Customer Reviews for

Summer of My German Soldier

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.

I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are w...
I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are we need to follow our heart and walk in the Lord's footsteps. This book also teaches us about the holocaust in a non-boring way but in a interesting way. Bette Greene writes this book so beautifully and makes me feel like I am standing next to Patty ( the main character) She makes the story so Life-like using objects such as Lysol Spray to Juicy Fruit Chewing Gum. Overall this book was definately amazing. I plan on reading the next book soon! I would definately recommend this book for all ages!! One of the best books I ever read. Hope this review helps! Now what are you waiting for? GO BUY THIS AWESOME BOOK!!! :)

posted by 4477527 on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dont read

This book was very boring- i wouldnt read it again

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Smoke 101

    Amazing book. I thought that Anton would make it to be a doctor, but, for some reason, Bette Greene decided Anton to be killed. I mean,seriously! And the LOVE between Patty and him is kind of disturbing. A so-so book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Summary of Summer of My German Soldier

    Summer of My German Soldier, a novel by Bette Greene, is a rather instinctive yet heart-warming tale about two banned lovers, a Romeo and Juliet of the twentieth century. This novel has a theme connecting to race and ethnicity, and shows that your label, whether it is Jewish or Nazi, does not determine the kind of person you are. The author used irony in the text because the book is about a Jewish girl loving a Nazi POW and her African-American nanny during World War two. This situation was very rare and ironic in the 1940s time period. I would recommend this book to people that value and respect ethnicity and diversity because this book because this book is about differences and ethnicity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    a decent book!

    Im Brian Resnik, I go to Burgettstown middle school. I had to read this book for my eight grade english class. I liked the book, but it started off so slow and it was not a start that wants me to read on. Although it started slow, it started to build more suspense later in the novel, and i wanted to find out what would happen next. Overall the book was decent and i enjoyed reading it for the most part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Summer of my German Soldier

    Summer of my German Soldier By: Bette Greene Picture yourself being 12 years old, without parents fully in your life, and in love with a German soldier during the time Hitler was going insane. It seems almost unrealistic right? Well, that¿s what I thought, but then I read Summer of my German Soldier by Bette Greene. In Summer of my German Soldier, a young girl, Patty, falls for a soldier that comes to her small town. Even though her father wouldn¿t approve of her seeing this man she does it anyways. She even takes the biggest risk, hiding him in her garage! What will her dad do if he finds out? That was the question I asked myself. The part that really amazed me and got my curiosity rising was when her father saw the ring. What ring you may ask? Well the soldier gave it to her before he left. Her father was outraged when he saw the ring he even hired F.B.I agents to see where it came from. You will be amazed to see how her father treats the situation. Summer of my German Soldier was a terrific book. IT was a great love story. It showed my that some people would put there life and safety in danged to be with someone they truly love. I¿m thinking about reading the second book that follows this one. I absolutely adore this book, I would recommend it to young adults and adults. There is some language and harsh treatment. If you are at the age limit and like a love story with some action to it read Summer of my German Soldier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Summer of My German Soldier review by a LTMS 6th grader

    Critical Review By: LTMS 6th grader My book was Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene. This Historical Fiction book has been published for 30 years and has won a Newberry Honor to Bette Greene. Summer of My German Soldier is about a girl named Patty Bergen in the summer she turns 12 during WWII. Patty is alone and unusually different. She meets Anton who is the one person who understands her, but there is one thing they can¿t tell anyone, and it¿s the biggest thing of all, there friendship together. They cannot tell anyone because Patty is a Jew and Anton is a German soldier who was being held prisoner outside of Jenkinsville, Arkansas. Patty feels Anton is just like her with the same feelings and thoughts. Patty really wants one thing and that is to help him escape, but yet the consequences will change her life forever. In this book one strength is when Patty and her family go to the store and the Germans come in looking for hats to cover their heads from the hot sun. Patty along with her family was quite impressed because the Germans could speak such fluent English. Even though they were impressed with there language, they also felt very frightened and threatened while seeing this. They were unsure what the next move was. I expected in this part of the book for the Soldiers to arrest them. It ended up being a normal situation of going to the store, which I¿m sure they were relieved. A weakness in this book is when Patty and her family went to visit her grandparents and thought this wasn¿t exciting as the other parts of the book. I recommend this book to readers that are very interested in historical books because this book is very historical. I think this book is interesting but, I wouldn¿t say it was my favorite because I enjoy reading mysteries more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    In Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene, Patty Bergen is a Jewish girl in search of love and acceptance. The story takes place in WWII, Jenkinsville Arkansas. she got neglect from her parents, Patty finds a new friendship in Anton, a prisoner of war. Patty risks all for her first glimpse at love, gives Anton food, and a place to hideout in her attic. Other characters were kinda dumb, overaggressive, and racist. Anton, on the other hand, remained calm, well spoken, and accepting of his general situation. I did not enjoy reading this novel at all. It's difficult to read and The story seemed like a mispronounced account of how terrible things happening to the girl. Not until the last couple pages of the book did her life actually start to improve. One who enjoys reading about young girls overcoming hardships might enjoy this book, must be very interested in little gurls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Summer of My German Soldier

    The title was okay, but not great. The reason that i would have changed the title is to make more people intersted in the book. Based on the title when i first read the title i thought to myself that this was going to be a boring book. But the book was great so much more detail was put into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    Review

    This novel was okay, and it was dramatic. If you like romance then you should read this book. It is about a girl named Patty who meets a Nazi Soldier and falls in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Worth the read

    The reason I gave this book only three stars is because the book had a very slow start. It lacked action and I think it could have included more information about what it was like living during WWII. The author did a good job of making you dislike Patty's parents and feeling the warm heart of Ruth. It wasn't a bad book, but I just think it could have been better. In the end, the book got alot better and was worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Hmmm....

    This book was good, but I really think the author kind of made a scary romance story in the background. The main idea of the story was very good, and it really did show World War II through the point of view of people in very unique situations, but it kind of scared me how there was a 'thing' going on between the two main characters. Patty has just turned 12 and Anton is in his 20s. Maybe if Patty had been about 16 or so I would have been okay with the story. At the same time, her being so young added to the story as she was able to see the prejudice around her and act brave under pressure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Summer of My German Soldier

    I thought the book was good but I wasn't really interested in it that much. Patty's father made me mad that he kept saying Patty was a liar. I thought the whole book showed that you have to be brave to do the things that you think are right when other people think is wrong. When Patty took Anton to the attic of the garage I thought it was really brave of her to keep Anton hidden from people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Summer of My German Soldier

    The book was slow to pick up, but it held a valuable lesson; to be true to your heart and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Don't buy it!!

    Summer of my German Soldier was an okay book, but in some parts I could hardly stay awake to read it. If you really wanted ti read this book, I would check it out at the library and not waste my time and money buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    BORING

    this book was so boring that, nobody took the time to read the whole book. I'm the only person that didn't cheat that really knew some of the book. 3 thumbs down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Grrr

    this was an awesome book, up until the end. why did he have to die? i dont get it!!! im just going to pretend that in her sequel he is still alive...a girl can wish, cant she?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    A very interesting book.

    This book was one of the three books that I had to read over the summer. The first few chapters were sort of snoozy but if you stick with it it will keep you turning the pages. I thought it was so romantic the way that Anton gave Patty his ring. I was very upset with the ending. I am looking foward to reading the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Great, but the ending was horrible

    i loved the book until the last few chapters cause the ending sucked. When Patty ends up in the school everything seems to be horrible, and Ruth makes it seem ok, and Then Ruth leaves. Thats it, i mean since there is a sequl it may be given more props but what kind of an ending is that anyways??? If you want a rebuttal, Danikillaeyez@hotmail.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Summer of My German Soldier

    Summer of My German Soldier is a book worth reading.Patty Bergen is a very kind and loving girl.The rest of the characters are very well made up.This could've used a bit more action and a big twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    The Escaped German Soldier

    The book is not that great. It was kinda boring.The book has some exciting parts but the rest was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    SOMGS

    It was kind of boring throughout the story, but it had a good storyline. I think that depending on your mood it could be a good book, but otherwise don't even bother with it. It would be better if it maybe were worded differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2