Customer Reviews for

Summer Sisters

Average Rating 4.5
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Summer Sisters

This book has, and always will be, one of my all-time favorites! For any woman who has expirienced the ups and downs of growing up female and just trying to find your place in this world. I adored both Vix and Caitlin and found myself struggling to choose which one I id...
This book has, and always will be, one of my all-time favorites! For any woman who has expirienced the ups and downs of growing up female and just trying to find your place in this world. I adored both Vix and Caitlin and found myself struggling to choose which one I identified with. Am I the smart and serious Vix or the spontaneous care-free Caitlin? I finally realized that parts of both of them are inside of me as most of us have found from time to time. From their first sexual encounters to picking husbands, Vix and Caitlin take you along with them as they venture through life. This book is not supposed to have a plot or a real climax. It is realistic story about friendship, love, and growing up. A must-read for anyone who has been blessed to know the true ups and downs of friendship....and in the end, the importance of sisterhood.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Trashy Book

I bought this book because of the postive reviews, but I was wrong. It starts off with these girls only 12 yrs old and and continues with one sexual escapade after another. I don't think a book about selfish, self absorbed is entertainment. Judy Blume book was the firs...
I bought this book because of the postive reviews, but I was wrong. It starts off with these girls only 12 yrs old and and continues with one sexual escapade after another. I don't think a book about selfish, self absorbed is entertainment. Judy Blume book was the first I read and the last.

posted by 7295254 on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Summer Sisters

    This book has, and always will be, one of my all-time favorites! For any woman who has expirienced the ups and downs of growing up female and just trying to find your place in this world. I adored both Vix and Caitlin and found myself struggling to choose which one I identified with. Am I the smart and serious Vix or the spontaneous care-free Caitlin? I finally realized that parts of both of them are inside of me as most of us have found from time to time. From their first sexual encounters to picking husbands, Vix and Caitlin take you along with them as they venture through life. This book is not supposed to have a plot or a real climax. It is realistic story about friendship, love, and growing up. A must-read for anyone who has been blessed to know the true ups and downs of friendship....and in the end, the importance of sisterhood.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite all time book

    This is my favorite book. I have read this book too many times to count and always recommend it to my friends. I think this book should be made into a movie...

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    juicy summer stories.

    Summer Sisters is a book that takes place in the late 1970¿s and early 1980¿s. It¿s a course of over six summers. The two main characters in the book are Victoria Leonard and Caitlin Somers. The book starts off with Victoria working in New York City at her job when she receives phone call from her long lost best friend Caitlin. The phone call consists Caitlin telling Victoria about her wedding and asking her to be her maid of honor. The story then goes into a flash back to where Caitlin and Victoria first meet. It was late spring in 1977 when Caitlin approached ¿Vix¿ in their 6th grade class. Caitlin was the new girl, and Vix was the shy quiet girl. Caitlin bluntly asks Vix to spend the summer with her and her father down in Martha¿s Vineyard. Caitlin immediately jumped to the offer. The girls started their first summer together getting to know each other. The rest of the summer consists of the two girls having their summer crushes and the summer stories that are not to be spoken of. Over the course of the summer the girls pledge to be summer sisters for life. Years pass and the girls continue to spend each and every summer together. The girls continue their friendship even through college where Vix has a boyfriend from the Vineyard. Years pass and their friendship begins to fade, until the day Vix receives the phone from Caitlin¿.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    One of my favs

    One of my all time favorites. I try to read it atleast once a year.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I loved it!

    I reccomend this book. I didn't think i would like it but i did and i read it a lot!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Read it every summer

    I am an avid reader and each summer since I was fifteen I have read this book (usually as a three hour read at the beach.....) I love the way that she gets into each persons mind....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Trashy Book

    I bought this book because of the postive reviews, but I was wrong. It starts off with these girls only 12 yrs old and and continues with one sexual escapade after another. I don't think a book about selfish, self absorbed is entertainment. Judy Blume book was the first I read and the last.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    One of my favorites

    I have read this book several times great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Amazing

    On the back if the book it seems funny ,but also real i cant wait to read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Adore this book!

    I absolutely love this book! I have read it every summer for the past 10 years. It's my tradition of kicking off summer. This has every element of a fantastic read. I laugh, I cry, I finish the book within a day's time. Once I start reading this book, I cant stop until I reach the last page. I hight recommend this book. Contains slight mature content.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Great find while on vacation at bed & breakfast!

    So vividly real! Takes you back in time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Excellent summer read for any girl or woman. I first read this b

    Excellent summer read for any girl or woman. I first read this book on the beach about 14 years ago. I have read it every summer since. It is a story of friendship, love, and growth. Any female should be able to relate to this book in some way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Awesome book...

    Summer Sisters reminds you of that childhood friend you will never forget. I must admit this is one of my all time favorite books I read it atleast once a year and hope that maybe one day they can make this into a movie...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Great!

    One of the best books I've ever read. I felt like I was there. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Good Book( but not a favorite of Judy Blum's).

    I have all ways loved Judy Blume books. I grew up on them from Fudge and Peter who always made us laugh. As I got older her others I couldn't put down. I read this one this summer and I really didn't find my self lost in this book, like her others. It was a good book, but one I could put down after reading for a few hrs. I do recommend this book but it was not my favorite by Judy at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Awesome. A most read!

    This books starts off with two girls(vix and Cailtain) who become Summer Sisters. This is full of exictment and true feelings of true frienda who share just about everything. I too read so many books by Judy Blume as a younger girl. when I was in school someone got into a lot of trouble bringing this book in to class. I belive it was 7th grade. I saw this books at Sam's Club and just remembered this was the book. I just had to buy it. I love Judy Blume. I have to say this book suprised me towards the end. I did cry at the end. I loved both Caitlain and Vix so much. I was like Vix in some many ways. When you find a friendship like this, cherish it. So many people come into our hearts. I was always told that friends come in for a season and for a reason. so hold onto that friendship like they did. It is so important and to have a special friend who you can share things with, that you can not with anyone else. thank you judy for writing this book. It truly is one of my favorites as an adult. Loved Superfuge.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    A journey

    I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    my favorite book of all time

    judy blume is a fantastic author. i read this book at least once a year and it never gets old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Good book!!!

    I grew up reading Judy Blume so I looked up some of her young adult/adult books. This book was a bittersweet read for me..... it reminded me of me and my best friend, and brought me back to the fun but emotional careless days of teenage-dom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A childhood favorite

    This book has been a favorite since I was in the 8th grade. My best friend and I happened to stumble upon it and instantly fell in love. It's one of those books you can pick up and read again and again because it brings you back to that innocence and discovery you had when you were a child.

    This is a story of two incredible girls brought together to be friends for life. It's a story of summers, love, jealously, self-discovery, and most of all that everlasting friendship you will never be without.

    Here I am almost a decade later reading this book, enjoying the ride yet again. Feeling as if Vix and Caitlin both have found their way of showing through me. This is a book for all ages and you can enjoy it for years and years to come.

    This story is a perfect example of how okay it is to be different. Whenever I think of this book there is one line that often repeats in my mind. "NBO or die". :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23