Customer Reviews for

Summerland

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happene

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information....
Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information. She just couldn't tell the police what she knew.

Ms. Hilderbrand created another marvelous book with wonderful characters and amazing descriptions of Nantucket Island. The descriptions of the landscape and the town will provide a mini vacation. The characters in SUMMERLAND definitely carried the plot, and they definitely had issues....some issues that some folks may be able to identify with. As the small town of wealthy residents carried on and dealt with the most recent tragedy you will find out that Demeter had drinking issues that went undetected by her parents, Zoe and Jordan were having an affair, and that Ava never recovered from her infant son's death and withdrew from the world.

The feelings and emotions expressed by the main characters will make you flinch as well as having you feel sorry for them...you will actually feel as though you are experiencing the grief and pain along with the characters. You will also want to shake a few of them so they open their eyes and see what is happening right under their noses.

Through Ms. Hilderbrand's outstanding writing style, you will find out how each character became the person they were today, what made them tick, and why they did what they did. The book flowed so seamlessly from one character to another and from one situation to the next, that you didn't even know you were switching gears.

As the book continued, you found out more and more about the characters and the “secret” that Demeter kept in her personal life as well as her secret about the accident. You also will find out hidden things about many of the the other characters as they were emotionally healing from the accident that touched everyone on Nantucket Island. The book's premise is based on the accident and everyday situations, and the plot develops beautifully out of this tragic incident.

SUMMERLAND is another exceptional read by Ms. Hilderbrand. Your interest will not wane and you will do some intro-spection of your own as you turn the last page. The only surprise was what Demeter had told Penny to make her go berserk and crash the car...I thought it was a totally different reason that she flew off the handle. Don’t miss this great summer read that is filled with many good lessons and eye-opening facts. 5/5


DISCLAIMER
I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review. No items that I receive are ever sold…they are kept by me, or given to family and/or friends.

posted by SilversReviews on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

I usually love her books this one is depressing and the characters are unlikable.

posted by 10238082 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happene

    Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information. She just couldn't tell the police what she knew.

    Ms. Hilderbrand created another marvelous book with wonderful characters and amazing descriptions of Nantucket Island. The descriptions of the landscape and the town will provide a mini vacation. The characters in SUMMERLAND definitely carried the plot, and they definitely had issues....some issues that some folks may be able to identify with. As the small town of wealthy residents carried on and dealt with the most recent tragedy you will find out that Demeter had drinking issues that went undetected by her parents, Zoe and Jordan were having an affair, and that Ava never recovered from her infant son's death and withdrew from the world.

    The feelings and emotions expressed by the main characters will make you flinch as well as having you feel sorry for them...you will actually feel as though you are experiencing the grief and pain along with the characters. You will also want to shake a few of them so they open their eyes and see what is happening right under their noses.

    Through Ms. Hilderbrand's outstanding writing style, you will find out how each character became the person they were today, what made them tick, and why they did what they did. The book flowed so seamlessly from one character to another and from one situation to the next, that you didn't even know you were switching gears.

    As the book continued, you found out more and more about the characters and the “secret” that Demeter kept in her personal life as well as her secret about the accident. You also will find out hidden things about many of the the other characters as they were emotionally healing from the accident that touched everyone on Nantucket Island. The book's premise is based on the accident and everyday situations, and the plot develops beautifully out of this tragic incident.

    SUMMERLAND is another exceptional read by Ms. Hilderbrand. Your interest will not wane and you will do some intro-spection of your own as you turn the last page. The only surprise was what Demeter had told Penny to make her go berserk and crash the car...I thought it was a totally different reason that she flew off the handle. Don’t miss this great summer read that is filled with many good lessons and eye-opening facts. 5/5


    DISCLAIMER
    I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review. No items that I receive are ever sold…they are kept by me, or given to family and/or friends.

    13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and the plot was awesome.

    Very good book. I loved the characters and the plot was awesome.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    My favorite Elin Hilderbrand book ever. I was unsure at first be

    My favorite Elin Hilderbrand book ever. I was unsure at first because I thought the subject matter might be too depressing, and with teenage kids, I didn't need a new source of anxiety. I was delighted to discover that although the plot centers around a tragedy, the book is delightful. Many wonderful layers, great characters. I couldn't put it down. Hilderbrand paints such an amazing picture of Nantucket in all her books, makes me want to travel there.

    Highly recommend this book. Can't wait for her next one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!! Love the characters, they seemed so "real"

    Great book!! Love the characters, they seemed so "real".

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!!

    Couldn't put it down. Best book I've read this summer. A must read. :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Summerland

    Elin Hillderbrand does it again!!she has knocked it out of the park.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Byrdlover

    ANOTHER GREAT BOOK ! All Elin Hilderbrand's books delivers messages. This one let's us know that everyone makes mistakes, loves, gossips, and must find forgiveness for theirselves and others. This book shows how hard life can be but also how great it can also be growing up and being a adult has it' challenges. Please read this book you just might find some answers for your own life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How do you unburden a guilty conscious? This story is a much ab

    How do you unburden a guilty conscious?

    This story is a much about building a new life as it shows how everyone reacts in his or her own way to tragedy. Nothing can prepare you for the devastating loss of a child, nor can anyone help you figure out where I go from here.

    An accident one night changes the lives of everyone in Nantucket especially those teenagers in the car and the parents of those who survived asking, “what happened” as much as “why did this happen”. Everyone tries to cope with the loss of the shining star in this tight knit group of high school students. Each one is ready to start their senior year with bright ideas and dreams for the future never thinking that this may be the last time they are together. The chain of events that caused this horrific event that night after a party has everyone looking at one another asking if they were the reason for the nightmare, they are all living through now.

    Some run away from the problems, others taken on dangerous habits, some want to talk, others shut down, while everyone seeks help in their own way. Each step forward is painful because the past is right behind them reminding them of what they each have lost. The unfortunate part is one of them is holding the answer to all these questions but which one could it be?

    Erin Hilderbrand has written another thought provoking story. This book will have you talking to everyone about what you just read, exclaiming, “You have to read this book!”

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Amazing

    Wonderful book smart, sad, hopeful, poignant

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great rrad

    Favorite book of the summer. Now reading more by Elin.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Fabulous!!

    This was quite simply a lovely book with such real characters that could live anywhere with the same stories. I identified with all of them....even the teenagers & I am far from being one now! I love all of Elin's books I've read so far (4) & can't wait to buy my next one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    One of my favorites!

    This book was absolutely amazing. I loved every single second of reading it and also loved the character development. My favorite character was Jake because I empathized with him and felt bad for his predicament. I can't wait to read more by Elin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    This is the first book I read by Elin. I think I found a new aut

    This is the first book I read by Elin. I think I found a new author to follow. Awesome book, left me wanting 
    know more of how the future is for Zoe, Hobby and the rest of the gang. Easy read and so grateful I gave it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Another great one!

    Another great book of Elinsl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    loved it

    Was a great book. Going to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Summerland

    Once I started reading this book I could not stop. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend this for a good read

    This book was really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Check it out.

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE

    WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WHO WANTS RELAX-----SOMETIMES---
    WITH A GOOD BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommended reading

    I found this book hard to put down, always wanting to find out more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4