Customer Reviews for

The Summer of Skinny Dipping

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Summer Of Skinny Dipping

This book made me laugh and cry. It was basically the closest story to perfect I've ever read. The cover and title makes it seem like a light summer read, but its not really. Its more than that. It has depth and shows that everyone, especially the 'mean girls', are real...
This book made me laugh and cry. It was basically the closest story to perfect I've ever read. The cover and title makes it seem like a light summer read, but its not really. Its more than that. It has depth and shows that everyone, especially the 'mean girls', are real people with problems of their own. The idea isn't exactly original (there are so many books about girls going to the Hamptons or similar places and find the truth about themselves and their lives), but like I said: I loved this one. Mia's voice is perfect, real, and easy to relate to. That's what sets this book away from all the others and makes it worth remembering.

posted by Sarah7498 on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Is this book good?????

Should i buy this book??????

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I expected The Summer of Skinny Dipping to be another coming of

    I expected The Summer of Skinny Dipping to be another coming of age novel set on the beach. I thought it be another novel about a girl falling in love during the summer. It got what I wanted...kind of. Except The Summer of Skinny Dipping is one of those summer novels that I'd classify as a Heavy/Dark summer read. Don't let the deceptively light cover fool you.




    When Mia and her family go to stay with her Aunt, Uncle and Cousins for the summer, she excepts for her and Corinne to bond like they used to when they were kids. Except this summer Corinne bonds with her sister Beth and choose to spend her time with Beth and her cool friends. Mia tries to fit in but she just feels like an outsider. Then one night at Mia meets Simon. Her whole summer starts to change but Simon is even more of an outsider than she is. 




    I think even before the novel takes a darker turn, I wasn't really connecting with the characters. I liked the idea of Mia but not Mia as a character. I didn't like her family or Corinne's friends, and I wasn't swooning over Simon. I got the idea and kind of like the idea of each of them as characters, but I didn't really like a single character. They were more of concepts than realistically developed characters. 




    Another issue that I had with the novel was that the problems just seemed so contrived, like an after school special. There were a lot of big issues. It was so cliche and so was the resolution of the problems. That saying it's not like I hated the novel, because I generally liked it, it just felt a little artificial. 




    The second to last chapter of the novel is the heart of the story. It's was unexpected and seriously broke my heart. I didn't see it coming and I think that's why I like it. It was the one aspect that came out of no where.




    I generally liked The Summer of Skinny Dipping. I related a lot to the main character in many ways. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Not sure

    I liked the story and the authors style of writing but i hated the ending
    ***spoiler alert***
    I hated how mia just stood thete forever while simon was drowning, why didn't she atleast try to go in and help him. She waited too long to run all the way back home, instead she should have tried to help, it says in the book she is a good swimmer and she's smart, she knows what to do.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Had me asking, "really???"

    Im not exactly sure how i feel about this book. I loved the authirs style of writing and loved Simon's character. However, the ending was harsh, devastating, and unbelievable. Had the ending been different, i would have liked this book much better, but it is what it is and i would suggest it for any one looking for a decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Young romance lost and found

    THE SUMMER OF SKINNY DIPPING, by Amanda Howells is a sweet story of teenage angst and first loves. Being a teenager is hard enough emotionally but when broken hearts and unmet expectations occur, the results can be life-changing.

    The summer that Mia recounts in this book was the best summer of her life. After being dumped by someone she thought was her true love, she wanted to get away to a time and place where everything was simple. But Mia discovered that the appearance of perfection that her cousins and aunt represented was farthest from the truth.

    In the wake of any breakup, a person undergoes an analysis of themselves to try and understand what went wrong. Mia with her southern roots and not-so-thin body was scrutinized by her cousins and even herself. But the interest of Simon Ross transformed Mia's perspective completely.

    Howells characters were fantastic. Each one of them was affected by this incredible summer of transformations and realizations. Mia and Simon were a striking couple. They both created a friendship that turned into a romance by opening up completely with each other, including skinny dipping. As a reader, I invested a lot in these characters and their happiness but sometimes bad choices get in the way. Life is about balance and if you create good from bad you are never wrong.

    Overall this book was exceptional. This story of love, appearances, and being true to yourself wholly transformed my thinking of life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Good Summer Read

    I did not realize this book was for young adults when I purchased it but it still made a quick summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    It Was A Good Read

    It had all parts of a summer read: love, beach, and a boy. The title made me think this book was nothing like a love story, but in the end it really tugged on my heartstrings. It wasn't perfect but it was a good story that I would recommend to those who want a light, short, romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Ehh

    I found that this book had a slow start. The beginning was a drag and the ending came out of nowhere. It definatley wasnt one if my favorite reads and I'm not sure I would recommend this to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Decent

    Very well written. I think she overexagerated how fast we fall in love though.. The story started to loose its theme nearing the middle though. It almost think the story would have been better written as a drama than a romance.. The way in wich maxine scrutinizes mias body image was absurd. I think that was way to deep for a teenage love story! But overall it was a very pleasent read....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    :?

    Needs more details in the overview dont know if i want it or not??????? -kaleigh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended more for teens.

    Altough I did like this book, and found aspects of it interesting, I would recommend is more for teens. Just when I thought things would get really 'heavy' it fall a bit short. At times the story dragged on a little bit. All in all, I did not love this book, a good beach read at best, though as I said a teenager may find it a bit more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Pretty good book but the ending kinda pissed me off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Good book stupid ending

    Relatively good read, but i hate the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3