Customer Reviews for

Summer of My German Soldier (Puffin Modern Classics)

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.

I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are w...
I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are we need to follow our heart and walk in the Lord's footsteps. This book also teaches us about the holocaust in a non-boring way but in a interesting way. Bette Greene writes this book so beautifully and makes me feel like I am standing next to Patty ( the main character) She makes the story so Life-like using objects such as Lysol Spray to Juicy Fruit Chewing Gum. Overall this book was definately amazing. I plan on reading the next book soon! I would definately recommend this book for all ages!! One of the best books I ever read. Hope this review helps! Now what are you waiting for? GO BUY THIS AWESOME BOOK!!! :)

posted by 4477527 on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dont read

This book was very boring- i wouldnt read it again

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    AMAZING.

    I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are we need to follow our heart and walk in the Lord's footsteps. This book also teaches us about the holocaust in a non-boring way but in a interesting way. Bette Greene writes this book so beautifully and makes me feel like I am standing next to Patty ( the main character) She makes the story so Life-like using objects such as Lysol Spray to Juicy Fruit Chewing Gum. Overall this book was definately amazing. I plan on reading the next book soon! I would definately recommend this book for all ages!! One of the best books I ever read. Hope this review helps! Now what are you waiting for? GO BUY THIS AWESOME BOOK!!! :)

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Unforgettable Summer

    Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene is a suspenseful, unusual, and inspiring novel. It depicts the story of a smart and intellectual 12 year old Jewish girl named Patty Bergen and her transition from a girl into a woman after helping a noble German prisoner of war during WWII. <BR/> Patty Bergen is a young girl who is affected by her parent¿s lack of love and rejection. Her parents are inconsiderate and hateful. Thankfully, Patty has someone in her life, the family¿s black housekeeper Ruth, who loves her unconditionally and is greatly appreciated by Patty because she seems to be the only person that understands her. Patty is also very intrigued by the war and current events. At the time German prisoners of war are brought to her small town Jenkensville, Arkansas. This creates animosity and fear among the people of the town.<BR/> Patty meets a German soldier named Anton and becomes smitten by him. Patty runs into problems when Anton escapes from prison camp, and she immediately helps him from being captured by helping him hide in a secret room their garage. This creates problems for Patty because a Jewish girl helping a German prisoner of war is not a thing anyone could imagine in her time. She defies her parents, peers, and religion. Patty looks beyond the obvious and helps Anton because she believes he¿s a good man regardless his German background. <BR/> I admire Patty because she endures many things a 12 year could never do. She acts with an intellectual mind and knows right from wrong depending on facts. She does not base her decision to help Anton on his race. Patty seems far more intelligent and less ignorant than her parents. She is strong and has her ideals set straight which is something I look up to. Patty did not inherit her parent¿s prejudice minds and cold hearts. <BR/> Summer of My German Soldier is very inspirational and makes us realize that we can¿t classify people based on their race, ethnic background, or religion. It motivates me to help anyone that is ever in need regardless of their appearance because they might have a valuable lesson to teach me in return.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    most interesting book about the subject

    This book tells you about a girl who befriends a german soldier.(who are despised for their role in the holocaust).It sort of teaches the lesson to not judge someone before getting to know them. Only reason i didn't give it a five star rating was because i didn't like the ending.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    REALLY GOOD!

    I read this book and it was amazing I even cried at some parts and I'm not a crier I highly recomend it is incredibly sad so if you get your heart ripped out over sad books DO NOT read this

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved this book! It was so well written and descriptive. SPOILER ALERT: I cried when Anton died. It was a sad part, but a great part as well. I highly reccomend this book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I thought Patty was such a brave character. Bette Greene made me

    I thought Patty was such a brave character. Bette Greene made me love Anton and Patty. Patty was so witty and I liked that about her. I thought she was extremely strong since she beared through her parents mistreatment. Ruth always managed to make me laugh. I must say this was my first time reading a story about a german soldier. All the events in the story definitely connected to history. At last I plan to read the sequel to The Summer of My German Soldier.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Y

    If you liked this, I just know you'll like "phillip Hall Likes Me, I Reckon Maybe" It's awesome! All the books by this author are!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    The nineteen people who gave this book one star have obviously n

    The nineteen people who gave this book one star have obviously never been taught to read literature critically and analytically. This is a wonderful story, full of life like characters that are just as deep and shallow as the people who surround us in real life, and features an ending that will make readers question what it means to be human in the truest sense of the word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Dont read

    This book was very boring- i wouldnt read it again

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    one of the most pointless books i have ever read!

    This book is terribly depressing and poorly written and laid out. The description makes the book sound so good- but do not be deceived! The end is HORRIBLE and i would never recommend reading it. Although the author had good intentions the book did not reflect her effort.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Great Book!

    I read this book in school with my class and teacher, my teacher did the greatest impressions and the book was really good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    You Can Skip This One...

    I read this book for a school Book Report and i was very dissapointed. My expectations weren't very high to begin with, but i was amazed at the lack of substance that the book contained. The plot was weak, basically about a girl whoes parents dont love her, and of course, the german soldier. She gets caught helping him and that is basically the whole story line. If you have to do a book report on WWII, dont chose this one. I thought that it would be about how the war effected life in America, but the book is more about Patty and rarely touches on the war. I would go more in the direction of Soldier Boys, if I were you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Don't Miss This One!

    This is one of the most enjoyable books I have read in a long time. I was about the age of the girl's little sister during WW11 so it brought back a lot of memories. I was surprised at how many of my friends didn't know that we actually had POW camps here in the US. Well written and one I hated to have to put down for a minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Summer of my german soldier  bette greene¿s summer of my ger





    Summer of my german soldier
     bette greene’s summer of my german soldier features a dynamic main character finds love and learn to appreciate herself in poor family relationships. The book is noteworthy for its character development as the novel progress, the character’s ability to change despite bad circumstances in her family, and the emotion the book evokes, bette greene known for writing summer of my german soldier based off her childhood experiences which she written into the book. Summer of my german soldier which one of its main theme is self-esteem to which the main character lacks. bette greene’s book asks readers can self esteem be raised from love? yep self esteem can be raised. 
    The book has a interesting plot because the novel uses memories to explain some events, and more insight into the reasons for the character's low self-worth and allowing for some emotional connection as when the character mentions giving a shirt to her father but ignores it but shows little appreciation for his daughter’s gift, and the mother forces the protagonist to get her hair done because she doesn’t like how its unneatly fashioned. 
    The characterization is average though as “ the character is directly described in appearance but readers need to read certain phrases to grasp character personalities, as in the phrase “some day when the war is over,” “ I heard the sound of conviction in my voice” “you’ll go back to school, become a doctor.”(greene bette summer of my german soldier) showing signs of hope in the character’s voice. 
    bette greene uses a good quality of figurative language to get her point across which is unique “ he was looking at me like he saw me- like he liked what he saw.”(greene bette summer of my german soldier) bette greene allows for character development and the idea of saving others by risking yourself, as the story progress the protagonist changes. 
    The novel also gives some romance and allows readers to connect easily through its deep emotion with the main character.  I liked how Summer of my german soldier allows for character development and the use of a family setting and uses some romance to allow for this character development but one meeting with a loved one can’t improve one’s self esteem because there's still problems that haven't been solved to improve one’s self esteem. one problem is the familial abuse of the father in the story that angered me or the mother’s emotional abuse which wasn’t solved for the character in its conclusion but allowed for me to connect to the character. The book is similar to story called shadows of war which both uses the setting of wartime, elements of death and infatuation, but shadows of war lacks any emotional connections to the character, lack of character development, and no theme of self-esteem or families.
     Summer of my german soldier when i first thought it was a romance novel i was wrong as the book is more for readers that appreciate light romance, a dynamic character, friendships, and society. Readers of the book should enjoy bette greene’s emotional but awe inspiring book of being able to improve self-esteem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    The book Summer of my German Soldier by Bette Greene is a captiv

    The book Summer of my German Soldier by Bette Greene is a captivating piece told through the eyes of a ten year old American Jewish girl whose town is holding a P.O.W. camp filled with German soldiers. Young Patty tells of her family and friends as she is whipped back and forth between right and wrong. Throughout the book Patty is finding who she is as a person, daughter,friend,sister,and granddaughter. This piece is captivating and brings a new perspective of Love and its power. One of my favorite things about this book is that it didn't have a so called cookie cutter ending. It was realistic and brought me in pulling on my heart strings. My favorite quote from this book was  Quote: “But if Ruth played the piano I think she’d play only the cracks between the keys. She seems best suited for walking that thinnest of lines between respectfulness and subservience.” I love this quote because it shows how the story is told through child's eyes when speaking of the piano and then shows how smart Patty is and how she really peices things together and is more mature than her age. This book had a lot of connections made to the Bible. Patty has mainly one friend and that is her “caretaker” Ruth, who is an African American women who cooks cleans and takes care of Patty and her sister. Ruth is the one that quotes the most scripture and has the girls pray before they eat. Patty Has no relationship with her mother other than knowing she will never be good enough and as for her father her only physical contact with him is with his belt or fists. Patty grows throughout this book and learns Quote: “So, P.B I speak as an expert When I say you will have it all…. Because you are no common garden flower you are unique.” and realizes she is worth something.-H.S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Summer of My German Soldier

    Although this was an older book from the 70's, I had wanted to read it since the 6th grade! This was a really good story! I always wondered (after seeing the made-for-TV movie) if it was based on a true story and after reading a note fron the author found out it is! I think it made the book more emotional for me! Read the book! You will find ourself cheering Patty on as she refuses to give into her parent's abuse of her and still remains a truly good person!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Amazing book!

    This book is great! I would definitley recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Patty Bergen craves a more caring relationship with her mother a

    Patty Bergen craves a more caring relationship with her mother and father, but she has a pseudo-Christian mom, Ruth, who is the housekeeper. Her town has recently been designated to hold captured German prisoners, but during her summer break she comes across an escapee. Anton is not like the German prisoners, she has heard about through the town’s gossip. He is nice and caring. Patty has to choose between betraying her family and helping Anton remain safe.

    By keeping the dialect true to both the setting and the characters, Bette Greene takes readers on a journey back in time, to the heart of a small community in the South. Though this can be difficult for some readers, it helps keep the story genuine. Told through the eyes of a twelve year old girl, young readers can relate to the main character’s emotions and struggles. Packed full of moral dilemmas, this book demonstrates the importance of acceptance and being nonjudgmental. Despite the fact that most readers had to read this in school, this is a wonderful book to go back and re-read, several times over.

    Notes:
    This review was written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on the Ariesgrl Book Reviews site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Very boring

    When first started to read the book the chapters were too long and boring no action sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    I love this book so much!! I had to read it for my summer school

    I love this book so much!! I had to read it for my summer school and i totally recommend this book 100% to anyone who loves reading romance. It's not your ordinary romance but this is a really good book. And for the people who said it's boring and stuff, you guys don't know the true feeling you have when reading this. I feel sorry for you. Anyway, this book is very very moving. It gives you hope in a way. :))))) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13