Customer Reviews for

Summer by the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read.

Another great book by Susan Wiggs. Great story and a great ending. I felt like I knew the characters and I could picture everything Wiggs developed in plot and characters. Can't wait to read another.

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good vacation Read

I read this book while I was on vacation in Florida by the sea. It was a light, enjoyable book with interesting twists and turns in the plot.,

posted by BE22 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    This was my first Susan Wiggs book. To say I was pleased is an understatement. This book was an experience, and it felt epic to me. It spans 20 years and you just get lost in the sad, bittersweet story. This is one of those books that you still feel in your heart long after you have put it down. Read it!! And I promise you won't be sorry. I cannot wait to read another Wiggs novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Summer By The Sea

    By far the best book I have read in a long time and the best review I have ever given a book!
    This was just incredible!
    The story is about a boy and a girl who meet and are on "different sides of the track." They become childhood friends and then fall in love as teenagers. Right before they are to leave for college something happens and Rosa stays behind leaving her dreams for college and her life with Alex and stays in her home town. Twelve years later Alex is back in town and comes to Rosa's restuarant. As much as Rosa fights it, she is still attracted to Alex. Alex's mother has passed away and the circumstances around her death draw them even nearer. The story takes twist and turns you don't expect and ends great.
    I really loved this book and am hoping to read more of her books. It was wrote tastefully and was not offensive which is nice for a change!
    WONDERFUL BOOK!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book! I cried!

    Love this book! I cried!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    A time for everything

    So much time lost. Rosa and Alex needed to listen to each other, also others needed to stay out of their lives. Yet there is a time for everything, and true love is never too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Couldn't put this book down!

    Love, loved this book. It's a fast read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Willowpaw

    *ate the poppy seeds and fel asleep* ((going to ny until mpn, prob wont be able to post bye))

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Goldkits Spirit

    Ummmm, wheres Sapphire?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Sweetspirit

    *pads in limping* l hurt my paw while l was hunting. Can u fix it?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    icebreeze to sweet and everyone else!

    *gives Sweetspirit a poultice.* just come back once a day and get more. Keep off of it as much as possible! (Announcement in echostars den!)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner for Susan Wiggs

    Susan Wiggs continues to write books with predictable endings, but clever plot changes to reach the endings. I have read many, many of her books and enjoy learning about her characters and their human flaws. This is a good read for a rainy day. I recommend all of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great romantic story

    Great read. Gave it to my daughter who read it while we took a motorhome beach trip and she loved it as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Great beach read

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. The characters as so well developed and it is a great story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    What a GREAT book!

    I love how Susan Wiggs grabs your attention and keeps you so engrossed while also teaching you about other cultures!! LOVED it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Great Summer Read!!!

    I could not put this book down!!! It was my first Susan Wiggs book and now I want to read more of her books!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    An Excellent Book!!!

    This was a wonderful story. I loved the characters and, by the end, I felt that I knew them warts and all. I highly recommend this book. It is the first book I've read by Susan Wiggs and I just spent a bundle on 5 more of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Delightful!

    This book is the perfect choice when you are in the mood for a story. The addition of the Italian recipes is a fun bonus!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Highly Recommended

    This book is a page turner. Be ready for an almost sleepless night for I guarantee that once you get the rhythm of the story going, you will not put this book down. This is the first Susan Wiggs novel that I read and I'm now in the process of buying more of her novels. I know this is not her first novel, but since it's the first one I read, I could say that this is a hard act to follow. So we'll see....,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Very Captivating

    What a great poolside book. I love how Susan Wiggs includes recipes with the story line. I will be reading more by her!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2