Customer Reviews for

The Summer We Fell Apart

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I couldn't put it down!

    Once I got into this book I couldn't put it down. I wanted to find out about their lives past and present, to feel what they felt. Robin Antalek captured all that. I felt like I knew each member of the Haas family and couldn't wait to see what happened next. It gave me an insight to the struggles that I myself and my own family members have dealt with. It was written with such detail that I could smell and feel the surroundings. I felt like I was there watching the story unfold. It left me wanting more, I didn't want it to end! I hope there will be more about the Haas family soon! Well written and very enjoyable!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Read

    This book was so easy to get through, so real, and so enjoyable...Great first book for this author. I can not wait for this author to create another book...Loved it !!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    The Summer We Fell Apart by Robin Antalek

    Robin Antalek is a student of human nature. She portrays the characters in this story of disfunction and sibling relationships in a realistic loving way. The siblings' peersonalities unfold in an interesting way and invite the reader to love or hate the characters as they are put before us, flaws and all. There are moments that invite us to laugh, cry, and sympathize with the characters. We see ourselves in the passages. This is a good book that leaves the reader askin for more at its conclusion!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Loved This Book

    I read this book in a couple of days. Really enjoyed how it was divided into each of the main character's perspectives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book so much that I am writing my first review. I absolutely fell in love with the characters. I loved the passionate love story centered around George. I empathisized with the loneliness and despair felt by , well, most of the characters, but especially Kate and Finn. It was just a great book with fantastic characters displaying how family can hurt and save you at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Please, Robin, write more novels

    This is a wonderful book, from page one. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it - I'll be first in line for her next book. Beautifully written, interesting characters, believable, touching. Thanks, Robin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating look at a dysfunctional family

    Their dad was a famous playwright who died when his career declined. Their mom was a wannabe actress who became a cult favorite for her B roles. Their four offspring growing up never felt they had parents as the so called adults in the Haas family of six neglected their children.

    The youngest Amy hated the constant tension as all she wanted was a normal life like those on TV. George wanted to love and be loved so in any dispute especially after his father died, he always supported their mom. The oldest Kate found escapism and solace in her studies as she became a lawyer mostly as a reaction opposite to her artistic parents. Finally the oldest son Finn turned to alcoholism and addiction to provide him a haze of avoidance.

    This is a fascinating look at a dysfunctional family from the perspective of the four children as the adult may neglect their offspring but the child becomes the adult. The story line is character driven as the demons that haunt each of the foursome and how each copes with them is deeply explored by Robin Antalek. Mindful of Family Pictures by Sue Miller and This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper, readers will enjoy this profound look at family relationships as seen by the children looking back as adults.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Kat

    Thw shapeshifter turns into a snake and leaves beore capt.cody can notice seesgone. She turn back into a human and spray paints on codys car. I S U CK EGGS! And runs off. Leaving no evidece. She laughs. And looks in her pocket. She stole the wedding ring from cody. She casheit it in for money. And moved in with some one

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Capt.cody

    Gets in his car and hits the gas for a high speed chase

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1