Customer Reviews for

Summer Blowout

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Claire Cook Charms Again!

I'm a journalist on Cape Cod who received an advance copy of Claire Cook's most recent book, 'Summer Blowout' last winter. I've interviewed Claire several times, and have read all five of her books. I find Claire to be a complete delight, and I think that 'Summer Bl...
I'm a journalist on Cape Cod who received an advance copy of Claire Cook's most recent book, 'Summer Blowout' last winter. I've interviewed Claire several times, and have read all five of her books. I find Claire to be a complete delight, and I think that 'Summer Blowout' is her best book yet - and this from someone who has long held on to 'Must Love Dogs' as my absolute favorite Claire Cook book. 'Summer Blowout' will be the must-read book this summer. I would encourage readers to grab a copy of this book, a tube of their favorite lipstick, and prepare to be delighted and transported to the delightful world of the Shaughnessy's - the most entertaining faux-Italian/Irish clan you'll ever meet. Candace Hammond

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't judge a book by it's cover.

This book looked and sounded like a lot of fun.... but it wasn't. It was boring. I couldn't make it beyond page 70.

posted by sk8rlizard on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Don't judge a book by it's cover.

    This book looked and sounded like a lot of fun.... but it wasn't. It was boring. I couldn't make it beyond page 70.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Claire Cook Charms Again!

    I'm a journalist on Cape Cod who received an advance copy of Claire Cook's most recent book, 'Summer Blowout' last winter. I've interviewed Claire several times, and have read all five of her books. I find Claire to be a complete delight, and I think that 'Summer Blowout' is her best book yet - and this from someone who has long held on to 'Must Love Dogs' as my absolute favorite Claire Cook book. 'Summer Blowout' will be the must-read book this summer. I would encourage readers to grab a copy of this book, a tube of their favorite lipstick, and prepare to be delighted and transported to the delightful world of the Shaughnessy's - the most entertaining faux-Italian/Irish clan you'll ever meet. Candace Hammond

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    Different than I thought

    Normally I know what book I want before I go to buy a book so I don't waste my money. This was an impulse buy that I thought would be fun to bring on the beach to read. Big mistake. It was totally different and boring. Some parts were confusing but that may be because of my lack of attention to it. I could not even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Claire Cook is hysterical!

    Claire Cook is just plain fun to read. Her Summer Blowout characters are engaging, while a bit left-of-center. I laughed out loud. If you haven't read Claire Cook yet, grab any one of her books, and enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A Fun Chicklit Romp

    Claire Cook is a feel good author. You cannot be negative after reading her. Summer Blowout is realistic, funny and offers insight on many subjects, not matter what your field of interest may be. Take an afternoon to get into this quick and easy read and feel better for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    summer blowout was a great read

    i loved this book i read it within 2 days i already recommend to my other friends.if you want to read something that's offbeat & funny pick this up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Must Love Summer Blowout

    Claire Cook is the best selling author of 'Must Love Dogs', which was made into a movie starring Diane Keaton. Another of her well-known works is 'Life's A Beach'. If you are familiar with these, you're in for another lively fiction, this time about a young woman, Bella Shaughnessy, of pure Irish stock who lives in Marshbury, Massachusetts. Bella's father recreates himself and his offspring into 'Italians', establishes a small chain of Tuscan-flavored beauty salons in which all his children and three ex-wives are employed. Bella has a fetish for lipsticks with shade names that work into the story to suit her mood, story action or her sex life. 'Summer Blowout' isn't just a romantic novel, it's flat out LIFE, written in the first person, effervescent and humorous style of Ms. Cook. She is a physical fitness and creative writing teacher, as well as wife and mother of two children. Do you see the 'non-stop' in her credentials? That's exactly how she writes--spirited, sassy, belligerent and determined. Bella swore off men after her husband took up with her half-sister, to whom Bella was more of a doting mother than a sister. But Sophia grew to like everything Bella had, so she didn't think twice about having Bella's estranged husband. Betrayal and loathing color Bella's life. She grows into her own person and the development of her character captivates the reader. The resolution to all her personal and familial conflicts--well, you'll just have to read this engaging story and see for yourself. As an added bonus, you'll learn more about foundation makeup, eye treatments, mascara and lipsticks than any beauty manual could hope to impart. Wouldn't be surprised if 'Summer Blowout' morphs into film in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Ms. Cook has done it again!

    This was sure a fun book to read, and I liked that even though this family had their ups and downs, but they stayed together. Specially, when the sister's have different of opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    A fun beach read!

    After 10 years of marriage Bella Shaughnessy's husband leaves her and after the divorce he starts dating Bella's half-sister Sophia. To make matters worse all of Lucky Shaughnessy's children, from 3 different wives, work for Lucky in his hair salon/make up artist business so Bella has to work with Sophia on a daily basis. On one of her make-up artist gigs Bella meets Sean Ryan. Bella however is still hurting over her ex and her sister's betrayal so she keeps him at arm's length and just when Sean starts to break down the wall Bella puts up, he starts to get cold feet about dating a recently divorced woman. Summer Blowout is a fun quick read. I quickly fell in love with Bella, her dysfunctional family and her new puppy with highlights in his fur. I highly recommend this book for chick-lit lovers even though it's lighter than the typical 'working girl gets boy' chick-lit story. Cook's writing is genuine with lots of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Summer Blowout

    Claire Cook's books have a way of touching me while always making me laugh. I read this book at the end of a very long week, and it was the perfect antidote to the stresses of life. Her characters are warm, funny and real and she writes with a voice that rings true. I'm always sad to come to the end of the book, I guess the best books leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    HER BEST BOOK YET

    What a wonderful summer read. I laughed, I cried, and all the characters are wonderful including Cannoli the dog. I learned so much about make-up application and other hairdresser hints. I didn't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Summer Blowout

    There are certain books that impact you, often in subtle ways. Summer Blowout's effect on me was more tangible - after I finished I wore lipstick for the first time in years. And started using moisturizer twice a day! This book was a lot of fun. Claire Cook writes entertaining stories that move along. They never bog down, and keep you laughing along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Carefree Amusing Read that won't disappoint

    Claire Cook once again ventures into the genre of the ¿living is easy¿ summer beach read with her latest book, Summer Blowout. Bella Shaughnessy¿s fascination with makeup, particularly lipsticks with names such as Kiss My Lips or Catfight, is the daughter of loving but divorced Irish parents. Her father, Lucky, was married three times, but still holds a place in his heart for Bella¿s mother. He has a mania for all things Italian ever since their honeymoon in Tuscany. His sociable persona and outlandish mannerisms are part of his charm, and what endears Lucky to the family and clientele alike. Set in the Marshbury area around Boston, the Salon de Lucio is the main salon that is next to the family home. The other salons, including Salon de Paolo, have apartments above them, and Bella Shaughnessey lives in the one above de Paolo. Bella¿s life revolves around the family business of beauty salons where she works as a talented makeup artist and hair stylist. The Shaughnessy family mans the small family chain of beauty salons with Bella¿s four half-brothers and ¿sisters and in-laws, both current and past. While sounding like a happy, loving family, we quickly realize the conflicts that exist are what make this story percolate. Central is Bella¿s marriage that dissolves when her husband runs off with her half-sister. Bella is rightfully bitter and cautious and swears off relationships until she encounters a young, captivating entrepreneur, Sean Ryan. With a business idea, he introduces a way for Bella to use her talents to her advantage and on her own with no family connection. On her own, Bella thinks she can be happy with no man or attachments. However, enter purely by accident, one small fuzz ball of a pup that Bella falls for and finds it is a love that is worth taking a chance on. This is where Cannoli enters to steal Bella¿s heart and often times, the story! Bella and Cannoli become inseparable much to the chagrin of many of the family members. But Bella finds it easy to confide in Cannoli and trust her heart to this tiny dog. As Bella¿s new business venture grows, so does Bella¿s interest in this charming businessman, Sean. However, with Cannoli in her life, Bella is content and doesn¿t want any more entanglements or relationships. Fighting to not let desire take over, Bella keeps her distance in this business relationship with Sean Ryan until things come to a point on a crazy family wedding weekend in Atlanta that will change Bella¿s life forever. Readers, who enjoyed the shoes in Beth Harbison¿s Shoe Addicts Anonymous, or designer clothes in Lauren Weisberger¿s The Devil Wears Prada, will become quickly caught up in Summer Blowout. Cook¿s story revolves around the world of makeup artists and hair stylists. Fans of her other books, including Life¿s A Beach and Must Love Dogs, will find Claire Cook continues to entertain with this latest romantic riotous romp! Fans won¿t be disappointed if they are looking for a carefree amusing summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Summer Blowout - great summer read!

    Summer Blowout is about Bella, a hairdresser, in an Irish 'spelled I-t-a-l-i-a-n' family of hairdressers. The story is like a perfectly seasoned marinara sauce with a pinch of hope, heartache, determination, laughter, wit and love - with an extra pinch of humor 'to 'boot''. For dessert there is the little dog, Cannoli, that Bella adopts - sort of. It's a great read and even has some cosmetic tips I found useful. I really enjoyed it!! ALF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2