Customer Reviews for

The Summer of Naked Swim Parties

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    favorite book ever

    i love this book deeply i fell like i never want it to end, i want to find more books like it, i could have read it in a day, if i wasn't do anything, it just capitvates you, and makes you just want o keep reading, and find out whats going on in that crazy exciting family. im 13 and i just want to keep reading it, and i hate reading (:

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick and Fun Read

    Full of quirky and likeable characters. It pulls you into a summer setting, making it hard to stop flipping the pages. Offers a great depiction of a girl's teen years and coping with sisterly battles, parental embarassment, friendships and crushes. Well-written, but not very thought-provoking or intellectually stimulating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Awesome!!!!

    I absolutly loved this book! It is the best book i've read all summer. This coming of age story made me laugh and cry. The way Jessica Anya Blav describes the characters and the stiuations makes you really feel like you know them and what their going through. I strongly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    An Essential Read

    As someone that normally hates reading anything very long, I had no problem getting into this novel, nor finishing it. Jessica does a great job of portraying the freedoms of the 70's as well as its horrors. I enjoyed almost every single page of the novel, and recommend it as an essential read for anyone who like myself was born in the 70's and wants to hear the stories behind those faded photographs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Fun, Funny & Funnier

    So, this book was a little bit... unusual... but I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a breath of new fresh and naked air. It's not for the highly offendable because of it's language and sexual content but if your an open minded person you have to pick this up. The characters were rich and delightful - the language was hilarious. I love this family!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    I grew up in the 70's in Southern California. Reading this book brought back my teen years in a way that I had forgotten or at least not considered in a long time. Blau writes with poignancy and insight as she navigates Jamie's sexual awakening and her dealings with her 'enlightened' parents who are still children themselves in so many ways. Blau has a way with dialogue. She captures an era that few have written about. This is a story that can be read in a couple of days by adults or teens. I bought this book for my two boys '16 & 18' so they could understand my generation and a little about the world of the 70's. There is an innocence to this story that reflects a period in history when urgency was dictated by bad waves, a poor tan and a fight with best girlfriends. A great read! Recommended Highly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Excellent Novel!

    I can't get enough of this author! This was such a great coming of age novel. I have only one small complaint... the mother and father were almost identical to her other novel. The mom and dad are potheads, they like swimming naked, and they are totally unconcerned with actively raising their children. Honestly, if you read her other novel you couldn't tell the parents apart if you tried. Otherwise, it is well worth the time and I look foward to reading more books by this wonderfully hilarious author! If she works on writing new characters for the parents then her next novel will be 5 stars for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Good Book

    I fall in love with the family in this book. It starts off a little slow at first but it picks up the farther you read. If you are looking for a award winning book this book is not for you. It is just a fun quick read about a CA coast family in the 70 of sex, drugs and rock n roll!! The title fix the book to a tee!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad!

    This is a great summer read for a hot sunny day at the beach. The story line changed tastefully, and the character development was mature. I specifically enjoyed the analogies to Jamie's adult experiences. I caught myself smiling many times throughout this novel. On the critical side, the ending is somewhat abrupt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    So funnnny

    Great summer read! Very funny characters that will have you blushing and in fits of giggles. Oh to be 14 again. Highly recomend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Summer of Naked Swim Parties: Easy & Fun Read

    This book was interesting, set in the 1960's in California a young girls parents are bonafide "hippies" she learns to live in their offbeat laid back world and accept them. Goes through the troubles of being a teenager from drinking, drugs, sex, and boyfriends. Good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beach or plane reading!

    Great, easy read. Interesting and unique characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    BEST BOOK THIS YEAR!

    Love it! Laughed! Cried! A fun book for all generations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Problem

    Really? Breasts ,butts you people are sick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you were born during this time, you may like it

    Nothing I would recommend

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    I read it every summer!

    So amazing. Blau is an incredible author. Wish she would write more novels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    OK

    This book sounded like a very interesting read. However, I was not pleased to find the main character in the book losing her virginity at 14. At least she had taken precautions, until the next boy. I know the 70's were a crazy time depending on where you lived and how your parents went through the 70's, but I would have liked to have seen it with a different twist. The redeeming factor was the closeness that the family seemed to have obtained in the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2