Customer Reviews for

Summer Days (Fool's Gold Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have read every book Susan Mallery has written and loved them

I have read every book Susan Mallery has written and loved them all but...am I the only person that cannot grasp everyone making light of the fact that grandpa stole $250,000 from May? OMG! I am having a huge problem with Heidi not getting it and thinks Rafe is taking &...
I have read every book Susan Mallery has written and loved them all but...am I the only person that cannot grasp everyone making light of the fact that grandpa stole $250,000 from May? OMG! I am having a huge problem with Heidi not getting it and thinks Rafe is taking "her" ranch away. I love a good love story but I'm not sure I can finish this one. Heidi, a goat girl with braids, lives w/her grandfather. And is anyone as dense as May ~ she's only in her 50s.

posted by SlswSW on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I have been a fan of Susan Mallery's for a while now and while t

    I have been a fan of Susan Mallery's for a while now and while the Fool's Gold series is more light hearted than her stand alone books the entire series is a worthy read. I love the town of Fool's Gold and the relationships she has established between the towns residents, I for one would love to live in that type of community. If your looking for an entertaining, easy read type of book that gets your heart involved then be sure to read Summer Days. If you haven't read this series, what are you waiting for?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Fun

    Fun book! We had wild cows and goats. What fun. Falling in love. Two couples, a senior couple and
    a young couple. Well written, lots of laughs. Great addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by Stacey
    Review Copy Provided by Netgalley

    It is good to be back in Fool’s Gold! Susan Mallery takes us back to her wonderful fictional town with some new faces and many familiar ones. We met goat farmer Heidi Simpson in the previous series and she now has the starring role in Summer Days.

    Like the Heidi from children’s classic, Heidi Simpson has grown up with her grandfather. Mallery’s Heidi comes complete with the braids but also with the quirky career choice of being a goat farmer and cheese maker. She’s not your typical romantic heroine but her vulnerable yet independent personality make you want to see her succeed in whatever she wants.

    Unfortunately, Heidi’s grandfather is a little eccentric. He’s a former carny (yes, of the traveling carnivals) and is a real love em’ and leave em’ type of guy who also dabbles in swindling people. This time, he’s swindled a widow out of a quarter of a million dollars and the farm she thought she was purchasing and now her son is in Fool’s Gold to press charges.

    Rafe Stryker has a history of his own with Fool’s Gold and would seemingly rather be anyplace else but there. His devotion to his mother brings him and keeps him in town where the four of them have to figure out how to amicably work out who is going to get the farm and how the money is going to be paid back.

    Two more opposite character’s, I couldn’t imagine. Heidi is a farm girl and Rafe is a slick business man. With her running around in her braids and milking goats, it’s hard to imagine a city man like Rafe being attracted. As the story develops, however, Susan Mallery gives us a glimpse in to Rafe’s humble beginnings and it soon becomes very easy to see why these two characters can work.

    As with all of Susan’s books, this was a great read from start to finish. We got to catch up on some of the inhabitants of Fool’s Gold from previous books while getting a glimpse of what is to come in the series all the while getting to know Rafe and Heidi.

    If I had one complaint about the book it would be that I would have loved to see more of the actual relationship between Rafe and Heidi. We are privy to their thoughts when they are alone but once they become involved (and it took a while for that to happen), they had immediate obstacles to overcome that got in the way of a real relationship growing.

    Being that Fool’s Gold is the land of happy endings, Summer Days certainly gives you one. It’s nice to read a book where the character’s are real people with real issues and I lift a glass to Susan for giving her readers yet another enjoyable read while keeping us in a place that we continually wish was real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Susan once again has captured my undivided attention with this a

    Susan once again has captured my undivided attention with this addition to her Fool's Gold series! I love the little town she has created, makes me wish it were real and I could visit! I love when authors create on-going books whether it be through a family or town. I especially like when two strangers from different worlds meet and find that hidden love! Great job!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great

    Must read this series each book is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heidi's grandfather has really done it this time! Wow! How is He

    Heidi's grandfather has really done it this time! Wow! How is Heidi ever going to fix this?

    Heidi's grandfather has sold her ranch - except he doesn't own it - to an unsuspecting widow. Sure, it was for a good reason but it was a scam nonetheless. Now, the widow's powerful arrogant son is here demanding retribution. He wants the money or the ranch. Except, Heidi doesn't have the money and she won't give up the first home she's ever had.

    The judge thinks they should compromise.

    Compromise... sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    4 STARS Okay I am team Rafe. I have problems with some of the p

    4 STARS
    Okay I am team Rafe. I have problems with some of the people being mad at Rafe in the book and blaming him for everything that goes wrong. Especially his family , after all he has done for them. Okay I know its a book but it mak es me mad.
    Rafe comes back to Fools gold because his mother May called and told him that the ranch she bought for 250,000. was sold to her by someone who did not own the ranch.
    Heidi Simpson owns the ranch and raising goats, selling milk,cheese and fertalizer. The ranch is worn down she does not have much money. Her grandfather Glen raised her in a carnival and now lives with her.
    His friend was dying of cancer and had no insurance and he wanted to help him. So he planned the fraud to pretend to sell Heidi's ranch.
    Glen and a lot of people don't see the problem with that.
    Rafe's mother worked as a housekeeper on the ranch for peanuts and the promise of inherting the ranch. They were so poor that Rafe went without food sometimes so his younger brothers and sisters could eat. He tried to take care of the family since he was 8. Rafe called the cops because his mother was being cheated out of the same ranch twice and now he could do somthing about it.
    The judge order them to share the ranch till she could decide after some research. Heidi and May were willing to try and find a solution.
    Rafe had ideas about the ranch that he thought he was buying with his mother. He was fixing up the place as he was asked to. Helped take care of Heidi animals when she was sick. Paid for all the repairs.
    People were not happy with him when the others were the cheaters, lies and stealing.
    Okay I got involved in the story and had strong reactions to the book. I want to read more about the town of Fools Gold. Thier were a few love scenes in the book.
    05/29/2012 PUB Harlequin HarlequinHQN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A shaky premise, but still entertaining...

    My Review:

    Another good Fool's Gold novel, although I have to admit I find the whole premise of this novel a little shaky. Heidi moved to Fool's Gold a year ago to raise goats on a 1000 acre ranch. Her grandfather was trying to help a friend get cancer treatments so he "sold" Heidi's ranch to Rafe's mom, May, for $250,000. The problem...the ranch isn't his to sell and Heidi doesn't want to give it up. She also doesn't want her grandfather to go to jail. Rafe is furious on behalf of his mother, but when they go to court over it, the judge decides to give them several months to see if they can come to an agreement. They quickly all end up living together and working to co-exist on this large farm with it's six bedroom house.

    Like I said, the whole basis of the story is pretty far-fetched, but that was really the only issue I had with this book. Otherwise, it was really fun and engaging. I loved Heidi and Rafe and how he settled into the farm, although he had no intention of living there at all. May, Rafe's mom, kept me giggling every time another animal showed up. I loved this woman and her zest for life and how she's embracing her new life back in Fool's Gold. Rafe has always been serious about one thing...winning and coming out on top. When he's facing this battle with Heidi, it's hard for him to change his thought process. Heidi's just doing everything she can to protect her home (the only one she's ever had) and her grandfather (the only family that she has.) Everyone agrees that he screwed up and they are all, except Rafe, trying to work towards a amenable solution. It makes for an interesting novel.

    There were lots of little quirks about this story and small town that kept the book fun and engaging. The three girls and their times together commiserating their lack of love lives were fabulous... Annabelle, Charlie, and Heidi. I also really loved Rafe's friend and partner, Dante...really hoping to see more of him in future books. He was delicious with a great sense of humor. And of course, in this series, the town is almost it's own character...so fun and full of charm. Lots of fun things moving there with this small town and it's many festivals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    I was really looking forward to the next trilogy in Fools Gold a

    I was really looking forward to the next trilogy in Fools Gold and wasn't disappointed. The opening of the book to put Heidi and Rafe in contact with one another was a little far fetched kept me from rating this a 5 star. I love Susan Mallery's books and her characters always fit and make you want to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Have!!!!

    I can't say enough about how much I LOVE anything written by Susan Mallery. She's back in Fool's Gold with newest book Summer Days, and we are so happy to be back. Fool's Gold is the type of town that you wish was real so you could live there and raise your family. Summer Days is about Heidi Simpson and Rafe Stryker. You meet Heidi in past books so you get to know her back story. Rafe is a new character to Fool's Gold. I loved reading about how poor Heidi fights for home and Rafe tries, but not that hard, to take it away. This is a must read for all those who love Susan Mallery and follow her. If your looking for a wonderful story this is it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2