Customer Reviews for

Summer Rental

Average Rating 4
( 436 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

wonderful

got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay ...
got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay almost 20$ for a hardback. You guys stop being whiners and stop hurting the author's book rating by your childishness.

posted by SerendipityGA on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    wonderful

    got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay almost 20$ for a hardback. You guys stop being whiners and stop hurting the author's book rating by your childishness.

    28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining character study

    The three BFFs for over two decades rent a summer house in Nags Head on the North Carolina Outer Banks. Now in their thirties each has major decisions to make that they need their two buddies to be there for them. Ellis Sullivan drives down from Philadelphia where she just lost her job at BancAtlantic that meant her life to her. Maryn Shackleford flees her abusive spouse Don in New Jersey before he finally buries her; deciding to hide in Nag's Head where her parents once took her seemingly a lifetime ago. Ty Bazemore owns the Ebbtide beach house he has rented to the thirty-something trio under his alter ego Mr. Culpepper; his first encounter with Ellis is a disaster at a time he is distracted about losing the house. The other BFFs Julia and Dorie arrive; Julia the model was living with Booker the photographer, but he took a DC job and wants more from their relationship. Dorie hides in shock that her beloved husband Stephen betrayed her. All five converge in a summer month of change at Ebbtide.

    This is an entertaining character study of three females each at a major fork in their respective lives. Although Maryn brings suspense to the mix as an abused wife on the run from her husband, she changes the relational dynamics of the other trio too much. Filled with pathos, humor and romance, fans will enjoy the three musketeers seeking their groove in the Outer Banks.

    Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Adore.....

    I adore Mary Kay Andrew's books! I also believe the prices are fair. Besides if you can afford a nook, then you should have no qualms over a price! I'm frugal myself but do think most of the prices I have seen are more than fair.

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Perfect+summer+read

    This+book+is+great.+You+can+sit+back+and+get+lost+into+the+world+of+friendship+in+love+of+three+friends+while+they+are+on+vacation+in+thebouter+banks.+Great+lay+ou+and+read+book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Mary Kay Andrews Hasn't Let Us Down!

    This book was a great read - typical of MK Andrews books. I couldn't put the nook down. There is still that southern twang that makes her books so irresistable. Though not set in Savannah, it has enough references to remind you that you're still in the South. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Awesome

    Another great book by mary kay andrews i loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved,loved,loved

    A great girlfriend story! I loved reading it and didn't want it to be over! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Border

    Leafclan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Great beach read. The story flows well and moves quickly.

    Great beach read. The story flows well and moves quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Pi

    Are u the one who put up that advertisement..?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Summer

    I dont have any idea wha ur talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Ben

    No.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    This is my first Mary Kay Andrews read, and it was the perfect v

    This is my first Mary Kay Andrews read, and it was the perfect vacation book!! I took it to the beach with me every day and I was sad when it was done! The characters are great and well written - I can't wait to read another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    great read.

    Enjoyablr characters and story linr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly Recommend. A Must Read

    I'm a great fan of Mary Kay Andrews & can't wait to read her newest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    great book easy read

    Mary Kay Andrews is a great writer, keeps you into the book as it goes along. This is a great Summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Blueshadow

    Lets go to daddy's wet girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    I loved it!

    I have become a big fan of Mary Kay Andrews book. I have read 3 and plan to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10