BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Summer of My German Soldier

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.

I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are w...
I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are we need to follow our heart and walk in the Lord's footsteps. This book also teaches us about the holocaust in a non-boring way but in a interesting way. Bette Greene writes this book so beautifully and makes me feel like I am standing next to Patty ( the main character) She makes the story so Life-like using objects such as Lysol Spray to Juicy Fruit Chewing Gum. Overall this book was definately amazing. I plan on reading the next book soon! I would definately recommend this book for all ages!! One of the best books I ever read. Hope this review helps! Now what are you waiting for? GO BUY THIS AWESOME BOOK!!! :)

posted by 4477527 on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dont read

This book was very boring- i wouldnt read it again

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Book

    Liked it but didnt make a lot of sense

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Summer of my german solider

    Chapter one is really boring but once it passes chapter2 and on is wonderful and interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good reading

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Summer of My German Soldier

    In Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene, Patty Bergen is a self-conscious Jewish girl in search of love and acceptance. The story takes place in the midst of WWII in Jenkinsville Arkansas where Nazi prisoners are being held. Under constant neglect from her parents, Patty manages to find friendship in Anton, a recently escaped Nazi prisoner of war. Patty risks all for her first glimpse at love and gives Anton food and a place to hideout in her attic. With the help of their housekeeper Ruth, Patty manages to gain self-confidence obtain a better outlook on life. Out of all the characters I can relate to Anton the most. Other characters were self-conscious, overaggressive, and racist. In fact, most of the townspeople were more then happy to run an Asian storeowner out of town. Anton, on the other hand, remained calm, well spoken, and accepting of his general situation. Even while serving in Hitler¿s army he was able to uphold his own beliefs. I did not enjoy reading this novel at all. Many characters had southern accents which made it difficult to read. The entire story seemed like a mispronounced account of how terrible things kept happening to a young girl. Not until the last couple pages of the book did her life actually start to improve. My favorite part of the book is when Anton was discovered by Ruth. It was the only suspenseful moment in the book. If I could change the story I would rid everyone¿s southern accent in order to make reading easier. One who enjoys reading about young girls overcoming hardships might enjoy this book, but I do not recommend this book to anyone. It focuses on awful events and is frustrating to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Why do English teachers force us to read this?

    It was really hard to grasp the beginning of the story. (partly because I was forced to read it, anyway :P) I just didn't really like it all that much...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    This Book Wasn't So Great!!!

    I would give this book two stars because the beginning was hard to get involved with but towards the middle itr got hard to put down. If I were you don't like history I would not htink about reading this book unless you have to. Another reason I don't like this book much is because of the plot. I don't like hidden love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    'Okay, I guess.'

    I give this book two stars. I thought that this book wasn't very exciting. The only part I thought was exciting would probably be when Patty sees Ruth at the girls reformatory. I thought this book was very boring. And I am also not really interested in wars and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Summer of my German Soldier

    i gave this book three stars because it was very boring. It lacked a lot of excitment, and it didnt keep my atention on the book. i also dont like historical fiction books. This book would be right for you if you like wars and you are into history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    ~I DON'T LIKE HISTORICAL-FICTION BOOKS~

    The book Summer of my German Soldier is about a wealthy girl that falls in love with a Nazi. Then she gets caught hiding him. Patty was then sent to a reformatorry for girls. I gave this book 2 stars because I don't like hisorical- fiction books. The book didn't make me want to read on, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Summer of My German Soldier

    I would give this book 2 stars because in the beginning the book is very hard to get into but in the end it is very hard to put down and stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    What were the rest of the reviewers reading?

    i read and was dissapointed in this book. it was hard to get into, and hard to follow. i can't believe that some of the ppl who reviewed this book said it was the best book they ever read. i have to TOTALLY dissagree. and i hated the girl's,patty, was that her name?, father.i had pictured the book completely differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    NOT THAT GREAT

    THIS BOOK WAS AN OKAY BOOK BUT IT WAS MORE ABOUT PATTY THAN IT WAS ON THE GERMAN SOLDIER 'CUZ THATS THE TITLE OF THE BOOK 'SUMMER OF MY GERMAN SOLDIER' WELL HES NOT HARDLY MENTIONED SOO MUCH IN THIS BOOK. AND IF YOU DONT LIKE BOOKS THAT DONT HAVE A HAPPY ENDING THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR YOU. THE ENDING IS DISSAPOINTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    I did not like the book

    I think the book was missing excitment. It seemed as if the author tends to share the life of patty more then the story of Anton and patty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    I'd rather watch ballet.

    We'll.......this book is.....bad. But it really all depends on your opinion of books. I believe this is more of a chick flick changed into a book. This book is more for the girls and me being a boy you understand. Thanks for the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1