Customer Reviews for

Summer of the Monkeys

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book

I like "old" books and i read it when i was 8 and now im twelve and decided to read it once more its a really good book that is clean and exciting

posted by 10368185 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was nice

An ok book. Had to read in school. Eh...

posted by 9142852 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I thought this was for 10 -

    I read this book in 6th grade it was ok but would have been better in a littler grade i read this book in couple hours

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Great Family Read-Aloud

    I'm reading this to my 4 children ages 5 to 12. They get to laughing so hard! Sometimes I can hardly read when I get the giggles too. The movie is great too but the book is obviously better. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Me

    Best book ever!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Funny Monkeys

    The Summer of the Monkeys is a hilarious book about monkeys who escape from the circus. Jay Berry is trying to catch them so he can buy himself a pony and a gun, a .45 (whatever that means). Jay¿s grandfather helps him come up with a variety of clever schemes to catch the monkeys. Each time, however, the monkeys manage to evade being caught because they are smarter than expected. When they escape it leads to a whirlwind of funny events, such as drunken monkeys and monkey attacks. The setting is in the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma in the late 1800s. I would consider this book a comedy because it is really funny. The theme of this book is about life in general and shows that sometimes you have to sacrifice things you really want in order to help others. I can¿t tell exactly what I mean by this because it will give away the ending. Other lessons it teaches are responsibility and commitment. This book is about growing up and throughout the book Jay is going from a boy to a man. He starts taking responsibility for his actions and thinking before he acts. I like this book because it always keeps you wondering. There is always an air of danger because Daisy (Jay¿s sister) loves to make up stories to scare Jay. Also, throughout the book, when Jay¿s grandfather comes up with crazy ways to catch the monkeys, you are rooting for Jay to catch them, but you also want the monkeys to get away because it is so funny and you want to know what other crazy, clever schemes his Grandfather will come up with. I really liked this book because it keeps you on the edge of you seat and it is as though you are there with Jay trying to catch the monkeys. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes the outdoors and is a laid back person because it is definitely not a serious book. I would also recommend other books by this author because I liked how he makes you feel as if you are there in the novel with Jay. I really like the humor too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I remember having to read this when i was in fifth grade. I desp

    I remember having to read this when i was in fifth grade. I despised reading back then, so i did not enjoy the book. However, thinking back on it, i think that it was a good book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Summer of the monkeys

    Summer of the monkeys has a good plot but is kinda predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    The summer of the Monkeys was a great book taht had both hilario

    The summer of the Monkeys was a great book taht had both hilarious and sad moments. As Jack, the main character, struggles because his family moves to Oklamhoma where they got a farm. The feeling I got when Jack would always talk about his crippled sister made me very emotional, but when I read about the monkey getting drunk from the barrel of whiskey I kept laughing very hard. All in all I would recommend this book to anyone and it was one of the best I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    A Fabulous Book a review by a 3rd grader

    In this book a boy wants a .22 and a pony. The boy finds some monkeys that escaped from a circus. There were 30 of them. All he might get is $2 reward for each of them except one. That one he might get is $100 reward for it. The boy tries to catch the monkeys. He has trouble catching the monkeys. But don't worry he's got another plan. Read the book to find out if he catches the monkeys.

    I recommend this book to 3rd graders and up. Read this book if you like monkeys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Summer of the Monkeys by Wilson Rawls

    ""Jay Berry,¿ she said in a loud voice, ¿where on earth are your britches? It¿s not very nice to run around half naked like that. What¿s the matter with you anyway?¿¿<BR/><BR/>When Jay Berry Lee and his dog Rowdy find monkeys in the forest bottoms of their land, he can¿t believe their eyes. With much confusion, Jay Berry goes to visit his grandpa, a storeowner nearby. His grandpa remembers how a circus had lost a handful of monkeys and was offering a great reward to anyone who catches them. Suddenly Jay Berry is reminded of what he and every other boy in the Ozark Mountains has ever wanted; a pony and a gun. He is determined to catch those monkeys. However, he doesn¿t know how smart one of the monkeys is. This monkey is going to drive him up the wall. <BR/><BR/>A long time passes and there have been many failing attempts to catch those monkeys. Suddenly a storm hits and Jay Berry is worried about the monkeys¿ survival. That lightning was pretty darn powerful! He has to quickly go find the monkeys, the thoughts of his-to-be pony and gun hanging on a line.<BR/><BR/>Summer of the Monkeys is a great book. The exposition and rising action can be boring and feel like they drag. However, the ending makes this book very worthwhile. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves happy endings or anyone that needs to learn get along with family. This book will leave you with moist eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Monk-tastic

    Summer of the Monkeys was a wonderful book and i had a great time reading it. It takes place in the 1800's so technology isn't around and they use old sayings which may confuse some people('Suffering cornmeal Johnnie...'). Once you get past the small details, such as strange names and lame phrases(Sally Gooden is tghe cows name), the overall story is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Heart Warming

    I LOVED this book. My teacher read it to me at school. I've read the book, and watched the movie. The book was way better. Monkeys are my favorite animal. And everyone at school knows I'm crazy for them. This story is about a kid who finds a bunch of monkeys, and tries to catch them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    My name is L.M.W. and i am an RAL student in Mrs.Macs 5th period.

    This book 'Summer of the Monkeys',is a great book.It deals with family issues and everyday things.You could learn a lot from this book just in general; it really makes you think about your siblings and how you treat them.And,how things could improve if you treated them better.At a certain spot it really makes you think (or cry) :),so you're just going to have to read it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!

    I think this book is really neat and I think that everyone should read this. Wilson Rawls is a beautiful descriptive writer. I hope to be just like him some day!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    It's Great

    I think it was a good book and heart warming as a matter of fact. It was very adventurous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1