Customer Reviews for

Summer of Promise (Westward Winds Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Delightful Blend of Romance and Mystery

When I pick up an Amanda Cabot novel, I know I’m in for a treat. Such was definitely the case with Summer of Promise. From the opening scene to the final page, I spent an enjoyable time with Cabot’s well-crafted characters. Impulsive Abigail Harding has a heart as big a...
When I pick up an Amanda Cabot novel, I know I’m in for a treat. Such was definitely the case with Summer of Promise. From the opening scene to the final page, I spent an enjoyable time with Cabot’s well-crafted characters. Impulsive Abigail Harding has a heart as big as Wyoming and wants to help everyone with whom she comes in contact. Due to a difficult childhood, stoic Lieutenant Ethan Bowles believes he’s incapable of loving someone or being loved. The interactions between Abigail and Ethan as their friendship deepens into something more than either thought possible—or prudent—are a pleasure to behold. The secondary characters are engaging, too, and add to the story. I love the historical detail Cabot is so adept at adding. She did a great job bringing Fort Laramie to life. I could picture the unique beauty of the area along with Abigail, who deems it “boring” at first but has a change of heart. The mystery woven through the story was fun to unravel. Every time I was sure I knew whodunit, Cabot would reveal another intriguing fact, and I’d find myself wavering. While she provided a satisfying and sigh-worthy ending, she left some threads hanging, leaving me eager for the second book in her Westward Winds trilogy.

posted by KeliGwyn on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good not great.

Good book, not best I ever read, wish the end had been different. I was hoping for something a little more romantic and dramatic For the end. Also hoping for a better outcome for sister.

posted by 6241967 on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Delightful Blend of Romance and Mystery

    When I pick up an Amanda Cabot novel, I know I’m in for a treat. Such was definitely the case with Summer of Promise. From the opening scene to the final page, I spent an enjoyable time with Cabot’s well-crafted characters. Impulsive Abigail Harding has a heart as big as Wyoming and wants to help everyone with whom she comes in contact. Due to a difficult childhood, stoic Lieutenant Ethan Bowles believes he’s incapable of loving someone or being loved. The interactions between Abigail and Ethan as their friendship deepens into something more than either thought possible—or prudent—are a pleasure to behold. The secondary characters are engaging, too, and add to the story. I love the historical detail Cabot is so adept at adding. She did a great job bringing Fort Laramie to life. I could picture the unique beauty of the area along with Abigail, who deems it “boring” at first but has a change of heart. The mystery woven through the story was fun to unravel. Every time I was sure I knew whodunit, Cabot would reveal another intriguing fact, and I’d find myself wavering. While she provided a satisfying and sigh-worthy ending, she left some threads hanging, leaving me eager for the second book in her Westward Winds trilogy.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book to read

    I really enjoyed reading Summer of Promise for both the historical value and the romance. Sometimes longer books have sections that drag but Abigail's journey was full of interesting twist and turns. I enjoyed every detail.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    highly recommended

    This was a great read!! I love Amanda's books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Loved it.

    It had me guessing for so long who the person working from the fort. And having God show them the way gently so they wouldn't deny it. Can't wait to see what happens

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Great story

    A delightful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    great read

    Not quite finished, but so far a great read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put this book down. I'm ready for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommend

    A good book. Hard to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Everything I Could Have Hoped For; HIGHLYRecommend!

    Ah. Amanda Cabot just may become my New Favorite Author. This is the first of her books I've ever read and it was everything I could have hoped for. Thank-you, Ms. Cabot! Please, keep 'em coming! :D ***HIGHLY RECOMMEND***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Wonderful

    Lovely love story with plenty of suspense and period details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Excellent!

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Summer of Promise

    This is a wonderful book! It's not just your usual romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Excellent story.

    This story is filled with romance, humor, adventure, mystery, forgiveness, and love. A fun story to read. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I thought this was a wonderful Christian book, without any preac

    I thought this was a wonderful Christian book, without any preaching.
    It kept me reading until the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling Read

    Amanda Cabot writes compelling novels. This one is no exception. Her characters are strong, including Abigail Harding who is traveling from Vermont to Fort Laramie, Wyoming; her sister Charlotte who needs Abigail; soldiers at the Fort; and Leah, a “lady of the night,” whom Abigail befriends. At summer’s end will Abigail return to Vermont as planned, or will the rugged Wyoming land and a certain soldier convince her to stay? Cabot’s story is fast moving with enough suspense to keep readers turning pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    A must read

    This book has history, mystery, and suspense all rolled into one. Written so well and with such detail, I could picture each scene. Amanda Cabot has hooked me - I can't wait for the next book!
    After loaning this book to a friend, she said this is the best book I have loaned her thus far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2015

    Awesome sauce 294 pages

    A keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    Amazing and Engaging; a MUST READ!

    Most of the brilliance in Amanda Cabot's writing is the way she makes the peoples' roles in the society clear to the reader and yet keep them wondering when the other characters will see who the person, villian, really is. (This will all make sense once you read the book and series, which I highly recommend.) I am reading the second book in this series and my theory of the author's writing still applies to that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Very highly recommended

    A great story for this one as well as the others in the series. It was a pleasure reading it. I wish it was longer, but it was sweet. It is my favorite in the series. :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    Love it

    This book is one of my favorites it was a little slower than the other 2books in the series but it was still good. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2