Customer Reviews for

Summer of My German Soldier

Average Rating 4
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.

I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are w...
I had to read this book for school and at first I said to myself " Oh great. Another one of those boring books about soldiers for school" but after reading this book I had a whole other perspective of life. This book reminds us that no matter what we are or who we are we need to follow our heart and walk in the Lord's footsteps. This book also teaches us about the holocaust in a non-boring way but in a interesting way. Bette Greene writes this book so beautifully and makes me feel like I am standing next to Patty ( the main character) She makes the story so Life-like using objects such as Lysol Spray to Juicy Fruit Chewing Gum. Overall this book was definately amazing. I plan on reading the next book soon! I would definately recommend this book for all ages!! One of the best books I ever read. Hope this review helps! Now what are you waiting for? GO BUY THIS AWESOME BOOK!!! :)

posted by 4477527 on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dont read

This book was very boring- i wouldnt read it again

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Unforgettable Summer

    Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene is a suspenseful, unusual, and inspiring novel. It depicts the story of a smart and intellectual 12 year old Jewish girl named Patty Bergen and her transition from a girl into a woman after helping a noble German prisoner of war during WWII. <BR/> Patty Bergen is a young girl who is affected by her parent¿s lack of love and rejection. Her parents are inconsiderate and hateful. Thankfully, Patty has someone in her life, the family¿s black housekeeper Ruth, who loves her unconditionally and is greatly appreciated by Patty because she seems to be the only person that understands her. Patty is also very intrigued by the war and current events. At the time German prisoners of war are brought to her small town Jenkensville, Arkansas. This creates animosity and fear among the people of the town.<BR/> Patty meets a German soldier named Anton and becomes smitten by him. Patty runs into problems when Anton escapes from prison camp, and she immediately helps him from being captured by helping him hide in a secret room their garage. This creates problems for Patty because a Jewish girl helping a German prisoner of war is not a thing anyone could imagine in her time. She defies her parents, peers, and religion. Patty looks beyond the obvious and helps Anton because she believes he¿s a good man regardless his German background. <BR/> I admire Patty because she endures many things a 12 year could never do. She acts with an intellectual mind and knows right from wrong depending on facts. She does not base her decision to help Anton on his race. Patty seems far more intelligent and less ignorant than her parents. She is strong and has her ideals set straight which is something I look up to. Patty did not inherit her parent¿s prejudice minds and cold hearts. <BR/> Summer of My German Soldier is very inspirational and makes us realize that we can¿t classify people based on their race, ethnic background, or religion. It motivates me to help anyone that is ever in need regardless of their appearance because they might have a valuable lesson to teach me in return.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    most interesting book about the subject

    This book tells you about a girl who befriends a german soldier.(who are despised for their role in the holocaust).It sort of teaches the lesson to not judge someone before getting to know them. Only reason i didn't give it a five star rating was because i didn't like the ending.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Summer of my german soldier  bette greene¿s summer of my ger





    Summer of my german soldier
     bette greene’s summer of my german soldier features a dynamic main character finds love and learn to appreciate herself in poor family relationships. The book is noteworthy for its character development as the novel progress, the character’s ability to change despite bad circumstances in her family, and the emotion the book evokes, bette greene known for writing summer of my german soldier based off her childhood experiences which she written into the book. Summer of my german soldier which one of its main theme is self-esteem to which the main character lacks. bette greene’s book asks readers can self esteem be raised from love? yep self esteem can be raised. 
    The book has a interesting plot because the novel uses memories to explain some events, and more insight into the reasons for the character's low self-worth and allowing for some emotional connection as when the character mentions giving a shirt to her father but ignores it but shows little appreciation for his daughter’s gift, and the mother forces the protagonist to get her hair done because she doesn’t like how its unneatly fashioned. 
    The characterization is average though as “ the character is directly described in appearance but readers need to read certain phrases to grasp character personalities, as in the phrase “some day when the war is over,” “ I heard the sound of conviction in my voice” “you’ll go back to school, become a doctor.”(greene bette summer of my german soldier) showing signs of hope in the character’s voice. 
    bette greene uses a good quality of figurative language to get her point across which is unique “ he was looking at me like he saw me- like he liked what he saw.”(greene bette summer of my german soldier) bette greene allows for character development and the idea of saving others by risking yourself, as the story progress the protagonist changes. 
    The novel also gives some romance and allows readers to connect easily through its deep emotion with the main character.  I liked how Summer of my german soldier allows for character development and the use of a family setting and uses some romance to allow for this character development but one meeting with a loved one can’t improve one’s self esteem because there's still problems that haven't been solved to improve one’s self esteem. one problem is the familial abuse of the father in the story that angered me or the mother’s emotional abuse which wasn’t solved for the character in its conclusion but allowed for me to connect to the character. The book is similar to story called shadows of war which both uses the setting of wartime, elements of death and infatuation, but shadows of war lacks any emotional connections to the character, lack of character development, and no theme of self-esteem or families.
     Summer of my german soldier when i first thought it was a romance novel i was wrong as the book is more for readers that appreciate light romance, a dynamic character, friendships, and society. Readers of the book should enjoy bette greene’s emotional but awe inspiring book of being able to improve self-esteem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Story of love and what sometimes follows!

    This is a story of love and what sometimes follows, not always what you want or even expect. I read this book in two hours, i loved it i could not put it down for a second, a must read. It is about young love and what can happen. Even what you don't want to happen does but it gives you strength and courage to do whats in your heart, when others do not understand. I highly recremend this story of love and redemtion. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    One of the best novels ever written!

    This book is one of my all time favorite books. My brothers girlfriend dropped off a stack of books and this one caught my attention. I thought it tought a great lesson and i would like to read the companion to the book. I will admit that the ending wasn't to my liking but im hoping that if i read the companion it will explain things more. The main character, Patty, or Patrica is such a kind and warm-hearted person and i hated everytime she was hurt. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read and wants a book set during World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Review of Summer of My German Soldier By Bette Greene

    Do you want a book that has love, betrayal, and freedom? Summer of my German Soldier by Bette Green would be just perfect. In the year of 1942, Patty Bergen is a free spirited young girl that lives with her abusive father and non-caring mother. Patty meets a German soldier named Anton. He is a POW 'prisoner of war' in her hometown of Jenkinsville, Arkansas and wants freedom. As she helps him to escape the POW camp, she falls in love with him and it is very hard for her to let him go, but she knows that she has to. Will Patty be found out? Will Anton die? These questions raced through my mind while reading Summer of my German Soldier. This story really grabs your attention and will not let go until the end. I love this book because of Patty¿s maid, Ruth, an older colored women that always helps Patty with family drama. She is always there for Patty and has a really big heart. As I was reading I just wanted to jump through the book and give Ruth a big hug. This book is an amazing, heart-stopping story that will take your breath away. In the end I would say that only girls over the age of twelve should read this book because of foul language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Summer of My German Soldier

    Most adults say that teenagers are too young to fall in love. But it actually can happen, and it did. Summer of My German Soldier is a book by Bette Greene basically says that a thirteen year old girl Patty Bergen falls in love with a German soldier [Anton] but they can¿t be together because he is a prisoner in the P.O.W, plus he is way older than her So she helps Anton escape, and he lives in her hide out in the top of her attic. Patty¿s father beats her and her mother is verbally abusive to her so all she has is the colored maid Ruth and Anton. After a while of hiding Anton gets anxious and wants to leave to be free and he does, its breaks Patty¿s heart but she knew it had to happen. Later on in the week she found out that he had died trying to leave the border. She went crazy and her parents found out that she was hiding him and they sent her to Arkansas Reformatory For Girls. My favorite part in the book is where Patty¿s father found out she was hitting car bumpers with rocks and her dad began to beat her ¿when Anton heard it he came out with fist flying to save Patty and she was screaming NO NO NO! GO AWAY!! It was a love at first sight moment she knew that she loved him and he was in love with her. Its my favorite scene because he proved his feelings to her and her dad didn¿t even find out about it. I would recommend this book too people whom like drama, romance, and a lot of violence. Also this book has a lot of profanity in it so I would see that only children 12 and older read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Review of Summer of My German Soldier

    What if your life has always been uneventful and bland, but then all of a sudden your life has turned upside down? In my 8th grade English class we just got finished reading Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene. Many of my classmates enjoyed the book and thought it exceedingly beneficial. Patty Bergen is the unique and practical protagonist in this book. Patty, at the age of twelve, leads an ordinary, boring life until the German POW soldiers come out of the train to enter the prison in Patty¿s small town of Jenkinsville, Arkansas. Patty meets one of the German soldiers named Anton. In an instant they form a relationship all their own. Soon after, Anton escapes from the prison. The heat of his search becomes extreme. What will happen to Anton? What will Patty do now that she knows the soldier? In this book the most interesting part out of the whole entire story, for me, would have to be when Anton leaves for New York. Anton and Patty confess their feelings through Patty¿s first kiss. Anton gives his family ring to Patty as a memento of himself. That part in the book was inspiring and uplifting of the soul. The most important moral of the story would have to be, no matter who you are or what you are you can still have the ability to love and love fully and unconditionally. Life is lived with great love, that¿s why I say life without love is no life at all. I sincerely enjoyed this book. It¿s full of romance, adventure and many lessons to take home. This book is worth every minute you spend reading it. I recommend this to readers over the age of twelve who are able to comprehend its contents. Also, for people who take an interest in romance and historical philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    My grandma got me this book in a 10 cent book sale, and the cover looked boring, so I didn't want to read it at first. Boy, was I surprised! The book quickly captivated me, even though at some times I thought it could be better. I nearly cried at what happened to Anton (im not gonna spoil it), but I just looked and found out Summer of My German Soldier has a sequel that I can't wait to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Opposing Forces

    It is a historical fiction-reality book. It is very much of a mystery to try and find true love from a Jewish girl to a Nazi boy. There is a girl, her name is Patty. She has a sister named Sharon, a black maid named Ruth, and regular store-owning parents. They sound like a typical family, but really they aren¿t! They are Jewish during a time of the ¿holocaust¿. Then a train comes in and everyone is waiting to see the captured Nazis. When they finally all come out a Nazi waves at everyone. That seemed kind of strange. Patty later visits her fathers store when the Nazis come in. One translates for them all. They called him Rieker. He was looking for a few things and all the clerks where busy so she decided to ring him up. He didn¿t know what to call a pencil sharpener so Patty laughed at him. That¿s when she knew she might have liked him. Later on she saw him trying to escape, this is the part I think is one of the strongest strengths. She took him and hid him in her secret hide-out above her garage. When her father starts beating her again he comes out and gives himself out to the world. Not only was he a wanted man but he showed himself again. He runs away and Patty tries to come with but he refuses. Something happens to him(I don¿t want to give away the end) and Patty¿s life goes wrong in every which way. The FBI is asking her all sorts of questions and she has to go to a ¿reformatory¿ school for girls. The weaknesses are¿uh¿well there wasn¿t a single weak part! I highly recommend this book to any body who loves to read! I conclude this with saying that I really liked this book because it was a really good example of informing me and possibly you of what happens when you have opposing forces in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Summer of my German Solider Critical Book Review

    The book starts, in a train station. Many of the townspeople that live in Jenkinsville, like Patty wait for the POWs to get there. The townspeople watch as the POWs exit the train. The POWs were taken to their prison camp. One afternoon the Bergens visit Patty¿s grandparents. When they arrive, Patty¿s grandma makes plans to take Patty the next week. Days later Patty watches POWs enter her father¿s store. Before Anton leaves the store he purchases a diamond pin. Patty wishes that she would become friends with him. Throughout the summer, Patty had worked on setting up a hideout. One day as she looked out the window, she saw Anton along the train tracks. He had escaped camp and Patty offers him to stay in her hideout. They hung out all day. The news breaks out that Anton escaped. The FBI goes to the store to question Harry. Harry told the FBI that he had not seen him. When Parker looked at the picture, she remembered Anton had been with Patty. The FBI questioned Patty. She told the FBI some about Anton. Charlene Madlee entered the store. Patty showed her where the Sheriff¿s office was. Patty said she might want to be a reporter. The two decide to visit the camp and Charlene invites Patty to act as a reporter. Later Patty gets angry with Anton because he has not asked her to come away with him after the war. Patty then feels that Anton is just being nice because she is saving him. Freddy Dowd came over to play with Patty one day. Patty sees Anton leaving the hide out and She screams, ¿return!¿ Eventually Patty feels that she must chose between her father and Anton. She feels that if she chooses Anton her father will gain exposure and then love her. Later that night, Patty met Anton in the hideout. Anton told Patty that she could not go with him. Patty told Anton that she loved him. He said the same and gives her a ring. He left to catch the train. Sister Parker called over to Patty¿s father asking him if the ring was gold. He had never seen the ring before and asked Patty where she got it. She tells him the story. Patty¿s father calls the sheriff to question her about the old man. She re-tells the same story she told Sister Parker and her father. The sheriff believes Patty¿s story. The FBI takes Patty for a trial for housing a prisoner. Her father yells violently at her. Ruth becomes upset and defends Patty. Mr. Bergen then fires Ruth. Patty goes to stay at her grandmother¿s house. Charlene discussed penalties with Patty. She understood she would have penalties. For her punishment, Patty must attend school between four and six months. Miss Laud notifies Patty that Ruth has to come. Ruth brought Patty her ring, from Anton. Ruth assures Patty that there is nothing wrong with her and that her parents love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jewish girl befriends German soilder.

    This book is a fictional story told in first person about a Jewish American girl who befriends a German prisoner who has been relocated to a prisoner camp in Arkansas during World War II. This could also be classified as a historical fiction because it takes place in the south where African Americans are still thought of as slaves, and tells of the lives of very different people of different backgrounds, religions and how they get along with each other during this period of time. The story is about a girl name Patty whose only friends are her baby sister and her African American housekeeper named Ruth. Patty does not get along with her parents who always seems to criticize her in everything she does and her father who beats and whips her when he gets mad at her. Patty then helps Anton, the German prisoner, who has escaped and begins a friendship as they share the same thoughts about the world they live in and the love that they should have with their loved ones. This ends when Anton tries to stop Patty¿s father from beating her and determines that he may be the reason that Patty is getting beaten by her father. They both have found a love for each other that they know that they will be unable to keep since she is Jewish and he is German. The book was very good in that it shows how different people got along with each other and showed that love for each other can overcome almost any differences that we might have towards one another. One thing that I did not like about the book was the descriptions given about the beatings, hitting and harsh words that were used by Patty¿s parents towards her. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to read about stories that happened in historical times. This book is interesting and makes you want to keep reading to see how Patty continued to help Anton as well as sharing their feelings about life and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    A Reviewer

    I loved this book! It's about a Jewish girl named Patty who takes in a German solider who expaces from prison.Even though she is a Jew she still helps him though out the book. But I recommend bring a bow of tissues when you read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Summer of my German Soldier was a great book. When I started reading it, I couldn¿t stop. The ending surprised me. This book is about a 12-year-old Jewish girl named Patty whose parents owned a department store in Jenkinsville, Arkansas. Patty¿s parents never showed her love or kindness, the only thing her father did was beat her. The only friend Patty had, was Ruth, the housekeeper and cook. One day, the POW comes to Patty¿s family¿s department store, she meets Anton, a german soldier. He ends up running away from the camp and Patty hides him for as long as she could, until he figures he was putting her life in danger. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes love-like books, or like reading about young adults that face many problems that has to do with family, and race.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Jew Finds Compassion for Nazi

    This was a very good book. It shows compassion in a time where there was almost none. It had a very slow beginning though with not much action. I also recommend the sequel. This tale is very appropriate for teenagers. It is a tale about one girl's first controversial love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Summer of My German Soldier: A great book

    I really enjoyed reading Summer of My German Soldier. The book really kept my attention, and I was always wondering what was going to come next. The characters in Summer of My German soldier were very interesting to read about. You got to know the characters very well by the end of the book. Summer of My German Soldier was a great book and I would definetly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    The summer i will always remember

    I thought Summer of my German Soldier was a vert great and exciting book. At first in the beggining it seemed a little slow but than when it got more involved with the prisoners, i followed it better and the novel got more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Summer of My German Soldier

    I gave this book title a three in rating because i didnt want to read the book because of the title. Yes the book was good and all but usually the title is what drags me in and wanting to read more... the title could have been better for example The Life Changing Summer i'll Never Forget. That is why i gave the rating of the title a three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    a reviewer

    I enjoyed reading Summer Of My German Soldier but twards the end of the book it was sad. Patty was so unhappy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Summer Lovin

    I really enjoied reading this book....it was very well written and there was a lot of poetic language written in it....the main reason i liked it so much was because the ending wasn't very happy...this makes you want to go buy the next book the minute u have a chance! over all i would recomend this book to any teenager trying to find summer love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3