Customer Reviews for

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Average Rating 4.5
( 1113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(811)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the t

Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the time

posted by marianne68 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

good summer read

This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story.
The only complaint I have is the...
This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story.
The only complaint I have is the confusion of time. The author didn't indicate very clearly when she was talking about the past and when she was talking about the present, but once I got the hang of it (around the middle of the book) it was easy to follow.
Just to spare you the same confusion, Belly is 15 in the present. When she talks about the past she was 13. And her friend Taylor came to stay with her, it was in the past when she was 13.
Enjoy!

posted by BookNerd28 on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good summer read

    This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story.
    The only complaint I have is the confusion of time. The author didn't indicate very clearly when she was talking about the past and when she was talking about the present, but once I got the hang of it (around the middle of the book) it was easy to follow.
    Just to spare you the same confusion, Belly is 15 in the present. When she talks about the past she was 13. And her friend Taylor came to stay with her, it was in the past when she was 13.
    Enjoy!

    81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the t

    Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the time

    36 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is amazing.

    I've read many books,I'm a book worm. But this book is my FAVORITE! I love all of it! I love how Belly isn't 'dumb' with her decisions like other books main girl. I love the connection she has with Jeremiah & even though they kinda have something,they are still best friends. & her relationship with Conrad is really emotional & crazy. I love love love love this book & I recommend it %100! I've read it sooooooo many times!

    35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The summer I turned pretty

    This is my all time FAVORITE book!!! I read it over and over and over! this book is really good for teen girls that love to read about love.Haha.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Angela S. for TeensReadToo.com

    Belly lives for the Summer. To her, the months in between summer are nothing but passing time until the next summer starts. Summer is a time that everything happens, and when Belly is happiest.

    Most summer's are the same . Driving down to the beach house with her mother and brother, Steven, swimming at night when she can't sleep, but finally, one summer, everything changes.

    When Belly gets to the beach house, the boys she's known forever - Jeremiah and Conrad, who've been her crushes and brother figures all at once - look at her differently. They don't just treat her like one of the guys anymore. Conrad smokes now, and he quit the football team, something that Belly never saw coming. His brother, Jeremiah, is now a jock.

    Belly wonders how everything has changed so quickly.

    But when things start to change, they eventually end up just as they should have been all along. THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY is a wonderfully written novel that you won't want to put down!

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light hearted read

    Belly, her brother Steven and her mother always go to Susannah's beach house every summer. Susannah has two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Susannah and Belly's mother, Laurel have been friends forever, and every summer they spend at this beach house, in Cousin's. Belly was always the one that was left out. The only girl out of the four kids, she was used to having to hang out with herself. But this summer is different. She's pretty.

    Belly has always been pretty, but for some reason this summer people actually see her beauty. Her brother Steven is going to be a senior, and later in the summer he leaves with his dad to go on a road trip to look at colleges. Conrad is going to be a freshman in college, and he has been acting strange all summer and Belly wants to know why. Jeremiah is still the same, Belly's true friend, they always stick together. There's a secret that Susannah is keeping from Belly, and she doesn't find out until it's too late. And she also enjoys a summer romance with a boy named Cam.

    Belly has to learn that as she gets older, and the summers creep past her, she has to grow up and be a mature, young woman. She battles boys, love, family issues, and her maturity.

    The book was a tad confusing at first because there are flashbacks to her previous summers at the beach house, yet I enjoyed this book very much. I am sorry if my review was a little confusing but I am writing this before I leave for my trip, so I am a little excited! Ha. I would recommend this book to every teenage girl who loves romance books with a little something else added to them.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    The perfect book

    This book took me away every moment I pick it up. I would drool over this amazing story.Once you begin to reconize the story and grow with belly you will bye the 2nd and3rd book before you have even finished the first!!!
    I would surley recomend this book to every one i know!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Summer series

    I cried when i finished the summer series because it is very relatable and everything the author says has something important to the plot not just filler sentences


    Unexplainable joy after reading

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Best book of life

    The characters were sooo real. I wish i had my own Fisher family for the summer:( if only they made a movie!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Horrible

    This book had so much potential but let me down so many times. First, the main character Belly was VERY annoying and got on my nerves throughout the entire book. I thought she acted very immature. The other characters were generally annoying at best all except for Susanna and she was hardly mentioned. The writing was amateur at best and all the flashbacks were highly confusing. Overall a terrible book and i would not recomend it to anyone.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love this book

    Cried reading all 3 books. Story of my life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    A MUST READ YOU WILL NOT REGRET!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! You will not be dissapointed with it.I just love the characters.You get so drawn into them that it came to the point that I felt like I was belly! :) Another thing that I liked about this book is how Jenny Han made a happy medium with the two brothers Jeremiah and Conrad.One's mysterious and dark,(Conrad)a little on the quiet side,doesn't let you know what he's thinking about but you're still drawn to him.Then you have Jeremiah,who is the complete opposite of conrad.He's always happy,always smiling,always having a good time.He can turn a quiet room into a laughing one :) So I'm glad Jenny Han kinda gives you a choice.That way if you don't like the dark mysterious conrad,you can always go for the happy uplifting jeremiah :) But I will forever be Team Conrad! haha :) So read this book,you will definitely not regret it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Terrifically Emotional Ending!

    This book was good all the way up to the last few chapters when you think you knew what was going to happen and nothing you expct happens! The ending was incredibly emotional I cried! This book keeps you wanting more all the way to the end (i read it in three straight hours).

    Although my only complaint about this book was that the synopsis given on the inside cover of the book I feel did not justly sum up how the relationship between Belly and the two Beck boys truly is.

    However, this truely was a fantastic piece of literature and could be enjoyed by women of all ages. Everyone could gain a little something from a book like this one! Can't wait to see what else the author has to offer!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is just like most girls .WE GET STUCK BETWEEN TWO GUYS!!!!!!!!awsome story and awesome/sad ending

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Anynomous

    Ive read the whole series, once you start you cant stop. This is on the top part of my favs list.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    LOVED IT!- Deff a Need 2 Read for Teens!

    Great book and it takes you on an emotional roller coaster saying what weve all beent rhough in a book!!! <3

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the perfect book to read during the Summer time. Filled

    This is the perfect book to read during the Summer time. Filled with romance, and the beach, this is truly one book of Summer Romance. I know I am a guy and sometimes the romance can be all to much for me, but this book was one I fell right into and couldn't stop until the end.

    Belly is a girl who is very unknowing of things and when heading to the beach, for what she thinks will just be like any other summer, she will see that she turned indeed &quot;pretty.&quot; I don't know which guy I wish I could root for, because I will be going for one brother and than the other one comes out of no where and surprises me. However, by the end, I know who I would hope Belly would choose and I stick with that answer.

    This book is filled with happiness but sadness follows close in the shadows. The Summer I Turned Pretty is a book people can relate to when they grew up and even now when they grow up they can still relate to as well. Filled with the Summer bursting out of its pages, this book is a must-read for every summer.

    I can't wait to pick up the next book in the series, and i yuo haven't stumbled across this book yet, swing by your book store and pick up a copy to read.

    I give this book 5 souls!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Happy

    Best book ever

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Gret Gret Great:))

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book from cover to cover. Great summer read
    :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57