BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer According to Humphrey (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Unsqueakably sweet story children will enjoy!

Summer According to Humphrey, by Betty G. Birney, is a sweet story about a classroom hamster that goes to summer camp while school is out. He is afraid of the wild and his new situation, but he faces both with courage when his best friend, Og the Frog, is lost. The st...
Summer According to Humphrey, by Betty G. Birney, is a sweet story about a classroom hamster that goes to summer camp while school is out. He is afraid of the wild and his new situation, but he faces both with courage when his best friend, Og the Frog, is lost. The story is about situations with and relationships between campers, and the role Humphrey plays in their lives. Humphrey cares for the children and intervenes in their situations when he can. The story is told from Humphrey's perspective.

This story discusses facing fears and new situations with courage and the importance of friendship. The book has a gentle story line mixed with humorous incidents children will enjoy.

posted by Bookworm1762 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Humphrey the hamster is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Humphrey the hamster is awesomem!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Unsqueakably sweet story children will enjoy!

    Summer According to Humphrey, by Betty G. Birney, is a sweet story about a classroom hamster that goes to summer camp while school is out. He is afraid of the wild and his new situation, but he faces both with courage when his best friend, Og the Frog, is lost. The story is about situations with and relationships between campers, and the role Humphrey plays in their lives. Humphrey cares for the children and intervenes in their situations when he can. The story is told from Humphrey's perspective.

    This story discusses facing fears and new situations with courage and the importance of friendship. The book has a gentle story line mixed with humorous incidents children will enjoy.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    I was not disappointed

    This book was unsqueakably amazing! Humphrey is so entertaining, and these books teach great values. This one is the best one in the whole series, I am commanding you to get this book. Great for children under 10, but EVERYONE should read humphrey.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Unsqeac Unsqeakably good!

    A REALLY GOOOD BOOK

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Big Woods.

    Humphrey and Og are back! Hoo-ray! Join (as the cover of the book says, "Everyone's favorite classroom pet!") Humphrey the hamster and Og the frog for a summer time adventure. Read all about Humphrey and Og's summer vacation at Camp Happy Hollow. This is another fantastic, fabulous, and fun journey with your favorite protagonist. A well written, well-developed storyline and engaging characters will keep you reading. Enjoy summer camp with the pets of room 26. Hope Humphrey and Og will have another adventure to read about soon. Two paws up! If you enjoy this adventure with Humphrey all the previous adventures are great too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Cool

    It is funny and cute

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Squeak-tacular

    Funny book about camp will read over n over again gr8

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    humphry!

    I love humphry! His friends are back to! I loved the book and I like his new friends to. The Holler was funny as well. Humphry relly out done him self this time. Og and humphry are the best of all the teams. Goldenrod is very helpful. humphry has alot of good plans and knows how to help friands. The book was so good I could read it a second time.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

    It is so good!I just read it and didn't stop until I finished the book.O.M.G!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Halrious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    O.m.g this book was one of the most AMAZING books i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!! i really thought it was awesome and cool and it was HILARIOUS!!! He says the cutest things and funnyest things and he acts like he's a human!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You should defenetly read this halarious book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Love it!

    This book was really great, and it was a good nook book. You should get this book. It is the best one in the series, you NEED to get this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Summer according to Humphrey

    I purchased the 5 other Humphrey books for my grandson because he needed encouragement to read and he has a hampster. When he asked me at Christmas about the next paperback that was to be available in January, I knew that he should have Humphrey books as soon as available. My daughter said that she felt these books had given him a love for reading and he had taken them to school!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    .

    I sord of want to see Humphrey & Og go on a class feildtrip.. I love this series, & I think anyone would enjoy the series. This was the first Humphrey book I got. I read it in a day, & loved it. I haven't finished the series yet, but so far they are GOOD-GOOD-GOOD I'm so glad I found these books. I'm HAPPY-HAPPY-HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    A great book

    This book is the second best one I read. My first best one adventure acroding to humphy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great book

    Best book series i've ever read. Betty, you have done it again!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Love it

    I absolutly love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Funny

    Humphery is the cutest!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Og the frog is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : )

    I love how is name rhymes! : )

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Summer break!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ive read all of the humphery books

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Rpgreat

    The zHumphrey are amaxing! I highy reccmenf this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Skueack!

    I unsqueakubakuly love humphrey books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3