Customer Reviews for

Summer Nights (Fool's Gold Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A- rating...

    My Review:


    I really enjoyed this book, which isn't a surprise since I pretty much love all of Susan Mallery's books. But what made this book for me was Shane and Annabelle's sarcastic senses of humor. Both of them constantly had little quips and thoughts throughout the book which kept me giggling. Here's a good example. In the scene below, Annabelle was arguing about why it wasn't smart for her to ride a horse:


    "You'll be fine."
    "Do you know how short I am? It's farther for me than most people."
    "By a couple of inches."
    Inches could be significant. As a man, he should know that.

    Little quips like that simply kept me giggling throughout the entire book. I loved that about this book. There's great dialogue and chemistry between these two and the whole tone of the book stays happy and quirky the whole time...even when they are having issues. The happy, quick dialogue is a fabulous mainstay to this book.

    This is the middle book for this summer's Fools Gold trilogy (#8 if you're keeping track.) I think it's going to be my favorite simply because I love the characters and their jobs so much. Annabelle is a librarian (hello...book lover) and Shane raises horses (hello...cowboy)! Seriously, what's not to love here?? Combining books with cowboys? Yes, Susan Mallery is tuned in completely to my fantasy perfect world.

    And I really liked both these characters. They've both been married before and both have the emotional wounds to prove it, although Shane has more leftover mental issues with relationship than Annabelle does.

    And let's not forget the whole Stryker farm menagerie which adds great fun to the book. As the cowboy, Shane falls to the in-charge guy of all the animals his mother keeps adopting. I loved how he kept trying to help Priscilla, the elephant, to alleviate her loneliness...even to the point of taking in the pony, Reno (he hates ponies...leftover trauma from childhood.) I loved that everyone is terrified of the stallion Khatar except for Annabelle. The way that he follows her around and loves her completely...just a GORGEOUS aspect to this story.

    The next book is Charlie and Clay. My heart simply aches for Charlie, so I am so excited to watch her find her Happily Ever After. Only one more month until All Summer Long.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    KARA

    She sobs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    We¿ve been hearing about Annabelle for awhile now and it¿s inter

    We’ve been hearing about Annabelle for awhile now and it’s interesting to finally see who she ended up with. I liked Shane from the previous book, but never thought these two could actually make it work, because they have different words and life in a ranch can be pretty difficult, but Annabelle was pretty awesome with Kathar and the other horses. These last few books made Fool’s Gold reputation came true. The city does grow on us and the characters.

    When Annabelle first told about the dancing horse thing and I was sure these two would be a couple but they have a difficult way to make things happen and Shane was still fighting a little with his feelings because his e-wife was a mess and he needed someone calm, interesting how Annabelle fit that and even more. They where nice together, but the couple missed a little chemistry for me.

    Shane made a few mistakes, but he was learning to trust himself again and I liked meeting the new brother. This was a nice romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This is a must-read!

    I love Susan Mallery's Fool's Gold series, and this is just one more winner in that ongoing story. I love the way she expands on the reader's knowledge of the people of Fool's Gold, a community with many interconnections and richly-drawn characters. I highly recommend that reader's get the whole series - you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read

    I love books with animals involved and cowboys. This was a good modern day story that was fun to read. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received a PDF of this book through NetGalley for the purposes

    I received a PDF of this book through NetGalley for the purposes of review.

    Annabelle was a fun character, and the Stryker brothers all seemed like good guys. I believed the slow growth of friendship between Annabelle and Shane, but didn't really believe the sexual chemistry between the two. To put it bluntly, they were boring. I was much more interested in Charlie the firefighter's desire for and journey toward motherhood than I was in Shane and Annabelle as a couple.

    I absolutely adored the relationship that grew between Annabelle, who was all but terrified of horses, and Shane's "killer horse" Khatar. Khatar found a kindred spirit in Annabelle, who despite her fear of horses, was never afraid of Khatar. He loved her from the moment he met her, and even protected her from a snake in a chapter near the end. Funny how the friendship between the horse and the girl was far more intriguing than that between the romantic leads.

    Shane had issues, all based on his previous wife, Rachel, and because of one sighting of Annabelle at a bar at the beginning of the book, painted Annabelle with the same brush, even after he started sleeping with her. It took a couple of fights with his younger brother, Clay, to get his head on straight, and for me, his turnaround would have been too little, too late, after all that distrust.

    While I liked the book fine, it didn't whet my appetite to read any more of the Fool's Gold books, unless there's going to be a book about Charlie. Her issues and her need to be part of a family might be interesting enough to draw me in.

    I've enjoyed other of Ms. Mallery's books, and hope to enjoy more in the future, but this one just didn't do it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    As usual this book continues the series and is absolutely followingbthroufh, and cant wait untilbshe writes more and continues the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    recommend

    Really good story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Another great Susan Mallery book

    I loved this book and I think Clay could be my favorite cowboy in Fool's Gold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Recomended

    This Is Nicee Storyyy ;D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Great book...

    I have read all of her Fool's Gold series...all great, keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    I really enjoyed this one. Usually when there is a prologue in t

    I really enjoyed this one. Usually when there is a prologue in the book I don't connect as much with whoever from the past is being featured. This one started off different from the get-go. I really felt like Shade's father showed so much emotion in that one pre-chapter that I knew I was going to really like this book.

    We really don't get much of Shade before she is thrust into the world of the Fae. We don't even meet the family she speaks so fondly of, but we sense the connection they have.

    I felt so bad for poor Shade. Thrust into danger and leaving her family had to be hard, but she sure did suck it up and just go with the flow. Maybe a little too easily? I was expecting at least some kind of push back from her.

    There is an abundance of guys in this book. First we have Jack, the guy who started it all by bringing her into the Fae world. There is something about him that makes me really want for Shade to connect deeper with him, but I'm not sure what it is. Plus, he seems to have too many girls, ex, present, whatever going on.
    Then there is Soap, what the heck kind of name is Soap? LOL. I kept wanting Shade to refuse to call him it. He seems really sweet and the closest to her age. Maybe the safest? And lastly we have Dylan who is not in the situation because he wants to be. They have a strong connection and I am really waiting to see where it goes.

    Don't worry, no love triangle or rectangle here. The romance doesn't really move in this one, more of a promise for some in the series later on.

    I really enjoyed this book and will definitely check out the rest of the series!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I love Ms. Mallery's FOOL'S GOLD SERIES but this was more a fant

    I love Ms. Mallery's FOOL'S GOLD SERIES but this was more a fantasy than a novel... Anybody who knows anything about animals would know that while humorous was completely unbelievable... And, the stories in this book tumble over and over each other with too many things going on... Yet, I enjoyed it and I love the characters and so it gets four stars.. But, believable??? Hardly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good!

    But not my fave. I cannot wait for Charlies story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, Shane, Shane, Shane. Talk about issues! So adorable, such

    Oh, Shane, Shane, Shane. Talk about issues! So adorable, such a genuinely nice guy, and yet so utterly clueless. Based on a few milliseconds of watching a complete stranger dancing on a bar, he proceeds to spend the majority of twenty chapters measuring Annabelle with a flawed yardstick. Even when he realizes what he's done, he keeps on doing it. And yet—I, along with Annabelle, love him anyway. But yeesh, he waits until the very last minute to pull it all together! (And even though you know practically from chapter three how he's going to do it, it was fun to read. If anyone deserved that kind of public spectacle, it would be Shane. And Annabelle, for that matter. He so owed her.) At least we all know that we'll get to see more of them as the series continues, since the book that follows will be about the last of the three friends, Charlie, and the third Stryker brother, Clay, professional model and butt double. (Is it just me, or does anyone else hear Joey from "Friends" in their heads saying, "Al Pacino goes into the shower and bam! there's my butt!")

    Again, the animals steal the show. Priscilla the elephant is lonely for a herd, and adopts various other strays into her pack, including a mother cat and her kittens, a pony, and a pig. Misunderstood but beautiful Arabian stallion Khatar is hands down one of my most favorite characters—he obviously sees Annabelle for the not-at-all-Shane's-ex-wife that she is nineteen chapters before his owner. If only horses could talk, he'd have given Shane the tongue lashing that he deserved, like any other self-respecting resident of Fool's Gold would. All in all, this one has me chomping at the bit to read Charlie's story, in the hopes that it will be just as hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2