. The last 200 pages fly by with amazing speed. YOU SIMPLY CANNOT PUT THIS ONE DOWN!!! This is a must-read for anyone who wants to read an incredibly accurate (minus the real secrets to a nuclear bomb) novel that entertains as well as teaches.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Watch the movie - you'll waste less time!

    C'mon Clancy! Everyone knows Tom 'I'm a nerd who fantasizes about being a Green Beret with a PhD working for the CIA' Clancy is a great thriller, but he's stretching his formulas a little too far with Sum of All Fears. Jack Ryan is not James Bond and never will be. I always start to become suspicious when the author's name on the dust jacket is larger than the title of the book. Read Red Storm Rising three times before your read this book once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    One of Clancy's best

    Having read most of Clancy's fiction works, I would place this book in the top three. I liked Rainbow Six and Without Remorse better, but this book was simply one of the best novels I've ever read. The ending is unbelievable, I coulnd't put it down. I had to read the last 200 pages all in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Darren16@R.A.Long

    This wasn't the best Tom Clancy book I have ever read, But it wasn't the worst book ever. For how long it was it should have been alot better. For the amount of good information that was in the book I think it could have been shorter. Not Clancy's best book! It get's ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7