BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer and the City (Carrie Diaries Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    More like 4.5 stars

    Great book! Makes me want to watch the series all over again. Hope Candace writes a couplemore of these.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Recommend!

    Summer and the City was an enjoyable novel. I finished it this morning and I really liked it. In this novel you read about Carrie's first trip to New York and how she meets Samantha and Miranda. It's great for any Sex and the City fan who wants to learn how Carrie started out. The first novel, The Carrie Diaries, is a must-read as well! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I want more in this series.!

    I want more in this series.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Sweet

    Exciting to read how they all got together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    If you are looking for a book that is consistant with the TV sh

    If you are looking for a book that is consistant with the TV show..this is not it. However, I loved this installment in the series. I really got to know Carrie but even sweeter Miranda and Samantha... If you are a fan of SATC, I think you will enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Judge janelle

    What is the situation officer cody?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Loved it.

    IT WAS COOL TO SEE HOW CARRIE GOT HER START IN THE CITY AND HOW SHE CAME TO MEET HER LIFE LONG FRIENDS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I would recommend the reading of this book because it proves that if you actually try hard in life you could be whom ever you want be. Carrie, a small town girl from Castlebury NY, went to New York City because she wanted to take a writing class during the summer, when Carrie was at school she wrote a play for her class and Carrie also shared it with other people. Eventually, Carrie spent the rest of her college year in New York City becoming a playwright. Cholly Hammilton, a famous playwright, wanted to have an interview with Carrie about her play.
    The things that I liked are Carrie coming to New York; meeting famous people; Carrie going through the highs and lows of love with a guy named Bernard Singer, a famous playwright; Carrie becoming friends with feminist by the named of Miranda; Maggie, Carries' friend from high school, was visting, went on a date with Ryan, a classmate of Carries'. While on the date Ryan left without saying goodbye. My last favorite thing was how Carrie took the Coco Chanel purse that Bernard gave her and pawned it after they brokeup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Engaging

    A nice continuation of Carrie's story. Eagerly awaiting the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    Loved this book! It was just as good as the first book, but with more boy/ man drama, crazy parties, and even crazier friends. Im not sure which book I liked best but this one lived up to my high expectations. I recommend this series to anyone who just wants a fun book filled with drama and humor. Definitely adding it to my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Loved it

    Although at first i had a difficult time getting into the book, by the end i loved it. Being a devoted fan of the HBO "Sex and the city" and the movies, I actually pictured the young version of the girls. Some parts in Mirandas dialogue made me laugh, so Miranda - I fell in love with the girls, they are exactly like they were in the show. Samantha is fab in this book and Carrie perfection! The final is awesome it finishes with Carrie on the train and meeting Charlotte for the first time. If you loved Sex and the city show, you must read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great follow up/prequel

    This book is a great follow up to the carrie diaries and prequel to sex and the city. If u loved either, you will love this too. Must read carrie diaries first though. Great summer read, cute story. Juvenile but enjoyable for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I really loving the beginnings of these four girls. I love the TV show so when I heard about this new book series I knew I had to read it. The book series is about the same as the show just as young ladies. As the reader, you see the beginning of how the fours girls meet, Carrie, Miranda, Samantha, and Charlotte.

    So this first book, The Carrie Diaries show the humbling beginning of Carrie Bradshaw. I love learning about her young self and how she came to be. This next book picks up right where it left off, Carrie finally in the Big Apple, New York City and on the door steps of Samantha Jones. I loved Carrie growing up in the city. She took it to right away and Samantha, of course you got to love her! To see where she started and to get into their lovely conversation is like being in the book myself. Carrie had to grow up fast in the city and she did.

    I like how in this book it shows Carrie struggling as a writer. She has trouble writing, trouble getting published, etc. Samantha is a go getter and quickly got Carrie on the right track with some very wrong people. Carrie took her first step in a relationship, with an way older man, and took to the route to adult hood. Some things I was shocked that Carrie would do but she is learning. The book also showed where Carrie form her smoking habit. LOL

    As I said before this book is just like the TV series but with a 18 yr old Carrie. There are some very adult situations in the book so I recommend for an older YA audience, though the book will have you laughing, gasping, and just plain ol' good old drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    GOOD

    NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST, BUT THE FEELING IS THERE.
    I LIKED IT JUST FINE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    For those who loved The series..

    I am hooked on this Diaries, it's just like watching an episode of the show..I can't wait for the next one with Charlotte!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    I love SATC

    Okay--so Candance Bushnell is not the best writer! I said it! BUT, I love Sex and the City and Carrie, Miranda and Samantha so much that you can't help but get wrapped up in the story if you're a fan.

    I knew Capote sounded fimilar, but I forgot--HE IS IN THE FIRST ONE! The book is fantastic. It gives a lot of background, but also is just an entertaining read--like watching an episode. As soon as I finished I couldn't wait to start the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4