Customer Reviews for

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Average Rating 4.5
( 1135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(827)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the t

Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the time

posted by marianne68 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

90 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

good summer read

This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story.
The only complaint I have is the...
This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story.
The only complaint I have is the confusion of time. The author didn't indicate very clearly when she was talking about the past and when she was talking about the present, but once I got the hang of it (around the middle of the book) it was easy to follow.
Just to spare you the same confusion, Belly is 15 in the present. When she talks about the past she was 13. And her friend Taylor came to stay with her, it was in the past when she was 13.
Enjoy!

posted by BookNerd28 on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Angela S. for TeensReadToo.com

    Belly lives for the Summer. To her, the months in between summer are nothing but passing time until the next summer starts. Summer is a time that everything happens, and when Belly is happiest.

    Most summer's are the same . Driving down to the beach house with her mother and brother, Steven, swimming at night when she can't sleep, but finally, one summer, everything changes.

    When Belly gets to the beach house, the boys she's known forever - Jeremiah and Conrad, who've been her crushes and brother figures all at once - look at her differently. They don't just treat her like one of the guys anymore. Conrad smokes now, and he quit the football team, something that Belly never saw coming. His brother, Jeremiah, is now a jock.

    Belly wonders how everything has changed so quickly.

    But when things start to change, they eventually end up just as they should have been all along. THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY is a wonderfully written novel that you won't want to put down!

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Amazing book highly recomended

    I highly recomend this book to the romantic soul. It is a pefect book for reading on the beach or if your not at the beach and wish to be. It seems to take you there. While most of the story doesnt happen in the sand, you can still hear the sounds of the beach through the imagry used by the writer.
    I believe this is more a book for girls to read, due to the more sentimental and emotion elements of the story. I think the way the author tells the story allows the reader to relate and have a personal understanding to what is happening

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Wonderful Book- Can't wait to read the whole trilogy

    I started this book at the beginning of the week, and I am almost done with 3/4 of the book. It is really good. There is some language every now and then, and some of the themes aren't the best at times (teen drinking...). But all that stuff you forget when you get thrown into the love story of Belly. Really great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing

    I really love this book it is so amazing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    The Summer I Turned Pretty is about a girl named Isabel "Be

    The Summer I Turned Pretty is about a girl named Isabel "Belly" who lives for the time of year when she
     goes to Cousins Beach with her mother and older brother for the summer. Her whole childhood was filled with
    a number of summers spent with the Susannah and Susannah's two boys, Conrad and Jeremiah. Conrad and
    Jeremiah have acted like her older brothers and even been her first crushes since she could remember. Now, at fifteen,
    Belly finds that her normal summer at Cousins Beach has changed, and her relationships with the Conrad and Jeremiah are
    extremely different.
    This is an unforgettable summer romance that every teenage girl would dream about. I would recommend that every teenage
     girl reads this book. It was well written and came with many life lessons. Discovering who you are, dealing with first loves,
     and family drama, all piled into one book. This book is well worth your time. After about two chapters, you don’t want to put the
    book down.
    This book deserves 4 stars. The only part that I didn’t like about the book was the fact that it’s so girly. No guy wants to read a
    summer romance and that’s part of what makes the book so good, but not many guys would read it.
    I would for sure recommend following Belly on her unforgettable journey through heartbreaks and first loves. Start with The Summer
    I Turned Pretty, then It’s Not Summer Without You, and finally We’ll Always Have Summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Liked

    Really liked it. It was a great summer read. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    A good read that sucks you in and keeps you turning the pages. I

    A good read that sucks you in and keeps you turning the pages. Is a book
    about crushes and how sometimes you can't have what you want.....no
    matter how badly you may want it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good summer teen read

    Good teen book:) Appropriately written for its age group. Good summer romance. I read the entire trilogy. I will recommend it to my own teenage daughter:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Pretty good

    I did like this book but it did jump back and forth a little too much for me. I'm looking forward to the second book in the series though. Really a 3.5 star read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Pretty Good But.....

    I liked the book. I found myself getting mad at her for not wanting the guy who was wanting her but realized she cant heklp who she wants. This book was good and it had some sad part, funny parts and just really good parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    I really loved this book

    I found myself loving this book. I really can relate to this book, i myself, i am 13, and vistit a beach house on the east coast in Maryland. Just like belly i have a brother, he to is very annoying, just like Steven. I know what she means when she says that boys notice her, and i feel like all teenagers (girls) know what she means. We go from lititle girls to half women in a blink of a second. Im really tall (5'9), and always have been tall so its not new to me, i get asked if i go to usd all the time. My point is that boys take intrest in us at a certin age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    The name of this book is called The Summer I Turned Pretty. It w

    The name of this book is called The Summer I Turned Pretty. It was written by the author named Jenny Han. She has her master’s degree in creative writing. Han was born and raised in Richmond, Virginia. She currently lives in New York City. This book is her second novel, following Shug, published in 2006. 
    Every year, Belly and her family go to Cousin’s Beach along with her mom’s best friend, Susannah, and her sons, Conrad and Jeremiah. After turning sixteen, Belly finds out she is mixed up in her emotions between the two brothers. Although she has always had feelings for the older brother, Conrad, she wants things to change. Conrad secretly has feelings for Belly, but never admits it. Belly finds a new boyfriend, Cam, and makes Conrad jealous. Due to Susannah developing her second round of cancer and near death, it makes Conrad break and open up to Belly.
    The point of this book is to entertain readers who are interested in romance. Han was trying to tell her audience a fiction story to show what every girl wants in a summer. She wrote all the possible things that are unlikely to happen, making this interesting to read and draw readers more deep in other novels she has written.
    This book is an average romance book to read. It has a lot of flashbacks, which make it confusing throughout the story. It was kind of boring in the beginning. In the middle of the book, it was not as exciting as it looks, but it was fun to read and see what would happen next. 
    The Summer I Turned Pretty is defiantly a book for teenagers. It is narrated by a girl, Belly, so it would be more for girls who enjoy reading romance novels. Before the reader chooses to read this, they must know that there are a couple of flashbacks. The book is kind of sad near the end, but it fits well with the plot. Jenny Han’s The Summer I Turned Pretty takes a while to build up to the main conflicts, but it will be worth your time while reading this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Twelve

    So im only twelve and after reading alot of the postings it seems great and like something i would really like to read. Also what qould be the point to of waitng an year to read and as i said it seems really good and give feed back. Wish me luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Nice!

    I really liked this book! Conrad was a jerk but not really in a bad way. Jeremiah was nice too and obviously the one thats always at ease and laughing. Belly was.. well belly. And cam was kind of annoying. Like belly and cam barely knew each other but they just started going out. Although it was sweet that cam always thought she was beautiful. Oh and dont let me start on taylor! Yeah i know she wasnt in the story but she was in the flashbacks and she is the worst friend ever! I wouldnt even talk to her after that! Steven was stupid and annoying the entire time as usual and stuff. Their mom is nice deep down and susannah was very sweet and nice. I was glad that they got to spend that time with her while they had it. I cant wait to see what happens with her and conrad and jeremiah in the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    One of my favortie series

    This book is pretty much the stereotype of the perfect summer chick lit read. Though i find Belly to be a little flighty sometimes i still want her to be my best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    :)

    You will fall in love with these books! You will laugh, cry, and smile like crazy through them. The story is lovely and unique! The characters are so different but fit together perfectly. Read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Totally recomending this book

    I loooovveee this book. its well written i like how everything settles into itself in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Emotional Rollercoaster

    This story reminds me of when I was a teenager and how I would try to get the attention of my "crush". This is emotionally heartbreaking in parts but will remind you the value of family and to never take that time for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Huh

    Weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I can relate

    The same thing happened to me this summer. When school started everyone was like "Woh... who is she?!" it was truly hilarous. All the guys like me but I am VERY picky on who I date, guys who are staring at my "ladies" are definitly NOT a contendor. Like my guy friend ive had since fifth grade he likes me for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10