Customer Reviews for

Summer Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 860 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(407)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Summer Secrets

Barbara Freethy is one of those authors who really knows just how to wrap a reader around her little finger. A master at stories of love, family, and relationships, with SUMMER SECRETS she's reached a new and challenging plateau, skillfully weaving an intriguing tale o...
Barbara Freethy is one of those authors who really knows just how to wrap a reader around her little finger. A master at stories of love, family, and relationships, with SUMMER SECRETS she's reached a new and challenging plateau, skillfully weaving an intriguing tale of family loyalty that's set against a backdrop of dark, carefully guarded secrets and the high profile world of blue water yacht racing. This book has something for everyone. It's the perfect summer read!

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book.....

However it could have been condensed by about 200 pages. The plot was good and it was a good story, but it seemed to drag along. Barbara Freethy is a good author but this was not one of my favorites.

posted by C.Lewis on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 865 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Summer Secrets

    Barbara Freethy is one of those authors who really knows just how to wrap a reader around her little finger. A master at stories of love, family, and relationships, with SUMMER SECRETS she's reached a new and challenging plateau, skillfully weaving an intriguing tale of family loyalty that's set against a backdrop of dark, carefully guarded secrets and the high profile world of blue water yacht racing. This book has something for everyone. It's the perfect summer read!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    A GREAT SUMMERTIME BOOK

    I loved this book, the story of 3 sisters, and the man who comes to town and turns their lives upside down. I know what it's like to get involved in your sister's life, so much drama, so many twists and turns to this story, you won't be able to put it down.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Summer Secrets

    Barbara Freethy has long been one of my favorite authors. She's a master of beautifully-woven tales of family and always adds just the right touch of mystery. With SUMMER SECRETS, she has achieved a new plateau, giving us a unique and challenging story of family loyalty and dark deeds from the past set against the exciting backdrop of world class yacht racing. The reader is instantly drawn into this fast-paced adventure, a story rich with marvelous characters, gorgeous locations, and a love that will live long after the final page. This one is a definite keeper!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I just finished reading this book and I'm sorry it's over. It was so good. It's a great sisters story. I loved Kate, Ashley and Caroline. The romance was wonderful, too. And I love the twists and turns, the flashbacks to the past. A really well done novel. Very well written. I can't wait to read more books by this author.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Summer book for great reading anytime!

    I love Barbara Freethy's books. There is just the right balance of interesting characters. suspense and romance. Summer Secrets had lots of twist and turns, great love story and I was sorry to see it end. The story is based on a family with story intertwining with other's families as well. All bring issues and history to the story and which makes for an interesting as well as entertaining book. I highly recommend it!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Refreshing to the end!

    I have to say that I took a chance with Summer Secrets, but after the first chapter I was hooked. Barbara Freethy writes in great stride - she keeps you wanting more. It was refreshing not to easily figure out the 'secret', which I found to be the suspense. This was just what I needed after finishing a serious nonfiction novel placed in WWII era. You won't be disappointed if your looking for a great summer read. I will most likely give another one of her books a try.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Great Book

    Another winner from one of my favorite authors. The story is about three sisters and their somewhat crazy father who is obsessed with all things sailing. The San Juan Islands provide a beautiful setting. And the love story was great. I really felt like Kate had found her match. Lots of complications in this plot. I kept thinking the truth was one thing only to change my mind. I love an author who can keep me guessing!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Good reading with great characters

    I loved this book & really like the author. The sisters characters are very well developed and each sister has her own unique personality. It's not all love and roses, sunshine and light. This story deals with the ugly behind fame while making the characters human. I like that it deals with substance abuse without being preachy.

    Very well written & I will buy more of her books.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Must read...

    A little romance, a little mystery, sibling rivalry...this is a page turner! I got caught up in the characters, their lives and didn't want to put it down. Tried to figure out the secret and thought I had, but it wasn't revealed until the end. I love this author and have downloaded more of her books!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Great Beach Book!

    This is a fabulous book. Took it on our 3 day vacation and couldn't put it down. It has sisters, secrets, adventure and romance. A really well-told story with characters I'm still thinking about.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Highly recommended! A page turner.

    Enjoyed the storyline and especially liked the characters in Summer Secrets. A real page turner that got me involved and kept me guessing as the plot played out. I definitely will read other books by Barbara Freethy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved this book. It's one of my favourites

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Recommended Reading

    The author pulled together the issues of three sisters into one story quite well. It was easy to keep track of the threads from each sister's perspective and wove into a good mystery.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    One of my favorites.

    Great suspenseful story. Believable characters with love, lies, secrets and sexual tension. I like a longer book but it didn't take me long to get through it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Fun romance!

    Great book. Three sisters, a couple of sexy guys, an intriguing plot line and lots of back story to make things more interesting. Romance and adventure. I loved the combination. It's a fast read, too. Once you start, you won't be able to put the book down. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Recommended!

    Take this book to the beach, or on vacation or anywhere you have a couple of hours to sink into a really good story. Once you get started, you won't want to stop. Lots of surprises in there, too. Great sister story and love story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    The best book I ever read!

    This is my new favorite book. The first time I picked it up I didn't put it down until I was finished. I read it from 1 a.m. to 12 p.m. There was no way I was going to put it down until I knew what happened next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Couldn't finish this one.

    This book moved slowly. The plot failed to hold my interest, and character development was lacking. I began skimming somewhere around page 400, and I quit reading somewhere around page 680. I regret selecting this title for my vacation read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good book.....

    However it could have been condensed by about 200 pages. The plot was good and it was a good story, but it seemed to drag along. Barbara Freethy is a good author but this was not one of my favorites.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great Read

    The novel started pretty slowly, but evolved very nicely. In the end, I couldn't put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 865 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44