BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer Boys (Summer Boys Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Wow, this is one of my favorite books now. I am in love with this book. (And all of the other ones in the series.) I wish Miss. Abbott would have written more then just 4 of these...wow she should have written about 10 more these are so good! I really recommend this for...
Wow, this is one of my favorite books now. I am in love with this book. (And all of the other ones in the series.) I wish Miss. Abbott would have written more then just 4 of these...wow she should have written about 10 more these are so good! I really recommend this for anyone. Its so so so so so so great!

posted by Chelsea09 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is okay, but it is definitely not for teens. Although it is about teens, I do not think it is realistic. It is all about teens having sex, which is not appropriate at all. I find this book a bit disturbing with all the sex scenes.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is okay, but it is definitely not for teens. Although it is about teens, I do not think it is realistic. It is all about teens having sex, which is not appropriate at all. I find this book a bit disturbing with all the sex scenes.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Ok

    It was okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    ehh..

    the book was okay.. but i just couldn't get 'attached' and at times i just skipped a few pages because it was boring. The A-List series are the way to go!! the drama in it is way more intense.. and i got really attached to those books. =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Predictable

    This book is rather boring and predictable after having read the Gossip Girl Series. While the chracters are the same age, they act a lot younger. I did however like the fact that I could completely relate to one of the main characters. I think that every girl could relate to one of the three main characters. Overall, it was a somewhat dissapointing book with not much of a plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    It was...eh...

    Hmm... This is a book for, say, girls of sixteen and seventeen? Hailey Abbott wrote a neat book, but man does it have some VERY adult contents. Not to mention kids younger than sixteen and seventeen would be reading this. I'm not too fond of it at all. I mean, the characters were...eh, but that's just me. I like purity in the heriones I read about. Beth's story was the only one I absolutely ADORED! As for the others... I'll tell you now that I HATE Ella. Ugh. Utterly disgusting. Heck-who knows maybe that's all real, that hot chicks like her have no sense of morals at all. Jamie was a sweet kid, but when she was taken under Ella's wing, I couldn't help hating her for being so stupid to grab onto the bad things like smoking and drinking. Like I said, disgusting. When will girls learn that GUYS ONLY GIVE LOVE (false love)TO GET SEX AND GIRLS ONLY GIVE SEX TO GET LOVE? Learn you dimwitts! But-different strokes for different folks. This wasn't my sort of idea of a good read. However, it was still entertaining-a page-turner, except for when it came to Ella and her traitorous ways. I just wanted to burn the book at that point. Beth's story's the only one worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Okay book a little hard to follow at times

    i thought this book was okay.. i think it would have been better if it would have just followed the summer of one of the couples... its kind of confusing with three different stories switching from chapter to chapter...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    Very good..

    I give this 3 stars, but not yet 5. It's a very teen drama story, I love that type of book but the sequel 'Next Summer' I thought, was MUCh better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Not At All What I Wanted

    I pictured this book somewhat different, so I went and bought this book. I read and read, untill i realized how fake this is. Yes, it had sex and etc, but it wasnt good. Some parts were ok, but hey, most were boring. The writing of this novel, was not what I pitcuted it to be. After reading this novel, I feel as if I, who is 14, could write a novel. Dissapointing, but okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Summer Boys

    This book was fun to read but it was too focused on relationships. Don't get me wrong, I liked it, but it would have been more interesting if Ms. Abbott had wrote about something more. My favorite character was Jamie because she was so realistic and so unsure of herself. I didn't like Ethan or Peter because they were both self-centered brats. I also like Beth, Ella, and George. I recommend this book to girls between the ages of 13-17.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    it was ok...

    I really enjoyed the book, but I just thought that the characters were in too much competition of each other. It's not as much like Gossip Girl in which the characters play off each other more. I found myself not caring about some chapters that related to Jamie, simply because the other girls were more interesting at the time... It'd make a better movie. And what's up with the puttputt symbolizing Beth overcoming her love life? That's just a little too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2