Customer Reviews for

Summerland

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happene

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information....
Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information. She just couldn't tell the police what she knew.

Ms. Hilderbrand created another marvelous book with wonderful characters and amazing descriptions of Nantucket Island. The descriptions of the landscape and the town will provide a mini vacation. The characters in SUMMERLAND definitely carried the plot, and they definitely had issues....some issues that some folks may be able to identify with. As the small town of wealthy residents carried on and dealt with the most recent tragedy you will find out that Demeter had drinking issues that went undetected by her parents, Zoe and Jordan were having an affair, and that Ava never recovered from her infant son's death and withdrew from the world.

The feelings and emotions expressed by the main characters will make you flinch as well as having you feel sorry for them...you will actually feel as though you are experiencing the grief and pain along with the characters. You will also want to shake a few of them so they open their eyes and see what is happening right under their noses.

Through Ms. Hilderbrand's outstanding writing style, you will find out how each character became the person they were today, what made them tick, and why they did what they did. The book flowed so seamlessly from one character to another and from one situation to the next, that you didn't even know you were switching gears.

As the book continued, you found out more and more about the characters and the “secret” that Demeter kept in her personal life as well as her secret about the accident. You also will find out hidden things about many of the the other characters as they were emotionally healing from the accident that touched everyone on Nantucket Island. The book's premise is based on the accident and everyday situations, and the plot develops beautifully out of this tragic incident.

SUMMERLAND is another exceptional read by Ms. Hilderbrand. Your interest will not wane and you will do some intro-spection of your own as you turn the last page. The only surprise was what Demeter had told Penny to make her go berserk and crash the car...I thought it was a totally different reason that she flew off the handle. Don’t miss this great summer read that is filled with many good lessons and eye-opening facts. 5/5


DISCLAIMER
I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review. No items that I receive are ever sold…they are kept by me, or given to family and/or friends.

posted by SilversReviews on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

I usually love her books this one is depressing and the characters are unlikable.

posted by 10238082 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Quie a page turner!

    Quie a page turner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Fabulous!!

    This was quite simply a lovely book with such real characters that could live anywhere with the same stories. I identified with all of them....even the teenagers & I am far from being one now! I love all of Elin's books I've read so far (4) & can't wait to buy my next one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    what a bust

    I have read everyone of her books. This one was just terrible. Save your money not worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Sad story!

    Kind of a downer story...not a breezy summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's graduation day at Nantucket High. On the warm June evening

    It's graduation day at Nantucket High. On the warm June evening the parties have moved to a bonfire at the beach. Four teens decide to leave the party and tragedy strikes when the driver of the Jeep floors the gas pedal and the vehicle goes airborne then comes to rest on a beach. Penny Alistair is dead, her twin brother Hobby is in a coma with 16 broken bones. Penny's boyfriend, Jake and their friend Demeter are unhurt physically. They had on their seat belts. They are so many questions and the survivors will continue to be haunted by what happened.

    Zoe, Penny and Hobby's mother has raised these kids alone. She would be called a "free spirit" who raised two wonderful and talented children. Hobby was a star athlete and Penny had the voce of an angel. How can she survive without her daughter and does she have enough strength to help Hobby recover?

    The summer is spent trying to figure out why the accident happened and parents doing everything they can to protect their children. For some that means really seeing their children for the first time in years and realizing they have not been the parent their children needed them to be. They key to understanding the accident means finding out what happened at that bonfire. Will all the secrets be revealed?


    Told from several points of view this story gives honest portrayal of lives changed in a split second. For one there is no turning back but for the rest of individuals involved it is a chance to make better choices, to reach out for help, to reflect, to be honest with themselves, and to try to move forward in a better direction.

    There is so much happening in this story. The characters and the situations they find themselves in are very complex. It reads almost like a mystery as you follow the clues to try to figure out what happened in the dunes on the beach and what made certain characters fall so far. Emotions run the gambit as we try to empathize with each and every character.

    This is a wonderful beach read but not my favorite my this author. Silver Girl still holds that spot. Just one note to the author, people can be paralyzed side to side. My right side is paralyzed, but not the left.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Very disappointing.  She was "reaching" in this book.

    Very disappointing.  She was "reaching" in this book.  Droning, on and on,  repeating and jumping around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is my second novel about an accident in a week involving te

    This is my second novel about an accident in a week involving teenagers. I didn’t plan it this way. I am sharing Summerland by Elin Hilderbrand. I am a fan of her writing and I hope you will be too! We are still in Nantucket as always but this time the focus is a car accident, and its survivors.
    Synopsis:
    Penny is dead, but three others have survived. What happened in the one car accident? How will this impact Demeter Castle, Jake Randolph, and Hobbie Alistair? The children are not always the only ones affected. Zoe the mother of both Penny and Hobbie bears the brunt of the accidents because of Penny’s death and Hobbie’s injuries. What can she possibly do to move forward? Jake’s father Jordan Randolph runs the local newspaper and can help Zoe get past this accident, but will she accept his help? Demeter Castle is not doing well either but will her parents figure it out?
    My Thoughts:
    I did like this novel. You may have noticed that I asked many questions in my synopsis because I felt it would spoil the story otherwise. It is told from many different viewpoints. You get the story from Jake Randolph, Hobbie Alistair, Demeter Castle, Zoe Alistair, Jordan Randolph, and Lynn Castle. The only difficulty for me is not story told to you straight forward. It is broken up by each character sharing bits and pieces. The questions that arise while reading the novel are answered by the end.
    As always the best part of this novel is the setting of Nantucket. I also liked getting the feel of the locals of Nantucket. A car crash can crush any community. I was never part of an actual accident like in this novel. I do remember a car crash that I heard over the radio which killed a girl I knew in my youth group while I was in high school.
    An interesting story over all that you the reader will enjoy! by Jencey Gortney/Writer'sCorner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Fas a Wow good read

    As usual - very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    One of my favorites!

    This book was absolutely amazing. I loved every single second of reading it and also loved the character development. My favorite character was Jake because I empathized with him and felt bad for his predicament. I can't wait to read more by Elin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    This is the first book I read by Elin. I think I found a new aut

    This is the first book I read by Elin. I think I found a new author to follow. Awesome book, left me wanting 
    know more of how the future is for Zoe, Hobby and the rest of the gang. Easy read and so grateful I gave it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Another great one!

    Another great book of Elinsl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Not the light-hearted beach read you're expecting, but is well-w

    Not the light-hearted beach read you're expecting, but is well-written and tells a good story. The story really deals with the internal struggles of telling the truth and the gravity of keeping secrets. You won't be able to put this book down, you'll want to read it until you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    loved it

    Was a great book. Going to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Summerland

    Once I started reading this book I could not stop. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great

    This was a great book, fast paced, told from many different perspectives. This story makes you think about the people in your life, and how well you think you know someone, you may just be surprised that you may not know as much as you thought.

    Galgator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Love summer books

    I love Elin Hilderbran's novels. Summer is always a good time. It was hard to catch on to the character's names and who was connected to who, but just keep reading it comes together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend this for a good read

    This book was really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Check it out.

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Could not put the book down. Read it in a weekend. Really good book. This is the first book that I have ready by this author and look forward to reading more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE

    WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WHO WANTS RELAX-----SOMETIMES---
    WITH A GOOD BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8