Customer Reviews for

The Summer of the Swans

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    Okay

    The book was okay. I liked it but saying the retarted really I think ofended some readers. By saying Charlie was retarted I thought was little cruel. I would have said he needed more attention than others or had special needs. I understand that this takes place in 1996-1997 because people don't have cell-phones.If you enjoy books that are surprising and you want gasp then read this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Summmer of the swans

    I think this book was kind of cruel talking about a mentaly challenged child and about the family not actually caring. With out the cruel parts it is a good book for the 6th-7th grade reading level. Good comprehention story and makes an actual point in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    What I Think

    I think that the book was great for a 7th grade level reader. At the beginning I could really relate to this book. The way Sara's family acts is kinda the same way my family acts. And at the end it was very exciting. The way the story was told you could actualy see it in your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    I think that The Summer of the Swans was pretty good book. It was becauseit was intereting, true for some teens, and I always wanted to see what happened next. I think that if you read this novel that you will enjoy it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    this book was ok

    This is not the best book I have ever read.But it was ok the book was everything i was hopeing it would be.But I guess I was expecting more then that.If i would ever tell any of my friends to read this book they would probibaly like it.But thats because they are so much girlier then me.I guess this book was not for me but I would highly recommend this to any one who is girlier then me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    The Summer of the Swans review!!!

    I think The Summer of the Swans is a adventerous but realistic story. The characters seem very unique and very heart-boiling, they make you feel like your there with them and you want to speak to them tell them whats going on. Sometimes you want to write a sequal with you in it and help out with the problems, but you know you cant but you can write the sequal with it and talk about it with them and let them think it for thereselves just break it down for them. I think Charlie needs to break his quietness of his mother dying i broke it for my grandmother so i am pretty much like Charlie in his situation and i think im sorta in Sara shoes too. I thik aunt Willie needs to focus and keep working hard with the children. Wanda needs to focus on her family and not much on her boyfriend Frank and help out with Charlie. Joe Melby seems like a cool guy to hang out with and talk to a lot when she has problems or needs help with Charlie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    The Summer Of The Swans

    I think that the book is ok but yes I like'd it.It was a little bit of drama in it but it was fun and at the end it was nice reading,that part of the book.Your going to feel like reading more of the book!! It's really fun reading that book because it was just like real life arguing in the book like any normal family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    The Summer Of The Swans

    What I think about the book is I think it was a great book. It made me think I was in the story because I was so into it I could not get my eyes off of it. I hope in the future people will read it and enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I recommend this book to a class who is interested in adventurous stories where characters develop and change. It was slower in the beginning and picked up by the end. Overall the main characters are Sara and Charlie. Also in the beginning I didn¿t like Sara¿s attitude or how protective she was of Charlie. But this changed in the end. I¿d say this is a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    i thought it was good

    This book was a high-quality book to me it had a nice mixture of funny, serious, and it also realistic in one book. The book was the perfect length it was not to long and not to short. It was about a girl name Sara and her family 'her sister Wanda, her brother Charlie, and her aunt Willie'. Sara and Charlie go to look at the swans and Charlie are amazed by them. He was so amazed that he did not want to go so he sat there. When Sara and Charlie went home Charlie went to bed but no to sleep. He saw something white out side and thought it was a swan. He went out side and that it wasn¿t a swan. So he on a journey to see a swan but gets lost. You will have to read the book to see what happens????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    'Summer of the Swans'

    ¿The summer of the swans¿ was a great novel. I would recommend it to anybody that plans on reading an interesting book about a brother and a sister that care about each other. Charlie gets lost and Sara tries to find him. Your eyes will be glued to the book for hours. You will never want to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    Excellent Book

    Summer of the swans was a very good book but did have its dull moments. Such as when Sara and Joe are looking for Charlie and keep calling his name over and over again for 3 chapters but never got an answer. It was kind of irritating. But other than that it was great. The characters were fantastic and the book was very realistic. Hope you enjoy reading this book. It will be a book that you will want to read again and again and teachers will want to read to their classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    The Summer of the Swans

    An excellent book for a literary circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    an enjoyable book for children

    Byars Betsy The summer of the Swans, the Viking press new York, reading level 4 Betsy Cromen Byars (born August 7, 1928) is an American children's author. In 1971, she won the Newbery Medal for her book Summer of the Swans.She has also received a National Book Award, for The Night Swimmers (1980), and an Edgar Award, for Wanted...Mud Blossom (1991). In 1987 she received the Regina Medal, for lifetime achievement, from the Catholic Library Association. She was born Betsy Cromer in Charlotte, North Carolina. When she was a child, she had two goats. One's name was Buttsy, and the other's was Billy. She attended Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina, from 1946 to 1948, and graduated in 1950 from Queens College in Charlotte, with a bachelor's degree in English. She was going to be a mathematician, but she couldn't do calculus. The only way she kept passing is because she would go up to her math teacher and say 'can you start me off on this problem?' And in the math teacher's own enthusiasm, he would do the rest of the problem for her. She married Ed Byars the same year and began writing in the early 1960s while raising her children. Her first book, Clementine, was published in 1962 This book is about a 14-year-old girl named Sara. She and her siblings have lived with her Aunt Willie. She has lived there since she was 6 years old. They had to say with here because their Mom died and their father had to work far away. Sara has a sister Wanda and a brother Charlie. Charlie's has a vast amount of illnesses throughout his life. He is mute. Sara thinks her sister is prettier than her and that Charlie gets all the attention because he's sick, so she feelings like she's nothing to her family. Sara is in charge of looking after Charlie, so she has to take him everywhere she goes. Sometimes they would go watch the swans near the lake. One night, Charlie becomes curious about the swans and goes out of the house (which he's not supposed to do) and down to the lake. He gets lost all through the night and into the morning. Sara notices Charlie's gone that morning and the whole village spends the day looking for him. Finally, they find him safe and sound. Sara realizes how she plays an important part in her family taking care of Charlie and this makes her feel better about herself. liked this book. The beginning to the end goes from boring and slow to interesting. This book is Suspenseful. I think it will also teach children a valuable lesson. It teaches children that they are all important. That we all have a place in our family. We have roles and jobs we must take care of. It shows hoe we are all different and yet we are loved. This could bea good book to promote patience with disabled children. Kids you will love reading this book. However don¿t let the title fool you it is not based on swans. It is an interesting story about a young girl who feels left out and unnoticed. ¿I can¿t do anything around here.¿ ¿Charlie, I¿ll tell you something . This has been the worst summer of my life.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    It's a good book

    I think The Summer of the Swans is a great book. I like 'the many faces of Boysie', and how Joe Melby gives Charlie his watch in the end, even after Sara accused him of stealing Charlies watch.However, apart from some amusing sections in the book, it lacks much action and suspense.Overall it's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    For school, I read this book and thought it was a great book with a poor ending. The book did not get brownie points for its ending. It just didn't tie up the story and didn't have enough action. Unlike Sara, I am very bad at holding a grude, I stare and think mean thoughts about them for 5 minutes and then completly forgive them. It must be hard living like Charlie,no way to communicate. I think I would be better friends with Sara than Mary. Mary seems like one of the girls who gets flirty in about 8th grade. Joe Melby seems like a consitent guy and I like that. All and all this book deserved that newbary award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    You all have got to read this book! The characters have strong personality. By the time you've gotten to the end of the book, you feel like you know the characters as though they were your best friend. I read this book for a reading group, but I felt like I read it for pure enjoyment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Summer of the Swans

    For school I read this book and thought it was a great book poor ending. The book did not get brownie points for its' ending it just didn't tie up the story didn't have anogh action. Unlike Sara I am very bad at holding a grude, I stare and think mean thoughts about them for 5 minutes and then completly forgive them. It must be hard living like Charlie,no way to communicate. I think I would be better friends with Sara than Mary. Mary seems like one of the girls who gets flirty in about 8th grade. Joe Melby seems like a consitent guy and I like that. All and all this book deserved that newbary award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Newberry Award: The Summer of the Swans

    The Summer of the Swans is a heartfelt story about a girl named Sara and her brother disappearing. This Newberry winner is written by Betsy Byars. Betsy graduated from Queens College in Charlotte, NC. She received the Newberry award for this book in 1971. Sara and her brother and sister, Charlie and Wanda, go to live with their Aunt Willie during the summer. Charlie, a mentally disabled young boy, gets lost in the woods. This changes Sara perception on family, and she searches day and night for her brother. Byars, Betsy. The Summer of the Swans. New York: Viking Press, 1970. Reading level: Grades 4-7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    summer of the swans

    The Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars is about a little girl who loses her little brother in the woods! Charlie, Sara¿s little brother, is disabled and loses his way. I thought this book was very heartfelt and really made you feel what the characters felt in the story. I could also feel the love and bond between Charlie and Sara. This book is a part of the realistic genre because of the various events that happen to this family. Betsy Byars won the Newberry award for The Summer of the Swans in 1971. Ms. Byars has written over sixty books for children and has won many awards for them. She graduated from Queens College in Charlotte, NC with a major in English. Five years later she began publishing short magazine articles. After reading to her children the interest of writing children¿s books was sparked in her. Byars, Betsy. The Summer of the Swans. New York: Viking Kestrel, 1970.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2