Customer Reviews for

Summary: Eat to Live ...in 30 Minutes - A Concise Summary of Joel Fuhrman MD's Bestselling Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    This is a great summary of an outstanding nutritional book. It g

    This is a great summary of an outstanding nutritional book. It gave me all the information i needed, in a way that was easy to understand and apply immediately into my own life.
    Highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    This summary of Dr. Fuhrman¿s book Eat to Live is very well laid

    This summary of Dr. Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live is very well laid out and easy to follow. It is indeed concise, giving you a high concentration of information in short, easy to absorb sections. Each chapter from the original book is broken down into an overview, a summary, a useful quote, and key points, making it easy to get the information that you need at a glance, but also including enough material for you to feel informed. The book addresses some common dangerous eating habits, some pit falls in various popular methods of dieting, and ways to solve those problems. In 30 short minutes, you can learn how to improve your health and longevity through better nutrition. If you’re not sure you’re ready to take on the full length book, or would like to learn the highlights quickly, this summary is perfect for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Sweets, dairy, and meat are killing Americans. This is the resol

    Sweets, dairy, and meat are killing Americans. This is the resolute conclusion reached in this short summary of Dr. Fuhrman’s Eat to Live, where chapter after chapter reveals that the micronutrients we need are continuously underrepresented in our diet. The author offers the key to a life without diabetes, heart disease, high cholesterol, obesity, and the many other diseases shortening our lifespans. I found this an enlightening, eye-opening account of how to not only live a longer life, but to do so at an ideal weight. Fuhrman also promises that once adjusting to this new style of eating, the micronutrients abundant in this diet of fruits, vegetables, beans, and legumes will keep us feeling full and satisfied rather than hungry. That’s something I can get on board with!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Concise, informative, and an enjoyably positive read. The summar

    Concise, informative, and an enjoyably positive read. The summary version of Eat to Live, by Joel Fuhrman, MD, provides a nice road map of how the American diet has led us to historically poor health. No finger wagging, just matter-of-fact cause and effect. And some of the cause and effects explained were surprising, at least to me. For example, many junk food items aren't just caloric bombs, they're a food delivery device that confuses our body's hunger signals. And as clear as the road map of how we got here is presented, the path to a healthy, balanced diet via plant-based nutrients is sensibly and intuitively laid out. Nothing daunting or new-age haze in the writing. Instead, it's very can-do and practical. And the summary format certainly compliments that style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    This summary of Dr. Fuhman¿s Eat To Live is a wonderful addition

    This summary of Dr. Fuhman’s Eat To Live is a wonderful addition to the diet debate. Dr. Fuhman knows from experience that what we eat decides our quality of life. High fat, lots of sugar and processed foods lead to chronic disease, obesity and poor health. Years of helping his patients change their diets has taught him that nutritional value is the pivotal point of eating right. Food high in nutrients and low in calories are the key and these are found in the plant kingdom and are full of disease fighting phytochemicals. Message: become a nutritarian. That is someone whose dietary focus is on nutritional value. Breakfast is fruit, lunch is a huge salad with nuts and beans, dinner is more salad, maybe some fish and fruit for dessert. Eat as much as you like, oh, and take a little exercise too; doesn’t sound too hard, except no coffee!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    This guide is a fantastic read for anyone considering going vege

    This guide is a fantastic read for anyone considering going vegetarian, or looking for a solution to weight gain, disease, and unhealthiness. The notable Dr. Fuhrman discusses in depth all the reasons an animal-product rich diet has negative repercussions for the body, and how moving towards a nutritious and low calorie, plant-derived diet can prevent and possibly cure diseases like diabetes, cancer, and lupus. The serving suggestions and menu plans make it all very simple, and the frank scientific explanations are sensible and easy to follow. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves to eat but is frustrated with his health or weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    For those of you looking for the right diet plan, Eat to Live¿in

    For those of you looking for the right diet plan, Eat to Live…in 30 Minutes is a quick and comprehensive summary of Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s Eat to Live. Packed with tasty tidbits of what to eat (plant products) and what to avoid (animal products) this little book is a healthy addition to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    In this summary of Joel Fuhrman¿s book it states that we should

    In this summary of Joel Fuhrman’s book it states that we should simply eat better. In a startlingly simple approach to diet and exercise the refreshing approach can prevent and even reverse things like heart disease and diabetes. It proposes a new way of thinking, a true lifestyle change. We can eat to feel better, live better, and even reverse some diseases. The conciseness of this summary is a refreshing approach to a diet simplified for everyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Just the thought of changing my eating habits to help me feel mo

    Just the thought of changing my eating habits to help me feel more full, get healthier, and lose weight, without feeling deprived, was enough for me to read this summary of Dr. Fuhrman, MD’s, book. This easy-to-read, six-week plan for a healthy life-style change, focusing on incorporating all-natural phytochemicals, seems entirely doable, and motivated me to get started on getting healthier right away. I highly recommend this book. — Vicki Worthington

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    This book is a excellent summary of a very detailed book on heal

    This book is a excellent summary of a very detailed book on health and weight loss.
    By using regular features such as Key Points of each chapter, direct quotes from the original text, and concise explanations of the
    eating plan described by Dr. Furhman, this book expertly gives all the most important information in an interesting and
    thought-provoking way. Though the basic tenant of the book is to eat more fruits and vegetables, there are so many other facts
    and figures to be reported that this summary is a great place to start if you want a clear idea of Dr. Furhman’s plan so that you
    can get started on it right away. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Struggling with what to eat to be healthy and avoid diseases suc

    Struggling with what to eat to be healthy and avoid diseases such as cancer, as well as being busy in my own life, made the summary of Dr. Fuhrman's book, Eat to Live, perfect for me.  In thirty minutes, readers will be able to gain valuable insight on what foods you should eat, and why they help.
















    In today's society, it's easy to hear about the newest weight loss surgery, the new "

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Struggling with what to eat to be healthy and avoid diseases suc

    Struggling with what to eat to be healthy and avoid diseases such as cancer, as well as being busy in my own life, made the summary of Dr. Fuhrman's book, Eat to Live, perfect for me.  In thirty minutes, readers will be able to gain valuable insight on what foods you should eat, and why they help. 




    In today's society, it's easy to hear about the newest weight loss surgery, the new "healthy pill" to supplement your diet, etc.  However, how safe are all these man made solutions? This summarized version of Eat to Live gives any person willing to read it  brief and natural ways via healthy homegrown foods to lose weight, fight diseases, and regulate your body in a better and cheaper way than I have ever been aware of.  This book has revolutionized the way I eat, and therefore, live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1