Customer Reviews for

The Summer of the Swans

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good.

I have to say the book was pretty good. Charlie I felt should have had more attention and that the book wasn't very detailed but it was better than others. So if you need to read a book for a book report or something else than this book might be a good back up.


...
I have to say the book was pretty good. Charlie I felt should have had more attention and that the book wasn't very detailed but it was better than others. So if you need to read a book for a book report or something else than this book might be a good back up.


:-)

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Summer of the swans

I enjoyed reading this book, but it was kind of uneventful. At the part when Charlie gets lost, you read both sides of thr story.
This makes this book have no suspense because you already know what is happening to Charlie. Betsy Byars is a good author though. I would re...
I enjoyed reading this book, but it was kind of uneventful. At the part when Charlie gets lost, you read both sides of thr story.
This makes this book have no suspense because you already know what is happening to Charlie. Betsy Byars is a good author though. I would recommend this book to people who don't like suspenseful books.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Summer of the swans

    I enjoyed reading this book, but it was kind of uneventful. At the part when Charlie gets lost, you read both sides of thr story.
    This makes this book have no suspense because you already know what is happening to Charlie. Betsy Byars is a good author though. I would recommend this book to people who don't like suspenseful books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    Betsy Byars's "The Summer of the Swans" is a coming of

    Betsy Byars's "The Summer of the Swans" is a coming of age and self-discovery book of a young girl, Sara, who has a younger brother, Charlie, unable to speak after an illness he experienced as a toddler. She, along with her older sister Wanda, help their Aunt Willie take care of him. One day, the unspeakable happens. Charlie is missing. Frantically, the entire neighborhood looks for him.
    This is a great story and an easy read for middle school children. They will witness Sara's struggle to value who she is and forgive those who have wronged her. This book also has a little adventure. Recommended for girls and boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Havent read yet

    Is it good ? I wan' t to know befor i buy it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Summer of the Swans Book Review I think the Summer of the Swans was boring and dull. It was dull because every chapter goes back and forth between Charlie and Sara¿s point of view. It was boring because they spend about three or four chapters on one topic. Also the book was based on two whole days. That¿s why I think the book was boring and dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    The Summer of The Swans

    I think this book was okay. The ending was bad. I think the book is a little short. The middle chapters are very good to read. The book gets boring towards the end. It is better than The Pearl though. The characters are well developed especially Sara. This book is good to read if you are bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A book that was poorly written

    This book, The Summer Of the Swans, is just like any other book. It has the same plot (someone missing) and then being found and everybody is happy. That¿s why I rated it an okay. Overall it was a reasonable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    Over all I thought ¿The Summer o the Swans¿ was a bad book. The ending was poor. And Charlie¿s dad never came to see him. That was unrealistic. Also 2 or 3 chapters were wasted on looking for Charlie. It wasn¿t very interesting. One part I did like was when Charlie and Sara went to see the swans at the lake. I thought that was sweet for Charlie and Sara to watch the swans together. Also another part I didn¿t like was when Aunt Willie didn¿t go out to look for Charlie when everyone else did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    ¿The Summer of the Swans¿ is an okay book. The ending isn¿t that great and they don¿t give many details in between chapters when Charlie gets lost. They don¿t really tell you much about the relationship between Sara and her father Sam. But, overall it was good. It kept me interested and it made me want to keep reading on to find out what would happen next. I would recommend this book to someone who likes to be interested in something and likes to get suspicious. This book will keep you interested and trying to guess what will happen next. That is why I rated ¿The Summer of the Swans¿ 3 out of 5 circles which is okay, but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    The Swan

    I thought this book was okay because it was a great ending and Sara had learned a life lesson that things are more important then others. The reason why I chose okay but not great was because Sara and Charlie father did not come to help find Charlie when he went missing. He did not even come to visit. Also Aunt Wille just stayed at home and did not help find Charlie. Another reason is it is just okay is how come Wanda was barley even mention in the story. Why was she even in the book? The best part was the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought ¿The Summer of the Swans¿ was and an ok book. The characters were cool and I enjoyed the details of the Story. But there wasn¿t any action it was very boring. It Seemed to have a very brood plot and did not spark my Interest. The ending was very bad they didn¿t explain any Thing it was very confusion. It would have been better if They explained Sara and her dad¿s relationship. That is I thought of ¿The Summer of the Swans¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is okay but it¿s not the best. It is kind of boring through out because its characters don¿t seem to be all there. I don¿t like that Charlie is considered to be mentally retarded. Also the ending wasn¿t that great either. This is a good book for some one who doesn¿t expect much. So I give this book a 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought The Summer of the Swans was an okay book, there were some parts I liked and some parts I didn¿t like. I liked it when Aunt. Willie rode the motor scooter. I didn¿t like that for a couple of chapters they were just talking about how Sara and Joe were yelling ¿Charlie¿. To me it sounded like the author had nothing to say. I also didn¿t like the title because instead of talking about the swans they mostly talk about Charlie getting lost. I thought it was good when Sara died her shoes puce. I recommend this book to people that like tragic stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    Overall, the Summer of the swans was a decent book. Apart from the sudden amd plain ending, the setup and characters were better than expected. the story had a few weak parts, though. There were times when the novel mentioned a character or idea and not come back to it at all or untill the end. The title was also a dissapointment. The summer was more like the day, so expect a short book, and the swans were not mentioned in hardly two chapters. But besides the constant switching from part to part, The Summer of the Swans was one of Betsy Byars' average pieces of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    It was a pretty good book..i would say:)

    I thought that this book was pretty good but the ending did not really make that much sense. I would otherwise reccomend thid book for people who love to get into a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    I thought that this book is ok but not great. I really liked the climax and the huge amount of details. The details really make it so that you can see a clear picture. I think it would be better if in the middle there were more of a build up to the climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    I think this book is not the best, but not the worst either. I like how the climax kept you wondering what would happen to Charlie. Also, the good amount of details makes it so that you have a great picture in your head. I also like the situation. It is very realistic. I think that if Besty Byars added some build up to the climax then it would be better. Finally, I think the ending could use some improvement. Yes, it wraps up the story but doesn't leave you satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    The Summer of the Swans Soars

    The Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars is a good book if you like reading in a conversational style. In this story, fourteen year old, Sara, discovers her true inner beauty when she goes to see the swans during the summer. Although I liked the book's message, I wasn't gripped by the story. If you like to read a lot of dialogue, however, than this book is for you. If you like action and suspense, then you should probably pick another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    A Day's Events

    This book is written in chapters but does not seem to read as a chapter book. The event continues on through only one day so the events are too close together to be a chapter book. It was however an easy and interesting read. The reader is easily able to understand the situation from the main character's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Khadijah P. McFarlane Summer of the Swans

    This book is very good. This book is about a girl named Sara Godfrey who has an issue about bringing down her self-esteem. She is very disappointed on how she looks because she has a beatiful sister that she says looks better than her. She also has a brother who is mentally disabled because as a child he had a high fever and has never talked again. After Sara was complaining that she is always stucked with Charlie she also didn't notice that little by little her brother Charlie Godfrey was flying away from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    VERY OK

    if u are getting all excited about this book having a good rating and all, well read this review first: i personally think this book was OK and no more than that! well-written, i guess, but it is disappointing and pointless. skip it! sorry! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2