Customer Reviews for

Summer at Tiffany

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sweet, but needs a good editor

There were so many editorial mistakes in this book I had to wonder if I was reading a draft. This memoir is a very sweet read, and I do recommend it for an evenings entertainment.

posted by msmezzo on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Summer at Tiffany

Sweet read but RIDICULOUS amount of typos and even transposed or repeated paragraphs. Was this book even edited?

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Sweet, but needs a good editor

    There were so many editorial mistakes in this book I had to wonder if I was reading a draft. This memoir is a very sweet read, and I do recommend it for an evenings entertainment.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great (true) story!

    Wonderful true story, a great glimpse into life in glamorous, "old" New York! Beautifully written, capturing the essence of an Iowa country girl transplanted to NYC - although, as other reviewers have said, this book is very poorly edited - misspellings, repeated paragraphs, characters changing names (and other information changing - was it a teapot or a chocolate pot?) from one paragraph to the next.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Excellent read, minus the horrible typeset and typos for Nook

    Great, easy read, but really has HarperCollins stopped proofing for things such as proper spelling? Several cases of paragraphs that were repeated on multiple pages leaving me to scratch my head and wonder if I was crazy, only to turn back a few pages and see the same paragraph right there. Several instances where I am quite confident the paragraphs were not in the correct order either.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Tiffany's you love this book!

    I enjoyed reading all about the two girls' travels and their summer working at Tiffany's. Being a NYer it was great to hear all about things that no longer exist and things that are still around from this era. The book gave such nice thoughs and explainations of this time period, it made wish that I belonged to that time. A time when things were so much more simple and life was different. I was sad to see it come to an end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Quaint look at NYC in the 40's

    Country girls enjoy behind of the scenes at Tiffany's in the 1940's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get a Glimpse of 1945 in New York City

    This book was absolutely enjoyable. My favorite type of book is historical fiction and I was skeptical about whether or not I would like Summer at Tiffany. However I had planned to read it over a six day vacation and then I ended up finishing it on the first day while traveling!

    Majorie and her friends, like Marty, are very likeable and reminded me of people I know from that generation. Through Majorie's memoir she provides a glimpse for us into a young woman's life in 1945 and VJ Day in New York City. My favorite part of the memoir is VJ Day - I would never have imagined it to be quite like her description.

    I found the writing style to be relaxing to read and yet made her life during those few months very real. The photographs included from their summer certainly add to your visual imagery as you read.

    Summer at Tiffany - a Memoir would be a great book to take to the beach or plan to read over a weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Enjoyable easy read

    Great read for the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Great story, terrible editing

    This book sounded like a perfect summer read, and since I love the 1940's era, I figured it would really be interesting. While the author writes a sweet yarn, it is so filled with editing errors! Still, the story is worth reading, and was written when the talented author was in her eighties (as was her editor husband). Despite the mistakes, the characters (real people) are endearing, and the book, a first-hand account of New York City during an important period in history, is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    A great read, lots if fun with a peek at what it was like living in NYC during WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Wondeful!

    When I figured out it was a trur story, it made all the difference in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    A wonderful memoir of a bygone era.

    Marjorie' s memories of a 1940's NYC summer reads like lighthearted historical fiction. There are parts that make you laugh out loud as well as parts that make you think of your life changing decisions. A great escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Great reading for all ages.

    This story takes place in the 1940's. These young ladies leave their mid-western home for a job in the BIG city. Their life and loves here in NY are exciting. Even with a war going on, life continues. How wonderful!
    My only problem with the book was the printing...words were left out here and there with some mispellings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Great book to take on vacation or to the pool!

    I really enjoyed this true story about 2 small-town girls who get jobs as pages at Tiffany's in the 1940's. Easy, quick read, but very cute story. And I love that the author included a few pictures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I grew up as teenager in this period, so it brought back many good memories.

    It was such sweet book, the characters would or could be my friend. First time living in a big city can be adventure in it self. Each of the friiends were true to their family values. Thanks for good memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Great!

    As a Kappa 50 years later, I might be a little biased. I loved the story, loved picturing NYC 60+ years ago. There were a few editing issues...Loved the included pics and updated info on the author and key people. All in all, a quick, sweet read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    An enjoyable summer read. The details about Tiffany and life in

    An enjoyable summer read. The details about Tiffany and life in New York at the end WWII rang true based on my mother's stories about being a young woman during that time period. After reading other reviewers comments about poor editing I was expecting to find lots of mistakes but didn't notice any in the edition I read - which came from the library. The author did a nice job of capturing the innocent perspective of a young girl from the midwest away from home for the first time and having a great adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Fun, lightweight read

    The story of the first two ladies allowed to work on the sales floor at Tiffany. I saw myself and my own childhood best friend in these two young ladies. It will make you laugh out loud. I always enjoy accurate period peieces. It's interesting to get an insiders view of life during that time in out country's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Easy Read

    This was an interesting story about the author's experiences as a collegiate--her summer working @ Tiffany's in NYC as well as living through WWII. Not only was it easy to read, but it was enlightening as to what the USA was like during that time period. My parents were same age as the author so I could easily imagine them feeling many of the same things that the author did during this time. I would recommend this book for a fun & relaxing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Easy Reading

    This is a cute book with lots of history included. It was a very easy reading book and I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Good summer read

    This book was very sweet. The story of two small town girls hitting the big city during the end of world war 2 was a great story and much different from anything I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2