Customer Reviews for

Summerland

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happene

Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information....
Someone knew why the accident that killed Penny Alistair happened, and that someone was Demeter Castle. Demeter knew exactly why Penny flew into a rage and drove so fast that she killed herself and seriously injured her brother, but she wouldn't divulge the information. She just couldn't tell the police what she knew.

Ms. Hilderbrand created another marvelous book with wonderful characters and amazing descriptions of Nantucket Island. The descriptions of the landscape and the town will provide a mini vacation. The characters in SUMMERLAND definitely carried the plot, and they definitely had issues....some issues that some folks may be able to identify with. As the small town of wealthy residents carried on and dealt with the most recent tragedy you will find out that Demeter had drinking issues that went undetected by her parents, Zoe and Jordan were having an affair, and that Ava never recovered from her infant son's death and withdrew from the world.

The feelings and emotions expressed by the main characters will make you flinch as well as having you feel sorry for them...you will actually feel as though you are experiencing the grief and pain along with the characters. You will also want to shake a few of them so they open their eyes and see what is happening right under their noses.

Through Ms. Hilderbrand's outstanding writing style, you will find out how each character became the person they were today, what made them tick, and why they did what they did. The book flowed so seamlessly from one character to another and from one situation to the next, that you didn't even know you were switching gears.

As the book continued, you found out more and more about the characters and the “secret” that Demeter kept in her personal life as well as her secret about the accident. You also will find out hidden things about many of the the other characters as they were emotionally healing from the accident that touched everyone on Nantucket Island. The book's premise is based on the accident and everyday situations, and the plot develops beautifully out of this tragic incident.

SUMMERLAND is another exceptional read by Ms. Hilderbrand. Your interest will not wane and you will do some intro-spection of your own as you turn the last page. The only surprise was what Demeter had told Penny to make her go berserk and crash the car...I thought it was a totally different reason that she flew off the handle. Don’t miss this great summer read that is filled with many good lessons and eye-opening facts. 5/5


DISCLAIMER
I received a copy of this book, at no charge to me, in exchange for my honest review. No items that I receive are ever sold…they are kept by me, or given to family and/or friends.

posted by SilversReviews on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

I usually love her books this one is depressing and the characters are unlikable.

posted by 10238082 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    My first Elin Hilderbrand novel, I've been reading others all summer. I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Must read!

    Lovely, easy read. Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    O my god

    Jjy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great summer read

    You can relate to the sincerity of the characters. Sometimes we never really know what someone else is battling inside or what someonevis secretly hiding from those they love the most. There is love, loss, understanding, secrets, all in a small town. It is a reminder that time changes us events change us all, even through the bad times we still have each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    A must Read

    Another great novel by Elin Hilderbrand. I thoroughly enjoyed reading "Summerland" and would recomend others to read it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    After the initial 'getting to know the characters,' this novel was great in every way. I could not put it down. In the light of Kristen Hannah's Night Road(?), you will enjoy this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great Book

    Very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    A need to read book.

    If you are a fan of Jodi Picoult and/or Kristen Hannah you will be a fan of this author. This book was so good. I could not put this down. The story is told by many people that live in this town. Something bad happens in the begining and throughout the book you will read how that one night has changed many of the lives of the people in the town. I can't wait to read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Wonderful novel

    E. Hilderbrand does it again. All qualities of a fine novel: relatable characters, love triangles, a bit of mystery and a good, tied together ending. She even threw in conversion of heart which made it all the more special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    Another great read!

    I really enjoyed this book as I always do when reading Elin Hilderbrand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Must read

    Too good to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I enjoyed this book immensely! The depth with which Elin Hilderb

    I enjoyed this book immensely! The depth with which Elin Hilderbrand develops her characters is intense. I find her characters very real and believeable. I am able to relate to them on a very realistic level. I enjoy the way each chapter is from a different characters point of view. As the story progresses, I am able to piece together how the events come together. I have read other books of her that are written this way and I find this style very intriguing. In Summerland, a tragic event on graduation night has affected the towns young people and adults as well. It is easy to relate to the emotions of the characters as they learn to move forward and recover. This is a fantastic summer read! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Once again I was not disappointed by Elin Hilderbrand. The char

    Once again I was not disappointed by Elin Hilderbrand. The character development in this book is fantastic. I couldn't put it down and I'm sad that it is over. The story moves quickly and more plot twists are revealed as the story goes on. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer read for those who like realistic fiction.

    If you are looking for a great book to read this Summer look no further. I was highly impressed by this author and her easy to read writing style. I was not expecting such a realistic read. The main location for this novel is the island of Nantucket with a few Australian scenes. I love novels based on island communities where everyone knows everyone elses business and the gossip runs rampant. However you won't find as much gossip as you would think might come from such a small island community in Summerland. Instead you find secrets, many secrets. When families come together and become best friends anything can happen. I became so engrossed in everything going on in this community that I really was not aware of my surrounding while I was reading. This to me is a good indication that I found this book highly interesting.

    The author does go back and forth among the characters and even the island of Nantucket itself gives its narrative, however I didn't find it in any way uncomfortable to read. I have come across some authors who organize their chapters this way and it can make for a frustrating read, not so with Hilderbrand. This novel is definitely a timeless masterpiece and a story that remains with the reader long after the book has started to collect dust on the shelf.

    This could be any community anywhere and the realism Hilderbrand brings fourth in this novel has me placing her on my favorite author list. I had a really difficult time breaking away from this book. I would recommend this novel to anyone who would love to get away from normal life for a while and read about teens, adult relationships, family, friendship, tragedy, alcoholism, depression, infidelity and especially betrayal, as this book has a little bit of everything human.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Summerland

    A great summer read. Well written and couldn"t put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I don't understand how someone could dislike this book... Unlike

    I don't understand how someone could dislike this book... Unlikeable characters? That's awkward. This book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Great drama. It was like a soap opera and I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Lfitjhf

    ?bgjglypayb

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4