Customer Reviews for

The Summer Garden

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I don't agree with the naysayers

Now this book is very different from the first two books, but still very good. Instead of seeing your sweet love story you saw in the first book, the relationship is now more realistic, dealing real life problems. Their relationship has their problems (what relationship...
Now this book is very different from the first two books, but still very good. Instead of seeing your sweet love story you saw in the first book, the relationship is now more realistic, dealing real life problems. Their relationship has their problems (what relationship doesn't), but you still see that they love to each other. I don't agree with the other reviews on this story, that not only ruin the book before you read it, but claims disappointment that their love is not an 'oh so perfect love'. However, I think the author tries to make their relationship more like the relationships you do see around your own world. She has them overcome problems and shows their agony and disappointments in each other and how they deal with it. Now my only problem with this book is towards the end... too many things going on with the children and their children's children that it gets a bit chaotic, but by the time you make it to the last chapter, it ends quite simply, it ends how we all imagine true love, 'oh so perfect love', to end... to grow old with each other...

posted by 3070891 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Stay away!

This book has material which is not relevant to the overall story and makes for dull reading. The use of the f word is used to the point that it takes away from the story. There are too many low points and not many exciting highs in this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I don't agree with the naysayers

    Now this book is very different from the first two books, but still very good. Instead of seeing your sweet love story you saw in the first book, the relationship is now more realistic, dealing real life problems. Their relationship has their problems (what relationship doesn't), but you still see that they love to each other. I don't agree with the other reviews on this story, that not only ruin the book before you read it, but claims disappointment that their love is not an 'oh so perfect love'. However, I think the author tries to make their relationship more like the relationships you do see around your own world. She has them overcome problems and shows their agony and disappointments in each other and how they deal with it. Now my only problem with this book is towards the end... too many things going on with the children and their children's children that it gets a bit chaotic, but by the time you make it to the last chapter, it ends quite simply, it ends how we all imagine true love, 'oh so perfect love', to end... to grow old with each other...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Third time is not a charm

    Absolutely loved the first two books of this series. Unfortunately I read the third one. I would have been very happy leaving my imagination to fill in the happy ending from the second's ending. The writing style is fairly consistent to her first two books... Too much so, its as if the characters don't age. By the end of this book, Tatiana and Alexander are in the 70s and still so in love, and physically attracted to each other - not something I really want to picture. This books focuses much more so on Alexanders distress dealing with PTSD and then later on his self-imagined martial problems. You end up being very angry with his character... Their relationship is a train wreck, not what you would have imagined after what they'd been through in Russia. And the absolute worst part, is there is so much fluff in this book! The entire flash back chapters to Tatiana's summer in Luga are pointless, annoying, never-ending, and drawn out extensively. Then the end of the book takes forever describing a holiday dinner and every single detail to every single one of their 30 grandchildren. I wish this book concentrated more on telling the story of how to deal with a husband with PTSD, rather its a taking you in circles to no point or end. Again, LOVED the first and second. Might as well read this book if you're a fan, but be ready for disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    First off, I put off buying this book for two weeks because of s

    First off, I put off buying this book for two weeks because of some of the poor reviews on this site. I needed a book to read for a trip and decided to give it a try anyway. I'm so glad that I did. I VERY MUCH enjoyed this book, probably more so than the second one. For those who wanted everything tied up nice and neat after the second book, this one probably isn't for you. Yep, there were things in it I didn't care for but that's how life goes. Again demonstrated in this book is the strength and resilience of the characters and their love for each other. I thought it was a very practical and perfect ending to a timeless love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great

    This was a great conclusion to the series of "The Bronze Horseman" & Tatiana and Alexander"

    Best serial of books I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    The grand finale to a story of epic proportions

    Having read the first two Alexander and Tatiana novels, I was interested to see how this historic love story would play out. The author did not disappoint. A good read, as were the two precursors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great read!

    I have read all three, and this is a great series. How ever i think my least favorit was the summer garden. But its a have to to find out what happens . It's a must read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Glad i read it!

    After having read the first two books, i could not wait to read this one too. I loved the characters in these stories, in fact i would say, The Bronze Horseman is one of my favorite books. This book however was alot harder to get into than the others. I actually started twice and read other books in between and picked up where i had left off both times. The first hundred pages or so did not have much to offer. They showed an angry, moody Alexander and way too much sex! But having loved the characters so much i made myself keep reading and i am glad i did. I really enjoyed it. I even cried at the end because i loved and missed the characters so much. This book brought closure to the series and was definitely worth reading. (I would recommend reading the books in order).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1