Customer Reviews for

The Summerhouse (Summerhouse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a good, but not great read.

    This book wasn't exactly up to Deveraux's norm and i was a just a little itsy bit disapointed, i felt like i was continually reading a synopsis of stories instead of actually delving into them. Often a character would recount something that had happened quickly instead of you actually getting to read about it happening with some detail. However, it was a nice, well-written read for a soft lazy day. (recommends are devs and garwood's for romance)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Love this story!

    I literally could not put it down. It is one of those stories i could read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Disappointed

    Boaring and dragged out not interesting at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Good

    Good... but not as good as "The Mulberry Tree".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Both Summerhouse books are Fabulous

    I just finished both books in the summerhouse serirs and had to take the time to say how much I enjoyed being entertained by these two books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Wow, a great book that is really about choices, attitude, self-e

    Wow, a great book that is really about choices, attitude, self-esteem and lessons learned.
    I almost did not finish this book because it was so depressing in the beginning. The women talked about their tragic lives and how miserable they were. I almost stopped reading. Then I got to the place where they had the opportunity to go back in time for 3 weeks and make changes in their lives. That is when it got interesting for me. I am glad I stuck with it because I LOVED it. Each woman went back to a time in their life that they wanted to change then they had the opportunity to keep the changes or not when they got back and keep their previous memory or not.
    I was intrigued with each woman’s choice and could not help think about my own life and what I might do with that choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    This book was very thought provoking! If we could all change one

    This book was very thought provoking! If we could all change one decision in our life would we???? I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Fantastic read! Could not put it down! I highly recommend this b

    Fantastic read! Could not put it down! I highly recommend this book as well as Return to Summerhouse. I love the idea of being able to go back in time, do things differently, and then chose which life you'd keep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    First of two book series

    As someone who would love to be able to go back in time and change bad decisions, I love this book and Return to Summerhouse. They are books full of hope, possibilities and "what ifs". Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Summerhouse Summerhouse Book One By Jude Deveraux On their

    The Summerhouse
    Summerhouse Book One
    By Jude Deveraux

    On their twenty-first birthday three women met in New York as they are renewing their driver’s licenses. The three soon hit it off Leslie has come to New York to become a dancer, Madison was sent by her small home town to become a model, and Ellie has dreams of becoming an artist. Nineteen years later after Ellie has been through a horrific divorce she decides to reconnect with the two women who touched her life forever inviting them to spend their fortieth birthday at a Summerhouse in Maine. What turns out to be an ordinary vacation soon turns into an extraordinary opportunity that will alter their lives.

    This is a novel of choices, the choices we have made in our lives and where those decisions have brought us. What if you had the chance to change something in your past? This is the idea that Jude Deveraux takes on with this novel, not only is it thought provoking the author is simple brilliant in the execution of this novel intertwining three very unique stories. The only thing I must say is that the story itself starts off a bit slow, but each character has an interesting back story somewhat making up for the lack of anything truly happening, the novel truly kicks off about halfway through when the three women meet Madame Zoya. Once this happens you truly cannot put this novel down until you find out how it will end, I cannot say weather this novel is suprising the first time I read it myself I was a teenager and I absolutely fell in love, so re-reading it for review I knew what would happen and I find myself falling in love with this novel all over again, definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I loved the book. This is the first one I read from the author.

    I loved the book. This is the first one I read from the author. I shared it with my sister and friends. It was fun to think about what you would have done in the same circumstance. Ordered the second book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Review

    Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Best read

    Excellent book i could not but it down. I was so disappointed when i finished it. Loved every part great book i recommenede it to six friends and they loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great Story

    Recommended by a total stranger and I wish I knew how to get in touch with her because it was an awesome read! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    highly recommended

    I loved this series. I thought the ending was too abrupt and could have been more clear and expanded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    This is a good book to read if you loved A Knight in Shining Armor. Jude works wonders again when she sends us back in time. The characters are easy to relate to, and you find your heart breaking to read of their life's trials and tribulations, only to have things magically align themselves in a wonderful way that only Jude Deveraux can do. It's worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Good book.

    What an imaginative way to make do-overs of life experiences. Well written. I feel it was easy to find situations in each of the characters lives that many could relate to, in reflecting on our own relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love, Love, Love this Book!

    This was the first Jude Deveraux book I ever read and I could not put it down. I have given this book to three people already and have recommended it to many others. I love the idea of going back in time to see what you could have done with your life if only you had the knowledge that only time can give you and the energy and enthusiausm that only youth can give you. This book makes the reader ask herself the question, "If I could do it over, how would I do it better and at what point would I make that change." While I was reading and enjoying the characters' stories, I became invested in their outcomes, all the while thinking of how I would have handled their situation. I see this book as one that anyone could enjoy because everyone has at one time thought back on her life and wondered, what if?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    Excellent!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Unique storyline and good characters made for a great read. I wouldn't mind finding a Madame Zoya myself just to see "what if". I recommend this book for a quick and fun read. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book -

    Actually picked up Return to Summerhouse first and love it so much, when I found out there was Summerhouse I had to read it. Reading these books sures makes you wonder what you would do. Gave me food for thought. Love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6