Customer Reviews for

Summer at Tiffany

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sweet, but needs a good editor

There were so many editorial mistakes in this book I had to wonder if I was reading a draft. This memoir is a very sweet read, and I do recommend it for an evenings entertainment.

posted by msmezzo on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Summer at Tiffany

Sweet read but RIDICULOUS amount of typos and even transposed or repeated paragraphs. Was this book even edited?

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Sweet, but needs a good editor

    There were so many editorial mistakes in this book I had to wonder if I was reading a draft. This memoir is a very sweet read, and I do recommend it for an evenings entertainment.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Summer at Tiffany

    Sweet read but RIDICULOUS amount of typos and even transposed or repeated paragraphs. Was this book even edited?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great (true) story!

    Wonderful true story, a great glimpse into life in glamorous, "old" New York! Beautifully written, capturing the essence of an Iowa country girl transplanted to NYC - although, as other reviewers have said, this book is very poorly edited - misspellings, repeated paragraphs, characters changing names (and other information changing - was it a teapot or a chocolate pot?) from one paragraph to the next.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Excellent read, minus the horrible typeset and typos for Nook

    Great, easy read, but really has HarperCollins stopped proofing for things such as proper spelling? Several cases of paragraphs that were repeated on multiple pages leaving me to scratch my head and wonder if I was crazy, only to turn back a few pages and see the same paragraph right there. Several instances where I am quite confident the paragraphs were not in the correct order either.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    A Warm Remembrance of Life in an Gentler Time

    Reading SUMMER AT TIFFANY brought back memories of so many things that have slowly eroded over the decades--living life rather than defining it by one's possessions, joy in landing a summer internship that wasn't measured by dollars, relationships with family and friends in an easier time when the glaring headlights of instant media coverage and rampant cynicism hadn't reared their ugly heads, and most importantly, an appreciation of the simpler things in life that create the most lasting and beautiful memories, many of which shape the paths we choose to take. Hats off to Marjorie Hart for capturing a slice of time in one perfect New York summer!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    A Delightful Read!

    I fell upon this charming story browsing my local library on a hot summer afternoon. I read it in an evening and was delighted by it. It is the wonderful story about a magical summer spent working in Tiffanys at the end of World War II. I completely enjoyed the story of the Small Town Girls who played in The Big City for a season.
    Luckily, a couple years later I ran across this book on the shelf at Barnes and Noble where I immediately added it to my collection.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Tiffany's you love this book!

    I enjoyed reading all about the two girls' travels and their summer working at Tiffany's. Being a NYer it was great to hear all about things that no longer exist and things that are still around from this era. The book gave such nice thoughs and explainations of this time period, it made wish that I belonged to that time. A time when things were so much more simple and life was different. I was sad to see it come to an end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars at best.

    I was really looking forward to this one and found it a little disappointing. I love the 1940s era and what could be better than living a life of a single gal for a summer in NYC during that time? Although I somewhat enjoyed the author's story and the setting, the story and the author seemed a little superficial to me. And, how many times can someone say "Ohmygosh!" But to be fair, it must be hard to trade on those memories which could have occurred 60 years prior. Even though I found it somewhat shallow, the author saved the story for me by writing one brief passage on her recollections of receiving the news of a cousin being killed in the war. Her description of visiting her aunt and uncle made my eyes well up with tears. Even with some of my complaints I still recommend this book to represent a good snapshot of the era.

    A couple of notes of interest on the era: although often we see it as a much "simpler" time, Hart also showed us some of the drawbacks. For example, the job choices for women were limited, until Hart and her roommate hired on, Tiffany would only hire men (the girls had a connection); and, it wasn't against the law to ask what nationality a prospective employee was during the interview. Times have changed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    No Diamond in the Rough

    I bought this book because New York in the mid-twentieth century is a particular interest of mine. I thought it would be interesting to get the perspective of that sophisticated city from a mid-westerner who had never been east of the Rockies. Sadly, I did not get a feeling for New York or for Tiffany. Everything is very superficially mentioned. She alludes to a gangster who visits the store but doesn't name who it is. She takes up much space about a plane crashing into the Empire State Building that summer, but only re-prints the New York Times article and, short of some parallels with 9/11, wasn't really edifying. She mentions her cousin who was killed in the war. Not relevant. She describes Tiffany's various floors but you don't really get the sense of that venerable retailer. And the author comes off really 'golly gee, egad' which I found extremely annoying, even given the year and her youth.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    I wanted more glitz and glamor

    I kept reading hoping the story would get better, but it never did. I finished the book simply because of the time I'd already invested in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Quaint look at NYC in the 40's

    Country girls enjoy behind of the scenes at Tiffany's in the 1940's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    highly recommended

    Great story that you can relate too, no matter when you were born!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    I loved this book - highly Recommended!

    This is a great book - very well written. I loved it and wish I could find more books like this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Loved, loved, loved this book!

    Couldn't put it down and read it in just a day. Such a delightful story! Picked it up in the bookstore more than once and am so glad I went ahead and bought it. I'll certainly read it again! If you're a fan of New York and the era, this book can't be missed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    a summer to remind you of your favorite summer.

    Like most women, the words "Tiffany & Co." and the symbol of that little blue box warm my heart. Mrs. Hart's endearing story about her favorite summer was honest and heartfelt and made me recollect my favorite summer memories. It was an amazing beach read that I've passed to all of my friends. Definitely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do you remember the best summer of your life?

    New York City, 1945. Marjorie Jacobson and her best friend Marty Garrett, arrive fresh from the Kappa house at the University of Iowa hoping to find summer positions as shopgirls. Turned away from the top department stores, they miraculously find jobs as pages at Tiffany & Co., becoming the first women to ever work on the sales floor, a diamond-filled ay job replete with Tiffany-blue shirtwaist dresses from Bonwit Teller's - and the envy of all their friends.

    Looking back on that magical time in her life, Marjorie takes us back to when she and Marty rubbed elbows with the rich and famous, pinched pennies to eat at the Automat, experienced nightlife at La Martinique, and danced away their weekends with dashing midshipmen. Between being dazzled by Judy Garland's honeymoon visit to Tiffany, celebrating VJ Day in Times Square, and mingling with Café society, she fell in love, learned unforgettable lessons, made important decisions that would change her future, and created the remarkable memories she now shares with all of us in Summer at Tiffany, A Memoir by Marjorie Hart.

    I was provided with the opportunity to review this book compliments of TLC Book Tours and found this book amazing and a must read. It is in the midst of WWII, and food rationing and stories in the newspapers and movie newsreels were common place.

    Since this book is a memoir you find out just what it is like to be a young college girl living in NYC at the height of the war. Times were hard as everyone was doing their part to aid in the war, from saving chewing gum wrappers and nylons to bacon grease. You even learn where they were making part of the atom bomb. This is a classic book that ties a personal touch to history during a time when we waited for news that the war would end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get a Glimpse of 1945 in New York City

    This book was absolutely enjoyable. My favorite type of book is historical fiction and I was skeptical about whether or not I would like Summer at Tiffany. However I had planned to read it over a six day vacation and then I ended up finishing it on the first day while traveling!

    Majorie and her friends, like Marty, are very likeable and reminded me of people I know from that generation. Through Majorie's memoir she provides a glimpse for us into a young woman's life in 1945 and VJ Day in New York City. My favorite part of the memoir is VJ Day - I would never have imagined it to be quite like her description.

    I found the writing style to be relaxing to read and yet made her life during those few months very real. The photographs included from their summer certainly add to your visual imagery as you read.

    Summer at Tiffany - a Memoir would be a great book to take to the beach or plan to read over a weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An 'Ohmygosh' Kind of Book

    I don't think I would ever imagine a non-fiction book, or a memoir to be more specific, to be such an amazing read. I'm more of a fantasy, faries and magic, and Harry Potter sort of book lover, but when I started reading this book I knew I was going to love Summer at Tiffany just as much as I did any fiction book. In Summer at Tiffany Marjorie Hart, or Marjorie Jacobson, at the time, tells the story of her most memorable and amazing summer of her life: the summer of 1945 where she and her best friend, MartyGarrett, worked at Tiffany & Co. in New York. Ms. Hart tells all about their adventures around the big city, their apartment on Morningside Drive, the places they went with their midshipmen and of course their experiences as the first two women to ever work on the sales floor at Tiffany's. This book was very different than what I am used to, but I loved it all the same. In some aspects I feel like I could relate and connect to Marjorie and Marty because they are actually real, living people instead of fiction characters like Harry Potter of Eragon. This captivating 258 page book catches your attention from the moment the two girls are looking at Fifth Avenue from a double decked bus to their summers after Tiffany's. I would recommend this book to girls and women from the ages of 13 to infinity. I hope you enjoy! I know I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Cute Story about the 40's!

    'Summer at Tiffany' was a very cute story... however it fell a little flat for me. I was expecting much more from all the praise it has received. I am also a Kappa, love New York, and have much jewelry from Tiffany's... WOW! I loved the history of the 40's. However, I needed my internet to reference all the "old-timers". I enjoyed this quick little read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    I must admit, I picked up Summer at Tiffany by Marjorie Hart just because it was on the Bargain shelf and I clearly judged the book by its cover. I am sure we are all guilty of that one time or another. Her story is a simple sweet telling of family, friends, life and love. The thought of working at Tiffany's during that era was unimaginable. Everyday was an adventure for these girls and I went in for the ride. Her voice was soft spoken, her passion for life was great, but it was her self-respect that made her character remarkable. Just yesturday on my way to manhattan I decided to drive past 106 Morningside Dr., it felt nostalgic. Great read for both summer and winter holidays!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7