BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Moving and Richly Written

Summer is a fascinating portrayal of human nature, richly descriptive yet brief in dialogue. Hold on for a captivating ride as you experience the change in perspective that comes from the transition from adolescence to adulthood through the eyes of main character Chari...
Summer is a fascinating portrayal of human nature, richly descriptive yet brief in dialogue. Hold on for a captivating ride as you experience the change in perspective that comes from the transition from adolescence to adulthood through the eyes of main character Charity. But there are additional interesting curves in the road involving pivotal transformations and realizations by other central characters as well. The characters in this novel, like its setting North Dormer, are far from perfect. They possess both good and bad qualities. They experience regret and tribulation as well as moments of strength and admiration. They know they can be better -- reach their full potential -- if only they can get out of this dismal place. The grass has to be greener, or so they believe. But, life's realities give them a new perspective. Out of their flaws, they find resolution. While we may not agree with the outcome (possibly because of cultural and societal differences from the time of the novel to now), it no doubt adds mystery and, yes, reality to the story.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed

While I am a huge fan of Edith Wharton's other novels, Summer does not match their standard. It is contrived, and the emotional tenor is unrealistic. While it is well worth reading for those with a deep interest in all of Wharton's writings, readers who are new to Wha...
While I am a huge fan of Edith Wharton's other novels, Summer does not match their standard. It is contrived, and the emotional tenor is unrealistic. While it is well worth reading for those with a deep interest in all of Wharton's writings, readers who are new to Wharton should start with the Age of Innocence or Ethan Frome. I would say this is inferior to the House of Mirth and Custom of the Country as well.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gave up...

    Okay,I fully admit to not being a reader of the classics but every once in a while I have to give one a try (I usually pick a small one). I gave this one a try four times and could never get past chapter two. Took it to work to loan to co-workers. It would leave and then come back quickly, each time abandoned. I found Wharton's story telling lifeless. Maybe it's just this particular book and possibly I'll give her another try but certainly not in the near future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Mixed

    While I am a huge fan of Edith Wharton's other novels, Summer does not match their standard. It is contrived, and the emotional tenor is unrealistic. While it is well worth reading for those with a deep interest in all of Wharton's writings, readers who are new to Wharton should start with the Age of Innocence or Ethan Frome. I would say this is inferior to the House of Mirth and Custom of the Country as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This novel contains all the elements of 'hot' chick lit: A young girl is adopted by a distinguished man with a seedy side. Bored with her life in a small town, she finds romance with a guy visiting from the big city. They have a summer of adventure and secret passion until she tetters on ruin. This is an interesting and fun classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Moving and Richly Written

    Summer is a fascinating portrayal of human nature, richly descriptive yet brief in dialogue. Hold on for a captivating ride as you experience the change in perspective that comes from the transition from adolescence to adulthood through the eyes of main character Charity. But there are additional interesting curves in the road involving pivotal transformations and realizations by other central characters as well. The characters in this novel, like its setting North Dormer, are far from perfect. They possess both good and bad qualities. They experience regret and tribulation as well as moments of strength and admiration. They know they can be better -- reach their full potential -- if only they can get out of this dismal place. The grass has to be greener, or so they believe. But, life's realities give them a new perspective. Out of their flaws, they find resolution. While we may not agree with the outcome (possibly because of cultural and societal differences from the time of the novel to now), it no doubt adds mystery and, yes, reality to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Summer is a sensational novel

    Summer is a novel that shows the passions between a man and a woman. Charity, a woman who should be born in today's world, but tragically stuck in a world where a dowry matters. The passion they feel is unordtodox and they feel no regret over what transpired between them. 'She threw her back proudly.'I ain't ever been sorry-not a minute'' 149 She feels no regret, but pride in the passion that they felt even though society scorns her and tries to break her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Loved it!!!

    I read this book for a book report in my american lit class, and I loved it. Wharton's writing kept me interested, and I loved the story. Although I was disappointed in the ending(it wasn't what I wanted), I recommend this book to poeple who love romance. The vivid descriptions of the setting made it easy to picture in my mind. Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Dubious Publishing

    There is no real publishing information besides it being published through CreateSpace. It might be illegally published without the copyright holder's consent. There is also an obvious typo on the back cover. And the text on the back cover isn't designed properly. The text isn't neatly wrapped within the text box, and the words are being broken-up at the end of almost every line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    DEAR GAVE UP:

    Please read something else of Wharton's and try this one again, perhaps a collection of her short stories. I'd hate for you to totally be turned off. Sometimes it is easier to understand something of this magnitude if you take baby steps by gently familiarizing yourself with the author's writing style and voice. Biographical familiarity also helps. I'm used to classics and there are many it took several tries for me to stomach. Recently I read Clara Laughlin's "Children Of Tomorrow." When I got the book I could barely get through the first 3 chapters it was that dull. But one weekend about 3 months ago, my internet went down and I had nothing new to read, so I went back to it and found there was alot more to the story than I was willing to admit at the time. I loved the book so much I started looking for other stuff. I guess what I'm trying to say is don't give up. True fact: It took me 4 times being forced to read The Great Gatsby, forr me to find something redeeming in it. If I can try that hard, you can too..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not her best

    This is not a fair example of Wharton's work

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooioooooooooooooo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2