Customer Reviews for

The Summer of Riley

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great book

    Guys stop writing reviews of you did not finish reading the book because I see alot of people writing a review saying in the end riley died but that is not true in the end they got a call saying riley was getting put to sleep but on the end the people changed their mind and on the last page william rememberes Riley even more then before and then out of the blue riley comes running in the door but whatever it is a good book but most of it is sad but still good book ( part of the reason for me liking it so much is because I read it for free! But still one of the best books I have ever read )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    The best book ever

    The Summer of Riley is a good book. It is a fun filed book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Anonumos

    ATTENTION, this book is now the best, and worlds best seller says me, this is a if-you-do-not-have-this-you-will-be-sorry sorta book, totally recamended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Mace

    "No prob," she calls over her shoulder then dissapears out the door.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Rilry

    Slided out of my Jeans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Jack

    Takes off my boxers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Riley

    Are you ona.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Amazing

    This is just an amazing piece of work by eve bunting. I fell in love with riley and, I admit it though no other book has made me do it, I nearly cried at the ending. Very good book and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Percy

    Walks back with annabeth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Carly

    *blushes* no problem. My mother...she was a jewler. I picked up a few things...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Annabeth

    Goes back to the wedding with percy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    So Cute

    The dog gets to live his life in place far away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    The sad story

    If u started reading this and dont wanna here the whole story and what happens u should syop reading after this i will say when it starts giving away. I RECCOMEND THIS BOOK TO PEOPLE WHO ARE smart and dog loverd with a big imagination. Its gonna start giving it away. THIS is aboout a boy named Riley whos got a big empty heart bevause of his grandpa died its hard for him but harder for his mom. And he thinks thats why his mom got a dog. THE day they got it they brough grace with ( yes a girl is his bff even though hes a boy) and brought it home and it ended up beating up the horse next door thats to old now but years ago won awards. And there neighbor was terrified and demaned they put the dog down. That was hard for the boy and even the dog just because hes a dog dosent mean he does not have feelings. Riley is a brave and smart dog ( not to hurt a horse) and is a great family member. Family secrets the boy had overheard hurt him. Well not hurt but suprised u could bprobly say. HE THOUGHT his life would be over cause he ended up puttting riley down he did not want too. But had too and the Salton got hurt was heartbreaking for peachies. BUT this was even sadder getting a brand new dog and he wanted to play with the salton but his way chew a little ( hes sure he did not mean it ofcourse) and have to be put down how would u feel with one mistake and be sdemanded to die. LIFE was hard for this boy ( im saying boy cause i cant give everything away) but he was brave losing a grandpa and then losing a brand new dog and didnt even get to spend much time with it. HE was braver then u think. He just could not belive that happened and tried to tell them he did nott try and it was just a big mistake. But that did not work he had to sadly. WAS IT OVER DID HE HAVE TO? read the rest tio find out ur questions ans thank u for reading my reiveiw i hoped u liked it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Emotions at every page

    Geez this book was rllly good. Sooo much emotion. This book was very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Thriller!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This boo is amazing and suspenseful. Even though i first read this book in 3rd grade, it is good for all ages. There are sadparts, happy parts, and silly parts to this amazing book! Keep it up Eve Bunting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    The Summer of Riley

    I think the summer of riley is a great book. It has a very exciting and interesting story. I read it in school before. It would make a great book to use for literature circles. The author is pretty good too. I have read quite a few books written by Eve Bunting. My teacher loves her writing. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend. It's perfect for a person with a pet esp. a horse or a dog. You really have to look at both sides in this story. It really touches your heart. Your emotions throughout the story keeps changing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    If you like dogs this is the book for you

    I just finished reading The Summer Of Riley and I give it five stars because it was exciting. The book was good because I like dogs an mystery stories. I also liked where it took place ,in Oregon. I also like collies. I would recommend this story to someone who likes dogs & mysteries.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Take my heart away!

    This book is a great book for the whole family of all ages. This book allows children to share there expressions with each other. This book helped me and my family to relise that losing a love one is hard. Thats why we think you should buy this book today, thats what i'm doing right now. By:Jules and Beth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Going to the dogs

    It is true that some people will do anything for their dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2