Customer Reviews for

The Summer Before Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

The Summer before boys captures perfectly the awkwardness and transition of age 12 to 13. It had a real childlike quality to it, and I really enjoyed reading it.
It's short, and I'm not sure if it's classified as MG or not, but it's very clean. It does have some da...
The Summer before boys captures perfectly the awkwardness and transition of age 12 to 13. It had a real childlike quality to it, and I really enjoyed reading it.
It's short, and I'm not sure if it's classified as MG or not, but it's very clean. It does have some darker (not extremely dark, but...) issues. It's the first book I've read where a mom is in Iraq. She's dealing with this in the whole book, and I think that it's a noble and needed thing to talk about in contemps. (maybe dark isn't right word... just hard)
I love the complicated family structure, it really adds to the authenticity, because in real life, families are almost always complicated in some way or another.
The friendship between Julia and Eliza is dynamic, and I like to see what causes it to change and grow in different ways. It was a neat touch how they had their imaginary world and it was a form of bonding that helped them.
This is a great summer book, and I recommend to give it a try.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To genre wonderer

I havent read this book yet but when i am done with my other book i will read this I am pretty(99.99%) sure this book's genre is realistic fiction.

posted by 8904986 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    The Summer before boys captures perfectly the awkwardness and transition of age 12 to 13. It had a real childlike quality to it, and I really enjoyed reading it.
    It's short, and I'm not sure if it's classified as MG or not, but it's very clean. It does have some darker (not extremely dark, but...) issues. It's the first book I've read where a mom is in Iraq. She's dealing with this in the whole book, and I think that it's a noble and needed thing to talk about in contemps. (maybe dark isn't right word... just hard)
    I love the complicated family structure, it really adds to the authenticity, because in real life, families are almost always complicated in some way or another.
    The friendship between Julia and Eliza is dynamic, and I like to see what causes it to change and grow in different ways. It was a neat touch how they had their imaginary world and it was a form of bonding that helped them.
    This is a great summer book, and I recommend to give it a try.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Beautiful and Moving

    The Summer Before Boys was a couple stories in one. The first deals with the that time in life where we begin to lose our youth and become interested in things like boys. The other story is about the sacrifices that member of our Armed Forces and their families make during times of war and deployments. Both stories are intertwined in a simple and beautiful manner.

    Julia and Eliza are best friends and relatives. They love to read and pretend. They read the classics- Little Women and Little House On the Prairie. There is magic all around them as they imagine the lives of these characters and create there own. However, at 12 years old, things are beginning to change for Julia at least. Sometimes she can't see the same things Eliza sees. Julia's also begun to notice boys. One boy in particular. This change threatens to tear Julia and Eliza apart.

    The other part of the story is the part that touched me the most. Julia's mom is serving as a nurse in Iraq. The current summer near the end of her deployment is mixed in with flashbacks to the past year, when Julia and another student were sent to special counciling for students with deployed parents. The worry and longing for her mother's safe return is so strong. Nora Raleigh Baskin did a particularly good job in describing what it's like to have a parent serving in the military far away from home. It was a wonderful reminder of what the families of our men and women in uniform must go through not only while their loved ones are away, but also how different things can be when they come back.

    I found this book to be so moving and real. I understood these girls. I was always reading the same books as they did. I could see myself in their shoes. I also appreciated the harsh realities of war and having a mom so far away. Julia went through so many emotions while her mom was gone, and I felt them right along with her. I think everyone should read this to really understand what kind of things the families of our service members can go through. The worry of not knowing if your loved one is safe. The agony of missing a simple phone call because you never know when you may get another. I ended the book with a heart for of thankfulness for both our service men and women and their families. This was such a good book, and I hope everyone will read it.

    Galley provided by publisher for review.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Awesome

    I got te book at a book fair not on my nook and so far it is super good just like the first few chapter i highly recommend this book

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I thought this was a great coming age story with lots of life lessons in it. Boys, school, family. Everything that you grow up with and come to learn. What I like most about this book was how it talk about the war and how it effected her.

    Julia grows up so fast and so much just over the summer. Her mother has been over seas for the war and Julia is alone with her father which forces her to do things on her own. Julia is a very smart, bright girl. And even thought she made mistakes, I loved how real she was. She does her best to go to school and spend time with her friends, but you can see the pain of not having her mother there in her feelings.

    There aren't a lot of books that talks about the war with kids in them. I love how well Ms. Baskin got into the mind of a pre-teen dealing with the hurt, anger, and separation of parent. At times, Julia needed her mother badly. She needed that guidance and counsel that only a mother can give.

    I especially love all the stupid stuff that they giggled at. Boys, and spelling names wrong. This book is great for girls just coming into the their teens. Its had a lot of real like issues that anyone can relate to. The Summer Before Boys is a great story filled with lots of feelings that flow right off the pages. It simply adorable and a great read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    To savysweets

    Ok savysweets. The book was based on her pre teen stuff. It is based on real facts on what happened

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Yay

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Awsome

    I just bought the book at my school book fair, and i started reading it and i cant stop, it is a really good book, you must read it!!!!!!!!!!:)smile:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    To genre wonderer

    I havent read this book yet but when i am done with my other book i will read this

    I am pretty(99.99%) sure this book's genre is realistic fiction.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Love it!!!!

    I read this book in like one day!!! I couldn't put it down... Im 11 yrs old but i read at a 12 grade level. This was like a vaca book. Highly recomended to 10-16 yr olds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    anonymous

    i didnt like this book. you cant tell the difference between wat happened in the past and what was happening in the present. these 12 year old girls liked to make up games and you couldnt tell wat was real or make believe, some of the characters couldnt even tell wat was real or not, specifically Eliza. i wouldnt waste the money on this book, if you rele rele want to read it check it out at your public library. its a short book with short chapters but dont think its a quick read, it is very confusing like i said. the author is known for books for the audience of kids and teens, and let me tell you, this is not a teen book, it is too easy to read and teens will get bored with it. these characters are 12 yrs old, and thats probably the right target audience, maybe even 10 or 11 too. please, please, please dont waste your money on this book, if you rele want to read it go to the library, thats what i did and i am happy for making that decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Luvv it

    I am not even finished with the book and i already luuuvvv it. It has a great like sort of rhythm as you read i am 11 and read at a college level but its sorta hard to find apropriate college level books so i read 4th grade and up level reading material and this book was really good i suggest fourth to sixth grade

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Coolkidcole.451

    It was AWESOME! I loved the way it explained how love can get in the way of more lmportant things, like friends. I went though that it was hard. But, life isn't Easy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!

    OMG!!!!!!I want this book so bad. In the summary they talk about how the friends fight over this guy. This has totally happened to me before and is still going on now

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Cottencandy7401

    I did not read the book yet but i hear it is a very good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Love ut

    This is myFAVORITE chapter book EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Donr put.....

    Dont put just one star if you never read it, it rude please dont be a jerk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Here is the Answer

    Yes! I am 12 yrs. old and i fell in love with this book. Get IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Want to read...

    How many pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Awsome

    It's awsome book get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Lol

    My favorite book of all time!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3