BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer Island

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent relationship drama

Ten years ago, Nora Bridge walked out on her husband and two daughters to become a Seattle radio star and a national newspaper advice columnist. She provides people with practical advice, but her source of wisdom is her own failures with her children though she d...
Ten years ago, Nora Bridge walked out on her husband and two daughters to become a Seattle radio star and a national newspaper advice columnist. She provides people with practical advice, but her source of wisdom is her own failures with her children though she does have a fragile relationship with her oldest Caroline.

Nora¿s world collapses when the tabloids learn that the morality queen had an affair while still married. Her youngest daughter Ruby, who refuses to talk with Nora for walking out on her, has an offer to write an expose on her mother. When Nora breaks her leg during a DUI, Caroline forces Ruby to care for her mother at the SUMMER ISLAND where they once were so happy together. As mother and daughter rediscover how to rediscover the love they once had for one another, Ruby also has a second chance with Dino the man she always loved. Meanwhile, Dino¿s brother Eric, nears death, is wondering if his estranged parents will come home from Europe to simply say goodbye.

SUMMER ISLAND is a deep tale centering on choices that impact the stability of other individuals inside what Dr. Covey¿s calls the ¿Circle of Influence¿. The story line is incredible with its angst-laden two interweaved subplots that will stun readers with its message and emotional fervor. The Bridge female trio struggles with the interrelationships between them ever since Nora left. The subplot surrounding Eric augments the theme that events and actions even when one follows Shakespeare¿s ¿to thyself be true¿ impact relationships. This novel is totally brilliant and Kristin Hannah may have written the best relationship drama of the year.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really great chic lit.

I say it's chic lit, but really the characters are far more developed to really fit that category well. I really enjoyed this...as I have all of Hannah's that I have read so far. I recommend it...though it's a bit lengthy I didn't feel it--it seemed to read quickly.

posted by SK-fan on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent relationship drama

    Ten years ago, Nora Bridge walked out on her husband and two daughters to become a Seattle radio star and a national newspaper advice columnist. She provides people with practical advice, but her source of wisdom is her own failures with her children though she does have a fragile relationship with her oldest Caroline. <P>Nora¿s world collapses when the tabloids learn that the morality queen had an affair while still married. Her youngest daughter Ruby, who refuses to talk with Nora for walking out on her, has an offer to write an expose on her mother. When Nora breaks her leg during a DUI, Caroline forces Ruby to care for her mother at the SUMMER ISLAND where they once were so happy together. As mother and daughter rediscover how to rediscover the love they once had for one another, Ruby also has a second chance with Dino the man she always loved. Meanwhile, Dino¿s brother Eric, nears death, is wondering if his estranged parents will come home from Europe to simply say goodbye. <P> SUMMER ISLAND is a deep tale centering on choices that impact the stability of other individuals inside what Dr. Covey¿s calls the ¿Circle of Influence¿. The story line is incredible with its angst-laden two interweaved subplots that will stun readers with its message and emotional fervor. The Bridge female trio struggles with the interrelationships between them ever since Nora left. The subplot surrounding Eric augments the theme that events and actions even when one follows Shakespeare¿s ¿to thyself be true¿ impact relationships. This novel is totally brilliant and Kristin Hannah may have written the best relationship drama of the year. <P>Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    SUMMER ISLAND IS GREAT

    I ENJOYED THIS BOOK. I READ EVERY WORD AND WAS HAPPY TO SEE THIS AUTHOR GAVE US SUCH A REAL STORY. MOTHERS AND DAUGHTERS WILL ALL ENJOY 'SUMMER ISLAND'. TOO MANY TIMES EITHER MOTHERS OR DAUGHTERS EXPECT EACH OTHER TO BE SOMETHING OTHER THAN WHAT THEY CAN BE. THIS MAKES US SEE INTO THE CHARACTERS THAT SHE MAKES SO REAL. I COMPARE KRISTINS WRITING TO MAUVE BINCHY AND ROSAMUND PILCHER. SHE KNOWS HOW TO MAKE HER CHARACTERS REAL. ALSO HER PLOT IS DONE VERY WELL.I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. JEANNE SIGMON, EL PASO,TX

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    READ WITH UNDERSTANDING AND WARMTH

    Mother/daughter relationships can be strained or loving. They are both in Kristin Hannah's 'Summer Island,' a story of relationships, of rancor and forgiveness. Joyce Bean gives a subtly nuanced reading of this family drama. Ruby has never forgiven Nora, the mother who deserted her. Years later Nora has achieved success - she's a nationally syndicated columnist and talk show host whose advice is steeped in old-fashioned family values. On the other hand, Ruby's career as a comedian is going nowhere but down. When news leaks about Nora's past, Ruby has an opportunity to make a tidy sum by writing a tell-all tale. However, accidents do happen, and Nora is injured in one. She needs someone to take her to the family's former island retreat. Thus, Ruby and Nora are thrown together after all the years of bitterness. Will their physical closeness bring about an emotional rapprochement?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great Book

    This is a great book, I would most definately recommend it. I've read quite a few of her books and this may not be my favorite, but definately worth the money. It's a lovely story and touches the heart. I didn't want to put it down! Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed it!

    Advice-columnist-turned-talk-show-host Nora Bridge is a national celebrity. Her radio show on relationships is one of the most popular in the nation. She is respected and trusted until.. pornographic pictures of her are released to the press. Interesting folly thereafter creates a great storyline. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This was a great book. I enjoyed it very much. I highly recomend this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Ok

    I want to rate this book higher because it touched on very real and emotional issues but I couldn't get fully into the story. Some chapters were good and others were not so great. The characters conversations seemed to string one dramatic sentence after another together. Some of which seemed out of place or shallow. I like the major themes and concepts centered on in this novel though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommended...if you like other books by this author

    This book was very similar to other books by Kristin Hannah. I enjoy reading her novels when I am in the mood to escape for a little while. I actually prefer memoirs and biographies but Ms. Hannah's novels are good for a little guilty pleasure reading. This book is about a mother/daughter relationship, although the mother was not present in her daughter's life throughout her childhood. The novel follows an obvious beginning, middle, and end. There are really no surprises here, however it is still an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Another great one!

    I've only recently started reading her books, but they are addicting. The way she tells the stories makes you feel as if you are in the story watching it happen rightin front of you. This story was a little slow in the begining for me, but it picked up quickly. I could nit put it down, and the storyline was so genuine that it heldyoour interest the whole time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Wonderful Read

    Another great book by Kristin Hannah! I loved this story and it really pulled me in emotionally!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome

    i had never heard of this author before, but i saw the book on a 20% rack at the book store, i have been wanting to find a new author to get into and i def found one. Once I started this book i could not put it down! the characters, the writing style everything was awesome.. and i cant wait to go to the book store and get another one of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really great chic lit.

    I say it's chic lit, but really the characters are far more developed to really fit that category well. I really enjoyed this...as I have all of Hannah's that I have read so far. I recommend it...though it's a bit lengthy I didn't feel it--it seemed to read quickly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Another Hit!!!

    You cannot go wrong with a Kristin Hannah book! I have read every one that I can get my hands on and they are all awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    I didn't want to leave........

    I loved this book...!! I didn't want to leave the characters... It was very enjoyable and well written. I recommended it to a book club at work...and they all loved it also . I am looking up other titles by Kristin Hannah to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Wonderful!

    This was a fabulous story of heartbreak and forgiveness. One of the best books I've read in a LONG time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Great story with little ever thing in it

    It make you cry and Hehe and give you gusee bumps A++++ all the way

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    People are Human

    Good life lesson. Parents are human. Parents will make mistakes but these mistakes can deeply scar those you love. Families need to be open, expressive and honest with each other. It takes a lot of energy to hold a grudge and honestly you only hurt yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Touched home

    This was my first Kristin Hannah read and I am so glad I picked it up. Well written book that touched home. This goes beyond mothers and daughters, it's about life, how our memory of events may not always be correct and that there are usually a lot events and props behind the scenery unbeknownst to us. Forgiveness, truth in ones self and love - hard though very important to each moment and day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    A real tearjerker.

    Beautifully written, poignant and sweet, Kristin Hannah will take you away to a place that lives within each of us. You have been there before. Summer Island is a place of childhood dreams, of friendship that is true and genuine, of the only real love there is. Meet Nora Bridge, famous advice columnist and radio talk show therapits for tortured souls. The one problem Nora does NOT have the answer to is her own. While successfully helping thousands of people across the country, Nora must live with the knowledge that she was unable to hold her own family together, and indeed, once committed an act so unforgivable to her own two daughters that one of them, Ruby, has not spoken to her in years, and the other daughter is barely civil. Ruby is a tragic character, seeking love and acceptance through fame, living always under the dark shadow of her mother's sins. For Caroline and Ruby, sisters sharing Nora's painful legacy, they must face a childhood ruined, friendships destroyed, and a life spent trying to forget the pain their mother inflicted on them. A fabulous young man named Eric nearly steals this story, for it is through him and his brother that the story comes alive. You will enjoy this book, and it is perfect summer reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Good read

    As always kristen hannah delivers warmth and teary n some parts. I have read most of her books and they are all great. I recommend this book it keeps you interested and you don't want to stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9