Customer Reviews for

Summer of the Swans, The (Puffin Modern Classics)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good.

I have to say the book was pretty good. Charlie I felt should have had more attention and that the book wasn't very detailed but it was better than others. So if you need to read a book for a book report or something else than this book might be a good back up.


...
I have to say the book was pretty good. Charlie I felt should have had more attention and that the book wasn't very detailed but it was better than others. So if you need to read a book for a book report or something else than this book might be a good back up.


:-)

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Summer of the swans

I enjoyed reading this book, but it was kind of uneventful. At the part when Charlie gets lost, you read both sides of thr story.
This makes this book have no suspense because you already know what is happening to Charlie. Betsy Byars is a good author though. I would re...
I enjoyed reading this book, but it was kind of uneventful. At the part when Charlie gets lost, you read both sides of thr story.
This makes this book have no suspense because you already know what is happening to Charlie. Betsy Byars is a good author though. I would recommend this book to people who don't like suspenseful books.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    A Lovely Book, 37 Years Later

    I first read this book in 1972, when I was in the fifth grade. I loved it because Sara's restlessness reminded me of myself at that time. I could really relate to Sara's impatience with her younger brother, Charlie, and her fierce loyalty to him as well; her envy of her beautiful, older sister, Wanda, her hatred of Joe Melby, and her exasperation with her Aunt Willie. I just finished re-reading the book with my son, a fourth grader. He really enjoyed it. He liked the characters, and the ending. I thought that the book really held up well after all these years (although my son wanted to know what kind of tv show "Green Acres" was!) I still feel that it captures the universal feelings and the inner conflicts of tweens and teenagers realistically, without being "preachy."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    The best book ever!!!!

    This is my favorite book!!! i read it 3 times!!!! A must read!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    nice

    this looks like a very good book according to the sample i read..... i would reccomend buying it:)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Summer Of The Swans: an enjoyable, entertaining book... (not just for teenage girls)

    The Summer of the Swans was enjoyable and entertaining. A beautiful quick read with discriptive and illustrative chapters. It is a very good book for older girls going through changes but it would satisfy anyones 'need to read'. The characters and circumstances are very realistic. With many laughs and heart aches, the short novel consists of a girl of her teens, shallow and outward, finding a satisfing place after a crisis between what is really important in life and what is on the out side. Many would say it was written for female teens, but anyone could get somthing from this wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Summer of the swans

    I am reading this book in school it rocks and is totally awesome and very fun to read;)!Everyone should read it cause its great and so so very touching to me andIcould read it over and over again no matter what or how many times that I read it.We should all try and read it. It might be sad but it is touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    TTYLXOX

    TTYLXOX

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Ttylxox

    Charlie gets lost!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Hope its good

    I have not read it yet but im hoping for the best

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Good Book!

    The Summer of the Swans is a good book because it teaches us we should not treat other people bad because they are different. Sara and her Brother Charlie live with their aunt because their mom died. Charlie can't talk because he had an illness when he was little. People think he is retarded. Sara is unhappy because she has to take care of Charlie most of the time. Sara has no time for herself. Sara takes Charlie to the lake to see the swans. Sara wants to go home but Charlie doesn't. Charlie got mad because Sara made him leave. The next day Sara woke up and Charlie was missing. Everyone felt guilty because they treated Charlie bad and they didn't pay attention to him. When you read this book you will see what it like to be treated different because of a disability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1