Customer Reviews for

Summer People

Average Rating 2.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Not a bad quick read. It's just that it reads a little bit like

    Not a bad quick read. It's just that it reads a little bit like a morality tale at times. I think that if this is a first book, my advice to the author would be to get into his characterization more, so that he seems to have more sympathy and insight into their situation.  Not a bad plot though otherwise.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Very dissappointing

    I stayed up late waiting for the excitement, the twiste, the secret, the anything...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Don't bother  - kept waiting for the story to pick up and didn't

    Don't bother  - kept waiting for the story to pick up and didn't.  Main Character - What a sad sack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    A thoughtful, charming, and well written novel. I'm glad I gave

    A thoughtful, charming, and well written novel. I'm glad I gave the book a look despite reading the reviews. Groh offers an insightful perspective and keen dialogue. I was never on the edge of my seat but I was also never bored and happily anticipated what turn Nathan's life would take next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unreadable

    Failed my 100 page rule - 90 pages in I could care less about the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A disappointment

    I was expecting this book to be better than it really was. There wasnt really any character development and it had a really stupid ended. I was expecting more from the main character but by the end of the book, I was still thinking that the guy was kind of mentally challenged in more than one way! It was an interesting read but it took me forever to read it because I never really could get going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    Flat

    Flat awful read - main character likeable enough - other than that - the best thing about it was the book jacket - oh, those awful people who just happen to have the asset of a beach house.......................snore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Excellent coming of age story.

    I was pleasantly surprized at the quality of writing in this author's first attempt. A clever, intraspective look into the mind of a young man finding his place in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    WEAK DEBUT

    I like to read first novels by new, young writers and am often pleased at what I find. That was not the case with Brian Groh's first book. It sounded as though gallons and gallons of rum and Coke were the central theme. The characters seemed very one-dimensional. Like other reviewers I stayed with it until the bitter end and wish that I had tossed it after about 20 pages. Unless Groh is willing to attend writer's workshops, and even that may not help, I do not see this as his genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed with this book. It dragged to the end. I actually forced myself to finish it just in case there was a big finish...there wasn't. I found no humor and the young man in this story does nothing but drink rum and coke after rum and coke. I do not reccomend this to anyone it is a waste of your money and/or your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is truly a boring book and extremely slow. I didn't find any humor in this book at all - just very drab.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Lousy novel

    This book is a waste of time. The author clearly wanted to write a memoir without taking the inherent risks of the genre--telling his own story by thinly disguising it as fiction. What results is a watered-down, dull book full of stereotypes and unbelievable coincidences. Mr. Groh seems too concerned about his own reputation--particularly with the people he tries to satirize--to concern himself with basic good writing. The worst kind of first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Don't Be Fooled By the Cover

    Don't be fooled by the cover, this excellent book isn't a trashy beach read. It's hard to put down this wonderful, funny novel. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Don't bother

    I saw this book and thought it would be a great summer read. Now that I am living in New England I thought it would spice up my time laying in the sun. It was slow in the beginning and hardly picked up throughout the book which was disappointing. If you are looking for a light book to pass the time don't bother with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a great book! I definitely recommend. You will fall in love with the characters and won't be able to put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    Thoughtful, Funny

    This isn't ultra-light reading but it isn't hard reading either. I loved it. I thought it was a thoughtful, funny book about what it's like to be a young person trying to find your way in a rich community and in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1