Customer Reviews for

The Summer He Came Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Read on January 24, 2013 BOOK SYNOPSIS Sometimes th


Read on January 24, 2013




BOOK SYNOPSIS








Sometimes the best place to find love is right back where you started…




Falling asleep in a different bed every night has made it easy for Cain Black to forget his past. It’s been ten years since he packed his guita...

Read on January 24, 2013




BOOK SYNOPSIS








Sometimes the best place to find love is right back where you started…




Falling asleep in a different bed every night has made it easy for Cain Black to forget his past. It’s been ten years since he packed his guitar and left Crystal Lake to chase his dreams. Now tragedy has forced him home again. And though Cain relishes the freedom of the road, one stolen moment with Maggie O’Rourke makes him wonder if he’s missing out on something bigger than fame.




For Maggie—single mother and newly settled in Crystal Lake—love is a luxury she just can’t afford. Sure, she appreciates the tall, dark and handsome looks of prodigal son Cain Black. But how long can she expect the notorious hellion to stay?




The last thing either of them wants is something complicated. But sometimes love has its own plans.




My Thoughts








Complex fully rounded characters make this a fast easy read and the complications posed by both Cain and Maggie's pasts add spice, drama and realism to their story.




A young man who leaves home to make his way in the rock and roll world is back ten years later to bury a childhood friend who has died serving his country. The tragedy is the reason why Cain comes home but the reason for staying is embodied in a woman and her son that fill a hole that he did not know was even in his heart.




I feel like every time I read a contemporary romance there is a little piece of the story that resonates deep in my heart and makes me feel like the characters portrayed could be people that are friends, loved ones, neighbors or family and this helps me to connect with their story that much more strongly. In this particular book that is very true. The fact that Cain and his friends Mac and Jake were once like brothers, along with Jake's deceased twin Jesse, makes the story even stronger as these characters once again reign supreme as the reunited force they were as boys in the town of Crystal Lake Michigan.




Friends but the bond goes deeper than that and when Cain finds himself falling deeper and deeper for Maggie and her son Michael the other two men do everything within their power to make sure she and Michael are part of their group.




There is lots of humor sprinkled throughout the drama and intensity in this story, just finding out more about Cain Jake and Mac lends the reader an eagerness to know more as these three men are each in their own way fascinating characters whose charm comes through loud and clear off the written page. While it is true that this is Cain's story the book also holds so much more as it allows us to meet other townspeople like his mother and some of the people who the boys went to school with or worked for.




What I really enjoyed was the dynamics between Cain, Maggie and her son Michael.The three made a family unit that filled the need in each their hearts and gave the reader a warm feeling as the characters worked their way towards overcoming a multitude of obstacles in the path of lasting happiness with each other! 
I love happy endings, rock and roll and small towns where friends are family!




This is my first read by author Juliana Stone , it will not be my last!




[EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

posted by JackieBCentralTexasJB on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book

Hey, you plot spoiling reviewers, cut it out!

posted by 10428999 on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Maggie is trying to move on with her life by starting from the g

    Maggie is trying to move on with her life by starting from the ground up in Crystal Lake with her son Michael. While working an event she caught the eye of Cain Black, one of the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake. Cain left his hometown to pursue his dream of being a rock star but has returned home for the funeral of one of his closest friends and to gain some peace of mind after experiencing some problems in his personal and professional life. Neither of them is looking for a relationship or to fall in love, but when they met their attraction is undeniable. Life a moth to a fire they are drawn to each other until they succumb to the overwhelming desire each ignite in each other.

    Although I have read many books with the same concept of girl runs away, starts a relationship and her past catches up with her, I feel that the author, Juliana Stone, did a great job of taking it a step further so that this story didn't feel like something I have read countless times before. There were some real struggles and emotions thrown in the mix that made Maggie and Cain's story different. Add to that a great cast of secondary characters, a bad boy rocker and an adorable little boy and I was a goner.

    I appreciated the way the author made the characters face their attraction to each other, both clear on their expectations and respecting each others situations. I liked how supportive Cain was of Maggie's situation even when he felt that she was keeping things from him. I especially admired his integrity and honesty when, even though he knew what the true situation was, he gave Maggie the space she needed and the time to sort through her feelings.

    I have to say that although Maggie and Cain's chemistry was off the charts HOT, it was the way that they took the time to get to know each other and the way they related to the other characters - showing their caring sides - that truly endeared them to me and made me cheer them on to get together.

    The Summer He Came Home is the first book in the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake series and the author did a great job of introducing the reader to the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake. I got to know some great characters and their stories interest me enough that I know with certainty that I will be reading the next books in the series.

    All in all, an enjoyable, sexy read.

    I received this title from Sourcebooks through NetGalley in exchange of my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Ok

    Ok read another story where everyone is perfect and money buys happiness

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Worth a read

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    The Summer He Came Home is the first book I've read from Juliana Stone. The book is full of characters you will fall in love with. You gotta love a story about close friends. That's what you get with this book. The Summer He Came Home is the first book in the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake series. The book centers on Cain Black, who now is the frontman for the band BlackRock. (To make Cain even more irresistible, he was inspired by Jon Bon Jovi and Nikki Sixx.) Awww. Sorry.. Back on point. Ten years ago, Cain was known as one of the "Bad Boys of Crystal Lake, Michigan". The other guys making up the group included: Luke Jansen, now a paramedic; Mackenzie "Mac" Draper, now an architect; and twins Jacob "Jake" Edwards and Jesse Edwards, both of whom went on to serve in the Marines.

    After being gone for ten years, Cain and the guys return to Crystal Lake for the funeral of Jesse, who was killed in Afghanistan. Upon returning, the first people Cain encounters are seven-year-old Michael and his mother Maggie O'Rourke. Maggie is a single mother who has recently moved into town.

    For Cain, the attraction for Maggie was pretty close to immediate. The same can't be said for Maggie. She has a past that she's trying to hide from. One that she is doing her best to protect. She needs to stay under the radar and not draw attention to herself. Of course, for a guy like Cain, this isn't going to work. You gotta love a guy who does whatever he can to make you fall for him, like taking care of your child so you can get some rest. And doing whatever is necessary to protect you and your son.

    There are so many things to like about this book, I don't know where to start. You have friendship and love; people who have each other's backs without any questions being asked. I will however, say that I wasn't prepared for Maggie's secret. And when that secret came to a head, it had me wanting to skip over a couple of pages. But I managed to get through, even though I forgot to breathe. I'm MORE than glad I survived. I loved the swoon worthy ending....

    Source: Publisher via NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Juliana Stones¿ series, the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake, starts off

    Juliana Stones’ series, the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake, starts off with a winner. The Summer He Came Home tells the story of Cain Black, a rock star who has come home to attend the funeral of his childhood friend. His marriage has broken up and he has just found out his band mate was screwing his ex-wife. After an on-stage fight, Cain finds out about his friend’s death and heads home. Suffice it to say, he is not at his charming best when he arrives. Then he sees Maggie O’Rourke and his life takes a turn for the better.
    Maggie O’Rourke is a newcomer in town who works as a cleaning lady. She supports herself and her young son and pretty much keeps to herself. When she meets Cain, she is attracted but wary. She is keeping a secret about her child’s father and has no interest in complicating her life.
    Although the story is a romantic classic, bad boy meets downtrodden woman with a secret, it feels fresh in this book. There are several plots going on at once, some with Cain, some with Maggie, and others with the secondary characters. The romantic tension between the two main characters is pretty hot and Maggie fights it pretty hard. I liked that she put her son first before finally letting herself get involved. I also liked the fact that Cain kept his grouchy, “I’m an island” persona for most of the book. It just made the ending so much more satisfying!
    There were plenty of hints of the stories that will work into the later books and that just made the anticipation that much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    The Summer He Came Home  For those looking for irresistible bad

    The Summer He Came Home 

    For those looking for irresistible bad boys and the sizzling passion that moves them, Stone is guaranteed to deliver.  Full review available at BookTribdotcom or RomanticReadsandSuch on wordpress

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    This is my first book from author, Juliana Stone and now I must

    This is my first book from author, Juliana Stone and now I must check out her other books she has written because if her writing style is like this book...then I know I will definitely have to start auto-buying her.  =)  I had a hard time putting down "The Summer he came Home".

    Cain Black is finally back in Crystal Lake after so many years being away.  He's not making a trip for good terms.  His best buddy, Jesse was killed in action and he's attending his friend's funeral.  Cain and his three friends, Jesse, Jake and Mac became the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake...all because of that one incident while pulling a high school prank.
    Now they are without one of their bad boys.  Cain thought once he attended the funeral, he would be back on the road with his rock band and making more of his music.
    He never thought he would fall for Maggie O'Rourke, who happens to be not his usual type of girl, but for some reason he is entranced by her.
    Maggie O'Rourke is not looking to hook up with anyone.  She is just wanting to do her job and take care of her son, while trying to stay hidden from her past.  Unfortunately, the bad boy, Cain will not leave her alone and he will do anything to win her over.  What he does not realize is that Maggie has her own secrets she's trying to hide and he is trying to make her realize she can trust him.

    I could go on and on...but I will not spoil the best parts and I definitely do not want to do that.
    I loved both characters in the story, Cain and Maggie because both had their own dilemmas they were working through.  
    Both Cain and Maggie are complete opposite of each other and that made me love them even more.  Cain being the bad boy rocker and Maggie being the sweet and innocent mom, who will do anything for her son.
    Juliana knows how to make you go through the tissues a lot in this book.  You will not only cry for Maggie and what she goes through, but you will actually be come close to the secondary characters in the story too.  I want to know more about what is going on with Raine and Jake.  There is something else going on then what is really going on....I just know it.
    Can I also say...how much I adore Maggie's son, Michael.  He is such a sweetie.  He puts his Mom in her place several times and he may be young, but he knows what is going on.  =)
    I love every bit of this story and look forward to the next book.
    I give this book 4.5 full moons and highly recommend it to contemporary romance readers out there.
    You will fall head over heels for Cain and his charming, sexy ways.  (Oh...some of the sexy things he said to Maggie...made me so jealous and also the things he did for her)  =)
    I look forward to the next book in the series.  Here's hoping it's Jake's story.  =)

    I received a complimentary copy of the book from Netgalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ”The Summer He Came Home is the first I’ve read of Ms. Stone’s work and it will not be my last. She delivered a small town themed romance with a hint of rock star and a suspenseful storyline that had me intrigued from the cover page until end.” ~Under the Covers

    The Summer He Came Home is the first I’ve read of Ms. Stone’s work and it will not be my last. She delivered a small town themed romance with a hint of rock star and a suspenseful storyline that had me intrigued from the cover page until end.

    One of the Bad Boys of Crystal Lake had passed away, and Cain Black is back to attend his funeral. It will be a sad reunion but it’s an even he will not miss. It’s been ten years since he left and coming back to his old town will bring back all kinds of memories. To his surprise, this trip will make him realize what he has been missing, and it will come in a form of a single mom and her son.

    Maggie and her son Michael had just moved to Crystal Lake. Everyone in town knows that she has been working as a household maid, making an honest living and trying to raise her son in peace. But what they don’t know is that she has a dark past that will follow her to this small town.

    I enjoyed the romance between Cain and Maggie. I love that Maggie had her priorities straight, and romantic relations was the least of her concerns. Knowing she’s not interested made her more intriguing to Cain since he is used to having women at his beck and call. Of course, Cain, the ever sexy and romantic tried even harder to woo her. From setting up dates, babysitting her son so she can rest, and even standing up for her. I love the alpha in him. Watching this tattooed ex football player now a successful rock star do all the courting was such a treat. And let me tell you, Cain brought a lot of sexy to this book. An unexpected scene had me clutching my ereader as it was the lifeline of the story. I expected this to be a typical small town story line which is true enough but I did not expect the suspense element to be strong. Don’t’ get me wrong, it was a pleasant surprise and I thought it brought a good balance to the rest of the story.

    Michael, Maggie’s son was adorable and he just broke my heart. Poor boy had to experience a whole lot for his age but finding a HEA for him was a relief. Cain’s mom was a biggie. She was his foundation and I think she did a great job trying to keep him grounded. There were issues as any family would but overall I thought she contributed a great deal to Cain’s character. As far as the rest of the Bad Boys, I’m not quite sure how I feel about them yet. They definitely have stories to tell and I’m guessing both dark and disturbed. I can’t wait for the next book to see what they are about. I’m hoping it will be as enjoyable as this one.

    *ARC provided by Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1