Customer Reviews for

Summer in the City

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gosh, this was AMAZING!

    Elizabeth Chandler, you are one of my favorite young adult authors.
    This book was sooo cute and the story plot was unique, which is a rare compliment considering how many YA romances there are out there!

    Okay, Jamie (main girl) is unforgettable. She's a jock, but not like the ones we usually picture when we hear the word. She has this different personality that makes you say "ha-ha I would so do that too".

    JOSH! (main guy) Let's just say I was extremely jealous of Jamie. He's very real and um blush-worthy. :)

    *If you liked I recommend Love at First Click

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    My Favorite Summer Read

    I actually just ordered a replacement for my old book. I read this every summer and they only have paper back so it ends up falling apart after several years.

    Anyways, this book is a wonderful read for a young adult. My mom got it for me in High School in hopes it would open me up to enjoying reading in my leisure time and it did. It has a very relate-able main character who is more of a tom-boy but is also coming into her girly-side. This story takes you on her story from high school to the summer before college where self discovery, change, maturity, and of course love happen.

    Quick, easy, and a very fun read! Bring it to the beach!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Awesome!!

    I loved this book! I loved the ending and will probably reread it every summer. So sweet. Dont hesitate, buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I really like the characters in this story.  Jamie is very likab

    I really like the characters in this story.  Jamie is very likable, and her life has challenges which she gets through with a great attitude.  I like the love story and find it very developed and realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    A reviewer.

    I reviewed this book and I thought that it was amazing from the moment that it began. I think that this is the perfect book to kick-start your romantic and spicy summer. I highly recommend that everybody reads it and then re-reads it! I just wish tha it became a series, because that would make it even better. Reviewed by: Kaitlyn Reed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Really good!

    Once you get into it it gets good but i kinda has a slow start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    its one of those books that just gets to ur heart and wish it co

    its one of those books that just gets to ur heart and wish it could happen to u!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great

    An AMAZING book!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Awesome book

    Luv dis bok it so dope totally cud read dis book ovr nd ovr agaim!!!! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Loved every minute of it!!

    I love this book. One of my fave books. Oh my gosh i just couldnt put it down!!! I think you should buy it you will not be wasting your money at all. You should also check out some of Elizebeth Chandlers other books. Loved them just as much. Dark secrets one and two, the back door of midnight and the kissed by an angel series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love it!!!

    This book was amazing, i love it so much. One of the best books i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im in the middle of the book but so far its soooooooooo good if your deciding whether to buy it u should u wont be wasting your money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    I freakin love this book

    This is a great book i hav prolly read this book about 1,000 times...ok thts a lie, but i hav read this book alot of times. It makes u dream of havin a summer just like this and fallin in love the way the main character did just hitting you unexpectedly. I recommend this book to everyone!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    <3

    Love it! Quick read. I read it every summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    aeesome

    great g2g got phone call lol

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Really good!!

    I really enjoyed this book, it's just so cute!! The first 20 pages are a bit strange but once you get to the middle of the book you just don't want to put it down!! This is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Unforgettable

    When I first picked up this book, I expected it to be another chick flick, but I was surprised. It's very emotional and had me hooked from the start. And even though I know that it's fiction, it gives me faith for myself. I really hope that Elizabeth Chandler writes a sequel or something like this book, because it really was amazing. I can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    I LOVED IT. I LOVED HOW JAMIE DIDNT BELIEVED IN LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT AND EVERYTHING. IT WAS ENTERTAINING. I SOO RECOMMEND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Completely Amazing!

    This book would definitely have to be one of my favorites. I love the main character Jamie, she's so awesome and Josh is OMG HOT!

    It starts out where Jamie's dad is taking his new girlfriend with them for summer vacation to their cabin. Jamie decides she doesn't want to go with them, so she goes to visit her mom- a romance writer- who she hasn't seen in quite some time. When she gets there she goes to a lacrosse camp. What she doesn't realize until she gets there is that the 'Coach' is named Josh, he's only a year older than her, and he's hot! But Jamie tries not to notice because he's a jock and she's been burned by jocks before. So while trying not to notice Josh's obvious hotness she runs into her neighbor whom is also hot- but nowhere near Josh's hotness- and he's a poet.
    You'll have to read the book to find out who Jamie ends up with. Oh and she makes a new friend- Mona, she's super cool too!!

    Awesome, completely awesome!!! Go out and get this book! NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    SUMMER IN THE CITY is a novel based around sports, boys, and romance in the big city of Baltimore, Maryland, where Jamie is going to attend college in the fall. I didn't know if I was going to like this book at first, but I'm happy to say I was pleasantly surprised! I'm not a big sports fan, but this book had enough romance in it to keep me interested! <BR/><BR/>Jamie's parents divorced a long time ago and she lives with her dad. She and her father are very close because Jamie is really into sports and her dad is a football coach. She is the kind of girl that all the guys like hanging out with but not going out with. Her dad wants to take her and her school counselor (his girlfriend) up to their cabin for a summer of camping -- but that doesn't sound so appealing anymore. So instead Jamie goes to spend the summer with her mom, who is an ex-middle school teacher who became a romance writer. <BR/><BR/>Jamie's dad finds a lacrosse camp to enroll her in to give her something to do while she is there. She ends up getting a job helping run a basketball camp for underprivileged children. She loves basketball and the kids so she has a lot of fun! <BR/><BR/>You have to read the book to find out all of Jamie's romantic adventures in the city!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6