BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer in the City

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    It's okay...

    The book was great, but the last couple of chapters could have been written better. In my opinion, the book started to get really boring near the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Light and fun

    This was nothing deep, but definitely a really good romantic comedy. Read for fun and feels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Perfect summer read

    Its a pretty quick read, but its suprisingly good. It was well written--sporty yet girly, kinda serious, kinda funny, heart-tugging, but realistic. It was sweet. I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Okayy

    I found it really boring in the beginning and I think the book started to get much much better in the last 100 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    a reviewer

    I really liked this book, it satisfied what you wanted the characters to do throughout the entire book at the end, it was done perfectly. The very beginning was a little dull but was necessary to show the differences between the two story settings. GO GET THIS BOOK ASAP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Summer in the City

    For Jamie, love has never come easy she was always used, because she was the basketball coach¿s daughter. Then, when she is forced to move in with her famous, award-winning Mom for the summer, things starts to change. She has everyone fooled about how much of a tomboy she really is. Jamie, who is always known as the athletic girl, reads romance novels and dreams about falling in love with a boy over the summer. When ever she starts a lacrosse camp in the city, she, after a while, befriends the counselor, Josh. 'They don¿t start off on the right terms.' She also makes a few enemies, and one very good friend Mona. Mona is a true friend to Jamie, even when she messes up. Mona also has a little love story in this book too. When Jamie is hanging out with her friend Ted, she meets Andrew Artistic, creative, romantic Andrew. Perfect, right? Jamie discovers that the boy she loved was right in front of her the entire time. Within Jamie¿s summer she builds a lot of strong friendships, even with her mom. It was neat to watch the character grow throughout the book. For the most part, I liked this book. I found that I had a very hard time putting it down because it was so good. But, it was VERY predictable I knew almost exactly how the book would end within the first 200 pages. I would recommend this book to girls that enjoy Meg Cabot books or romance novels in general. Summer in the City was a very enjoyable read, and is a perfect summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    What it's about

    Jamie loves sports and she always falls for the jocks -- who turn out to be jerks. But this summer she'll be in a big city, with lots of sophisticated guys. And, uh oh ... one very adorable lacross coach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2