Customer Reviews for

A Summer in Sonoma

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this one

    As a fan of the Virgin River series, I thought I would try out a stand alone book by Robyn Carr. I found that I am not just a fan of Virgin River, but I really do like Carr's writing.

    A Summer In Sonoma introduces the reader to four high school friends on the verge of turning 30. Each woman looks at the others and feels pangs of envy for one reason or another and thinks the other's life is better than her own. The classic "the grass is always greener" syndrome. What the reader knows is that each has her own issue that makes her life difficult. They are trying to hide it from the others, but sooner or later all their secrets come spilling out.

    This book is part-romance and part-chick-lit. Since a couple of the characters are already married, it is what happens after the happily-ever-after. If you are after a classic romance, this one isn't it for you. If you want something a little more real with a lot of interaction between female friends, then this is the perfect book for a Sunday afternoon.

    I found myself really liking a couple of the characters, while the other two I kept thinking, "Is she really that dumb?" They all did dumb things, but two of them seemed to be over-the-top dumb. Not that this is unrealistic by any means. I think that all of the stories were realistic and their conclusions were the same. Some parts of the story were a little predictable, but in a very real way, so it worked.

    The name A Summer in Sonoma seemed a bit like a misnomer since Sonoma really was barely mentioned as was summer. The story begins in summer and ends into the fall, but really I didn't get much of the Sonoma or the summer part.

    Overall, I really liked this book. I found myself not wanting to put it down. It only took me one day to finish and I had a happy-little feeling in my heart when I finally did put the book down.

    I received this book from netgalley.com

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Engaging

    I really loved this book. Four friends that have known each other since junior high, but have kept secrets about the reality of their lives from each other. And each of them has a "grass is greener on the other side" take on each others problems. When they finally come clean with one another they find out alot about themselves. Each situation was very true to real life obstacles. I found myself almost crying with Marty as she is arguing with her husband who thought the "romancing" was over when you say "I do". I only took two days to read this book because I couldnt put it down. And I suspected all along that Walt was holding out on Cassie about a few details!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly! I would recommend it very highl

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly! I would recommend it very highly!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great book

    If you like the Virgin River Series, this is a great read. It's fun to see how the other characters live!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I loved this book, and I think I fell a little bit in love with

    I loved this book, and I think I fell a little bit in love with Walt.  Once I started reading I couldn't put it down until the end. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Story of life and romance. Enjoy Robyn Carr' settings and stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    A really good book

    I love Robyn Carr's books! They seem so realistic, both with the characters, and with the characters' problems. Her books seem to hold you until the last sentence is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great Read !!!

    This is a great read, it covers friendship, new love, old love, romance, funny moments and so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Wonderful read

    After reading the Virgin River series, I was thrilled to read the story of Walt and Cassie and her friends. I love how the author weaves her stories and characters together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Robyn never disappoints me

    Great book as always....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must read!

    Wasn't expecting much but, it was actually a very enjoyable read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Must Read!!! Love Robyn

    What an emotional ride this book was. I was gripped from the first chapter, getting to know each of the friends, the same age but each at different part in their lives and each looking for something different. The one thing that each of these friends learn is that communication is key, communication with their spouse, with their significant others and above all else, with their friends. I loved how they were always there for each other, no questions asked. The two husbands thought of all of the friends as sisters and treated them as such which was great to see. There were a lot of feelings this books brought up, making me (at least) think about my own relationships with my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    excellent

    love all of Ms Carr's books - this is outstanding also. Characters and plot line is excellent - recommending it to friends and family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Loved it!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It's not my typical book that I would read, I'm a big fan of Patricia Cornwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    A Pleasureable Read

    Originally posted by: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com*****A good listener and easy-going, Walt ,the biker, eases into a friendly relationship with Cassie when she comes by the Harley place to thank him for rescuing her from that bad situation. After meeting for coffee and talk and finally a dinner, he takes Cassie on her first of many motorcycle rides into the beautiful Sonoma area. A new, exciting, non-threatening, fun friendship grows between them while Cassie comes to realize that his intimidating physical appearance belies his nurturing, trustworthy nature. The reader gets to share a courtship that touches the heart and soul.

    While Cassie and Walt's story is never far from the reader's attention, the stories of Cassie's friends, Julie, Marty, and Beth intertwine to create a story replete with struggles, heartaches, fears, and loves - loves that withstand lots of hard knocks. The reader is pulled into this circle of friends and the men in their lives as these four young women give each other unfailing support in good and bad times.

    Robyn Carr creates vibrant characters that bring to the fore conflicts and issues that plague modern society. The reader is privy to the traumas and the struggles to work through life-changing events that the characters experience as they face their fears and brave the possibilities of rejection as they strive to resolve conflicts, solve problems, and overcome tremendous odds. Trust, patience, and communication bring fantastic results.

    Summer in Sonoma is a journey from loneliness to feeling worshipped for Cassie. For Julie, it is a journey from despair and hopelessness to hope, confidence, and reaffirmed love. For Marty, it is a journey from fear of failure to understanding and rekindled love and for Beth, it is a journey from fear of death alone to a joy for life with a man who loves and wants her just like she is. This is a heartwarming story that is beautifully told by Robyn Carr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy spending A Summer in Sonoma with Robyn Carr's charming cast

    A Summer in Sonoma
    Robyn Carr
    Mira, Jun 29 2010, $7.99
    ISBN: 9780778328704

    Emergency room nurse Cassie goes on a date with Ken that turns ugly until Walt the mechanic rescues her. They become friends although he would like their relationship to be intimate; she prefers her man to be more than someone who dirties their hands.

    Firefighter Billy and his wife Julie are in dire financial straits while she carries their fourth child. Firefighter Joe ignores his wife Marty, who is looking closely at her former boyfriend for attention. Doctor Beth struggles with the return of breast cancer while her oncologist Dr. Jerod wants to be with her during and after she receives treatment as he wants a non-medical relationship with her too.

    Though the theme of an ensemble friends struggling with different relationship issues has been done many times before ion TV, movies and novels, the four fully developed BFFs and the hunks in their lives make for a warm engaging contemporary tale. Readers will enjoy spending A Summer in Sonoma with Robyn Carr's charming cast.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7