BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer Rental

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

wonderful

got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay ...
got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay almost 20$ for a hardback. You guys stop being whiners and stop hurting the author's book rating by your childishness.

posted by SerendipityGA on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 456 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    wonderful

    got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay almost 20$ for a hardback. You guys stop being whiners and stop hurting the author's book rating by your childishness.

    29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining character study

    The three BFFs for over two decades rent a summer house in Nags Head on the North Carolina Outer Banks. Now in their thirties each has major decisions to make that they need their two buddies to be there for them. Ellis Sullivan drives down from Philadelphia where she just lost her job at BancAtlantic that meant her life to her. Maryn Shackleford flees her abusive spouse Don in New Jersey before he finally buries her; deciding to hide in Nag's Head where her parents once took her seemingly a lifetime ago. Ty Bazemore owns the Ebbtide beach house he has rented to the thirty-something trio under his alter ego Mr. Culpepper; his first encounter with Ellis is a disaster at a time he is distracted about losing the house. The other BFFs Julia and Dorie arrive; Julia the model was living with Booker the photographer, but he took a DC job and wants more from their relationship. Dorie hides in shock that her beloved husband Stephen betrayed her. All five converge in a summer month of change at Ebbtide.

    This is an entertaining character study of three females each at a major fork in their respective lives. Although Maryn brings suspense to the mix as an abused wife on the run from her husband, she changes the relational dynamics of the other trio too much. Filled with pathos, humor and romance, fans will enjoy the three musketeers seeking their groove in the Outer Banks.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Adore.....

    I adore Mary Kay Andrew's books! I also believe the prices are fair. Besides if you can afford a nook, then you should have no qualms over a price! I'm frugal myself but do think most of the prices I have seen are more than fair.

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Disappointed

    Will not continue to read. Unnecessary profanity.

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Boo

    Harriet klausner and her cliff note book report ruins another book. This poster needs to learn how to write a review without revealing the entire book. Please bn, do something to this egotistical poster.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I agree with "Boycott the Price"

    I agree. After spending over $200. for an E-reader and be a steady reader, I think we should get a break on the price of a book. I can get the same book at Wal-Mart for the same or at times a cheaper price.

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Skip It

    I used to love Mary Kay Andrews books, but "Summer Rental" is by far one of the most boring books I have ever read. On top of the predictable story lines are the editor's mistakes with typos ("think" instead of "thing", etc.) and story line errors (Maryn/Madison finds the money in the laptop bag is not in the standard bank wraps and she hides the money in the bottom of her duffel bag yet the money somehow appears in the back of the armoire and is in the standard bank wraps?) At this point, I'm moving on to other authors.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Hated It

    I found the story to be very boring. I stuck it out to page 122 and then just decided to throw in the towel and pick up something else that I might actually enjoy. I am disappointed that I paid this price for a nook book and didn't even enjoy it. Perhaps my review can save someone else the time and money.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Not worth the price

    As a local from the Outer Banks, NC. I looked forward to reading this book. A disappointment, however the references to local restaurants were right on. Needed more zing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Agree with the last review about promises of

    Much expensive books. 9.90 or less for most books. Just recieved nook color from mom. May return for exactly the broken promise of low price books

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Still waiting for the fun part

    I'm a regular Andrews reader and have been looking forward to this book, but by page 114 I was still waiting for some momentum and the characters were all still plodding, except for the little tension provided by runaway Maryn. I miss the smiles I got from previous Andrews stories and the cute, quirky characters. I've not totally given up on this yet and checked reader reviews to see if I could find motivation. On the other hand, I've got other new books luring me away every time I open the Nook.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Enjoyed but......

    Not one of Mary Kay Andrew's best books. I liked the storyline but why are all the women so gorgeous? Why did the main charachter get so mad at her landlord/boyfriend about not telling the truth about being the real landlord? And my big question: How can a woman who is escaping an abusive/crooked husband and leave her beloved dog behind? Some serious issues like handling guns taken too lightly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Just okay

    Okay book that is extremely predictable. Not one twist or turn in the story that you couldn't see coming miles away.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing Special

    I was looking forward to a fun beach read but this was one dimensional and boring. The ending was unrealistic and simple.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Perfect+summer+read

    This+book+is+great.+You+can+sit+back+and+get+lost+into+the+world+of+friendship+in+love+of+three+friends+while+they+are+on+vacation+in+thebouter+banks.+Great+lay+ou+and+read+book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Mary Kay Andrews Hasn't Let Us Down!

    This book was a great read - typical of MK Andrews books. I couldn't put the nook down. There is still that southern twang that makes her books so irresistable. Though not set in Savannah, it has enough references to remind you that you're still in the South. I loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good read.

    Good book. Nice to read especially on the beach.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Good vacation read

    This was my first Mary Kay Andrews book. I thought it was a very cute book, the characters were well written, the book had a good flow and kept moving. It was a fast read for me and I will likely buy another book by Andrews in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 456 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23