Customer Reviews for

Summer Days (Fool's Gold Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I bought the whole 12 book Fool's Gold series. And I would have

I bought the whole 12 book Fool's Gold series. And I would have given the first 5 about a strong 4 stars. I am on #7 Summer Days. I was enjoying the books as I went but they were starting to get very predictable. Each book focuses on 1 woman from the town and 1 man ...
I bought the whole 12 book Fool's Gold series. And I would have given the first 5 about a strong 4 stars. I am on #7 Summer Days. I was enjoying the books as I went but they were starting to get very predictable. Each book focuses on 1 woman from the town and 1 man who may come from anywhere (only 1 guy so far was a long time resident of Fool's Gold). And by book 5 they are all starting to sound the same. Woman meets guy. Guy is a normaly a douche and doesn't believe in love, relationships, the whole mooshy mooshy gaga hoopla 95% of the woman are all about. The last 10 pages of each book are.....woman confesses love, man runs, man realizes he is a douche, man rushes back, woman and man live happily ever after. So if your all about the stories not really being that much different from the last, just some names, personal issues and individual background stories then you'll like these. Because by now I am getting a little bored with the stories I am giving this one a 2 for the 2nd half of the series. Unless some murders are committed, some ghosts start showing up or curses from the past start showing their ugly little heads then it is going to be tough finish the last 6 books

posted by PersimmonS on January 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I love Susan Mallery & Fool's Gold!! Rafe & Heidi has

    I love Susan Mallery & Fool's Gold!! Rafe & Heidi has a great chemistry together even though they are both stubborn. I feel so bad for Heidi, who finally has a home of her own. Rafe swore he would never go back to Fool's Gold, but he did it for his mother. I love May. She was something else! If you are looking for a good romance book, then this is it! You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Who can resist a strong alpha cowboy that tries to hide a nurtu

    Who can resist a strong alpha cowboy that tries to hide a nurturing heart and a woman that will fight for who and what she loves. Susan Mallery weaves a tale of romance between two people with opposite dreams that must learn to take a chance on love. Located in the small town of Fool's Gold, CA where everyone knows your business but loves you anyway, Susan has succeeded in creating a place where you want to keep visiting. SUMMER DAYS is a refreshing adventure that keeps you turning the page. Can't wait for the next two books coming out this summer: SUMMER NIGHTS and ALL SUMMER LONG.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Seriously, can you imagine a better place than Fool's Gold? And

    Seriously, can you imagine a better place than Fool's Gold? And Rafe Stryker is right up there with the other amazing guys who have settled there! I feel the need to relocate there and maybe Susan can create cowboy for me too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended you must check out this book!!

    Summer days by Susan Mallery is a great book I could not put it down. Cant wait for the next one is the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Great read for a Summer Day!

    Another home run for Mallery! Fool's Gold is the land of happy endings and we are lucky enough to get to read another one with Summer Days.

    Rafe Stryker, the first of the Stryker brothers featured in Fool's Gold, is a perfect hero. He's tough, rough under his polished exterior, and throughout the book you see his softer side coming through. The book begins with Rafe heading to his mother's rescue over a dispute regarding the home of a new Fool's Gold resident, Heidi. Heidi owns a goat farm. Really, a goat farm! Their love story begins with perfect sexual tension running beneath dislike. As each character sees more depth in each other they grow softer and the passion ignites.

    Speaking of passion...it's well written and HOT! We all know the real reason we read Romance Novels and Mallery does it with class that leaves you satisfied.

    If you are looking for a nice summer read that won't tax your brain and gives you a happy ending, this is the perfect book. You won't regret your purchase!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Yolo

    This book is good. &snakes &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Cry

    Waz this fo'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Love each one of the Fool's Gold Books

    Love these books. They make you feel good and are easy reading. Perfect stuff after a long day at the office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    very good 5 STAR

    I LIKED IT VERY MUCH. A LITTLE SLOW BUT FINE. SHE WRITE VERY WELL. AND TELLS A GOOD STORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When he finally drove onto the ranch it was to find yet another

    When he finally drove onto the ranch it was to find yet another truck in by the barn. Only this one wasn’t from any media outlet and what was slowly backing out of the trailer had him as open-mouthed as any cartoon character.

    “What the—“

    “You see it, too, then,” Heidi said coming up beside him. “I thought maybe I had brain damage from the flu.”

    This is only one passage in Summer Days that made me laugh out loud. Rafe and Heidi’s story is such a great read. The story is centered around Castle Ranch in Fool’s Gold, California. Heidi Simpson meets Rafe Stryker when he comes to find out why his mother, May got swindled out of the ranch she thought she was purchasing from Glen, Heidi’s grandfather. What follows is a story that takes you from California, to San Francisco, Los Angeles, and back again with goats, horses, sheep and more thrown in for fun.

    Susan Mallery has done it again with the continuation of her Fool’s Gold series. She does a great job of bringing the town and all of its characters to life. It makes you want to go visit for one of its many festivals. I definitely recommend Summer Days and any of the previous books in the Fool’s Gold series to anyone who hasn’t tried Susan’s books before. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Awesome

    I love all her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Cats

    Name- Nighthisper.
    Rank- Deptuy
    Mate- N/A yet.
    Kits- N/A yet.
    Trats- loyal, fierce, daring, and loving.
    Littermate(s)- Pinewhisker.
    Description- a fluffy pure black she-cat with holly green eyes.


    Name-Pinewhisker.
    Rank- Warrior.
    Mate- N/A yet
    Kits- N/A yet.
    Trats- loyal, loving and adventrous.
    Description- a dark red colored tom with blue eyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Daystar

    Info page. Please post your info like this-
    Name: Daykit/paw/leaf/star
    Rank:Leader
    Mate: None yet
    Kits: None yet
    Description: Light gray ragdoll with white flecks on her muzzle and hind legs.
    Eye color: Blue
    Three Traits: Loving, loyal, daring.

    Please do not post in paragraphs and update your info regularly. Thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    i have to be honest and say that this is the first fool's gold n

    i have to be honest and say that this is the first fool's gold novel i have read. however it will not be the last. romance and conflict in the same story? great! heidi's grandfather sells a ranch he does not own to rafe's mother. rafe is totally angry about this and wants either the ranch or the money. it goes to court. neither heidi or her grandfather have the money, so the judge stays her decision and the four share life at the ranch. life on the ranch gets very interesting....well i gotta go...summer nights, (the next in the series) is waiting on my desk for me to read. if you are not a fol's gold fan, you will be after reading this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great Summer Reads From Susan Mallery

    I thought the background information and plot to get this story going was very original and unique. To be able to include all of these characters and their role in this story was so Susan Mallery. My husband and I discussed how authors think of all these different settings and plots plus the characters for every book they publish. I guess that is why they are authors and not me. Susan Mallery is at the top for romance books. This story is diffferent but very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Another winner

    Susan Mallery is one of my favorites and she hasn't disappointed with this latest novel. I look forward to the Fool's Gold installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I really loved this story.... Rafe Stryker is brave and sweet wi

    I really loved this story.... Rafe Stryker is brave and sweet with the rough exterior of someone who had a hard childhood. He loves his mother above all else and will protect her even from herself. Rafe feels that love is a lost cause but still wants to have kids. He has spent his life building everything he has and wont let anyone take it away.
    Heidi Simpson is the sweet girl next door that has never been the girl next door. She has moved around with the carnival most of her life. When she found that Castle Ranch was for sale she jumped on it. She would finally have a home and roots. Something she has always dreamed of.
    Heidi's grandpa finds out that a friend is in need and decides to help. He sells Castle Ranch to May Stryker. The only problem is he doesn't own it to sell. Rafe comes to town to help his mom get the ranch. He dreads this place and the memories that it dredges up but will do anything for his mothers happiness. They go to court and are delayed and told the judge needs time to decide. They all live together as one big happy family at Castle Ranch. Many ups and downs happen but in the end happiness wins out.
    I LOVE Susan Mallery and want to say thanks for another great book!!
    CAN'T WAIT FOR SUMMER NIGHTS JUNE 26th!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Summer Days is a perfect start to Susan's latest Fool's Gold tri

    Summer Days is a perfect start to Susan's latest Fool's Gold trilogy. I must say that May might have slightly stolen the shine in this book, and I can't tell you why until AFTER you read the book. I love Heidi and Rafe's story. Heidi, searching for a home base finally found one in Fool's Gold (which with Susan's writing is very easy to fall in love with, and make you wish you lived in the small close knit town), and her grandfather, Glen, has threatened that. Because Glen wanted to help a friend, he sold Heidi's farm/ranch for $250,000 to Rafe's mother, May. Thus enters Rafe, the charming albeit Momma's boy, who has always been the "responsible" one, coming in to make sure his mother gets the farm/ranch. Rafe is used to being a winner and always right. Susan has a way of making Heidi and Rafe realize that there is more to this charming story than just "winning," and that (in true Fool's Gold fashion) sometimes falling in love can happen when you meet a strange girl trying to get her goat out of the middle of the road.

    Above all else, I think Mallery has hit yet another home run with her charming tales of Fool's Gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4