BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer of Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 617 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

YELLOWSTONE SUPERINTENDENT DURING THE FIRES OF 1988 COMMENTS ON SUMMER OF FIRE

Bob Barbee, who was the Superintendent of Yellowstone Park from 1983-1988 read SUMMER OF FIRE and called it 'uncannily accurate.' He also wrote, 'Linda Jacobs has produced a gripping novel about one of the most electrifying events in the annals of American wildfires ...
Bob Barbee, who was the Superintendent of Yellowstone Park from 1983-1988 read SUMMER OF FIRE and called it 'uncannily accurate.' He also wrote, 'Linda Jacobs has produced a gripping novel about one of the most electrifying events in the annals of American wildfires - the great Yellowstone fires of 1988. Through her fictional characters, Jacobs has captured the essence of the emotional coaster, high drama, and the outstanding performance of America's finest wild land fire fighters. She has done her homework well and the setting is completely accurate. This is a compelling work and I had difficulty putting it down.'

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Haven't read yet

Although with people who INSIST on telling the whole story here, instead of giving us their opinion on the story, I won't have to. Come on people....just tell us what you thought of the book & stop wasting everyone's time by copying and pasting the whole story here. I h...
Although with people who INSIST on telling the whole story here, instead of giving us their opinion on the story, I won't have to. Come on people....just tell us what you thought of the book & stop wasting everyone's time by copying and pasting the whole story here. I have a little secret for you: it doesn't make you look one little bit smarter, lol!

posted by Dizzymizzy on September 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first free friday book I have read straight through

    The way this author paints a picture with her scenes is incredible. I usually stick to mysteries and romance when I am looking for a book to read, but with the characters and intricate back stories that she laid out for them, this is turning a regular thriller about forest fires and leaving me wanting to know what happens to these characters. I couldn't put it down!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait...

    I was there in '88. For 31 days the Forest Service engine I was on battled many arms of what turned into a huge complex of fires. Watched Cooke City almost turn into Cooked City!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Very Good

    Very good story, written fairly well. I liked the statistics about the real fire - the love story was only so so. I just visited Yellowstone a couple months ago so a lot of the things they were talking about in the book, I could relate to them easily. If you had never been there, I don't think you would get as much out of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Much more than just a romance novel.

    Strong heroine, interesting subject and characters, people working to contain the wild fires of 1988 in Yellowstone Park.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Very interesting read

    I enjoyed the story and the history of the yellowstone fires. Especially toward the end it was hard to put doen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Pretty good

    I could've done without the fire update pages but otherwise pretty good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Worth reading

    A little too factual at times but strong characters, great storyline and interesting to those of us that didn't know so much about firefighters. 334 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Free Friday worth reading

    This was a free friday special and, i am so glad i got it. I couldnt put it diwn from begining to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    A fantastic book

    One of the many fast paced interesting and moving books I have ever read. Highly recommend you read it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I just finished reading this ebook as we traveled through Yellow

    I just finished reading this ebook as we traveled through Yellowstone. I found it fascinating and enjoyed knowing the places they were talking about. I remember the fires of '88 and had never read about them in books. A great read for someone traveling to the park or area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    I enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed the storyline of the book. The descriptions of the fires that were being fought as the story progressed was very clear and helped me to visualize the surroundings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great book!

    Great read from start to finish. Thanks free friday!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    interesting

    a bit of a slow read, but interesting with the truth based aspects

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read

    This one is a page turner that really his close to home. Firefighting is heroic, and this fire was one of the toughest. Well written, and worth a second read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Good Read

    This book took awhile to get started, but wanted to finish it to find out how it ends. Seems to follow history. I would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good story left me wanting more

    Well drawn, complex characters that you grow to care about. A good story with lots of fascinating context about the Yellowstone fires. Wish Jacobs's sequels continued the stories of these characters -- wanted to know more about what happened to them, just as they started working things out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Interesting read

    After reading this book, I now want to visit Yellowstone and see for myself the places that were so well described in this book. I didn't remember the scope of the fires in Yellowstone that summer, but am impressed by the descriptions of the firefighters and all their hard work to protect one of our National Parks. Well written, well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Fascinating story.

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    I really enjoyed this author.

    I have not read any books by this author in the past, but will definitely read more of hers. The book was really good with plenty of twists and drama. Her research into fighting fires is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Very enjoyable!

    I enjoyed this "historic novel" It carried me back to many years of summer vacations in the park before the fire and to feel the devistation of the fire plus a good story line of believable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12