Customer Reviews for

The Summer I Dared

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    OUTSTANDING!

    Although it wasn't hard to figure where the book would end up, the writing was so wonderful that it took you on a wonderful ride. I hated to see it end, so would read a few pages, put it down for awhile so it would last longer, and then look forward to my next few pages. Love all her books, with exception of Flirting with Pete.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    GREAT READ! One of the first books by Barbara Delinsky that I

    GREAT READ!


    One of the first books by Barbara Delinsky that I read, and have been a fan ever since. Not only does she bring the characters to life, but the setting is so well described, that I am taken away to the island, and the lifes of all involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I would recommend this book. Wonderful!

    When I started reading this book I could not hardly put it down. I finished it in three days. I have read all her books and they are all good books. SHe is a wonderful author. Everyone needs to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I read a lot of romance books and this was one of the best books I have read. I will keep this in my library for a long time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    Absolutely Wonderful

    This is the first book of Barbara's I have read and I couldn't put it down. I loved how her writing could put you right in the middle of everything going on. I can not wait to read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    I Loved This Book!

    I have yet to read a book by Barbara Delinsky that I didn't like. Normally I like mysteries, but her books are my favorite variation from the norm. Any of her books would make great movies. When I finished this one, I felt like I had lived in and experienced life in a lobstering community in a part of the country I'll probably never get to see or experience. I travel vicariously through her writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Excellent

    One of the best books I have read. I didn't want it to end. I loved Julia. Would recommend the book to everyone,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    predictable

    I guess I have read too many of her books, because I could see the whole plot after just a few pages. And really, after a traumatic boat accident, would fellow survivors size eachother up like Julia and Noah??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    Great setting and great story!

    I love Barbara Delinsky and this is my new favorite book by her. The setting is as beautiful and calming as the story itself. Full of new beginnings, compassion, and intrigue. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    WOULD MAKE A PERFECT LIFETIME MOVIE!

    I really enjoyed every page of this book. I loved the main characters. The book was not a sappy romance novel, but a bit of mystery and a bit of romance, relationships and individual growth. As I was reading this book, I couldn't help but think what a wonderful movie it would make. I am looking forward to reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Another great novel by Delinsky

    I enjoyed this novel as it makes you experience all types of emotions. You can actually feel the frustration that Julia is having and then can feel the fear of Kimmie as told by Delinsky. As many families today have similiar tests of growing pains and changing times it is all very well described and felt by you the reader. It was a good read and left me waiting for her next novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Life in a lobstering village

    This is a story that is completely believable. From the moment I met Julia Bechtel and Noah Prine, I could actually visualize them as real people. Although this is a fictitious story, it made me believe I could see newspaper headlines of the boating accident. Julia comes to Big Sawyer Island for a two week vacation but before the ferry can deliver her to the island and her aunt, there is a boating accident which kills all aboard except Julia and Noah. Big Sawyer is a lobstering island and all the residents pull together to rescue the victims. Julia reviews her life. Her husband, Monty, her daughter, Molly and her aunt, Zoey and her parents, as well as Noah Prine are all people she thinks about. 20 years with Monty has been less than fulfilling and the accident causes Julia to re-evaluate what she wants out of life. She was spared when others weren¿t. The big question that bothers her as well as Noah is WHY they were spared. What are they to do now with their lives? Go on as before or made changes? And there is the question of what happened all those years ago between her mother and her aunt? Then, Molly shows up to comfort her mother but Julia knows there is something more than comfort on Molly¿s mind. Julia has to decide how she will go forward with her life. Being good with a camera, Julia begins taking pictures of life on Big Sawyer. The newspaper prints them and Julie finds this rewarding. But in the printing of these pictures comes another problem. What is happening on Big Sawyer? Why was Artie¿s boat even near the ferry to cause the accident in the first place? THE SUMMER I DARED tells about the changes in the lives of the islander¿s after such an accident and each word Ms. Delinksky writes is something I could see actually happening. There are twists and turns that happen in lives that have been affected by the accident and realistic every day problems that are just that, REAL. This is a well written story and one that I didn¿t want to stop listening to until every word had been spoken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Great human interest story

    The review written as the first critique is far better than anything I could write. This novel was recommended to me by a friend in New York who had read it and thought of Vinalhaven...an island off the coast of Rockland and a lobstering community. The research into the lobstering industry was quite good, but off the mark for any of the lobstermen I know. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and will recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2